We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best weekends ever”

Harpers Ferry Adventure Center
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Harpers Ferry Adventure Center, formerly BTI Whitewater / Butts Tubes, is located at the northern tip of Loudoun County, Virginia, near Harpers Ferry, West Virginia. We offer a wide range of exciting and affordable outdoor adventures including: whitewater rafting, water tubing, zip line tours, kayaking, canoeing, team building, fishing, hiking, camping, and more! You can spend the entire day or multiple days having fun on both the Shenandoah River and Potomac River, in the beautiful tri-state area of Maryland, Virginia, and West Virginia.
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We got there about noon on Friday and Marianna greeted us like we family she was very friendly and very knowledgeable about everything they had to offer. We started with the raft trip down the Shenandoah and what a blast, we started out getting use to the boat and the other people, and our guide Steve did 99% of the work but allowed us to feel like we were a big help, once you get past the dry jokes and all the scenery and sound hits you it's like you are in a different world, birds, fish, and rocks and water all blend to form a perfect harmony (sure glad Steve had the boat) or we would have smacked into trees and rock a couple of times as I got lost in the surroundings, there was never any danger but lots of thrills as it was nothing to be gliding along nice and serene and then catch a current and go, and theis is repeated throughout the whole trip, Steve was great told us the history and pointed out the flood levels and explained the river and surroundings to us, it was the bet trip i have ever been on and we used Steve's stories later when we relayed then to other people while touring Harper's ferry later that day.

The next day we did the aerial park, and again was amazed the friendliness of the staff, the rest of our party (no idea who they were) was a half hour late, once on it was a lot harder than it looked, always safe as you cannot be unattached at anytime as the harness's are designed so you can not fall. this is pretty much go where you want as often as you want, but be prepared it is strenuous and requires some coordination and muscle but loads of fun, and again really safe, some of the hardest obstacles where the cables as to have to manuver then to get to the obstacle you want to cross, the second level is easier than the 3rd but that's relative you have zip lining in the true sense grab and swing lots of shaky bridges and lines you have to cross (but again always attached), a great but tiring 2 hours and our muscles let us know we are aging.

Our 3rd adventure was zip lining with Jesse and Nick and Nick's younger brother Cas or Caz, we were again with others who had never been zip lining and we had a blast, the zip lining was great and may so much better because of Jesse and Nick, they never rushed or forced you to hurry and always made sure everyone was having a great time and we all were, the smiling and cheering and clapping for everyone was a great addition and brought the whole party together also a lot of help from Jesse and Nick, our party ranged from 60 to 12 and never a frown from anyone, some were adventurous and some a little timid but all where laughing and having a great time by the second run. Nick volunteered to video of us as we went down the run and they were great with slow mo added, he did a superb job and the videos are fantastic and he txted them to me in seconds and it brought the whole experience back as we watched then and the other we had taken the whole day. I can not say enough about the Adventure Center everyone employed there was great and extremely helpful and willing to talk and put anyone at ease, they go out of there way to keep you informed, occupied and most importantly happy and smiling, so if want a great time and see some of the beautiful country we live in check them out

1  Thank wolfthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HFAdventureCenter, Social Media Consultant at Harpers Ferry Adventure Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

We're so excited to see this glowing review from you, and that being at our Adventure Center was one of your best weekends ever! We take great pride in our staff here at Harper's Ferry Adventure Center, so thank you for all of your staff shout-outs! We told our office staff professional Marianna what you said, and she wants to tell you that she had a great time with you both...and it was a pleasure helping you have such a great day of adventure! We will let our raft guide know what a great help he was to you, and let him know that was the best raft trip you have ever been on as well.

Thank you for the compliments about the aerial park and zip line, as well as the guides. The aerial park is new, so we always love to know that guests our enjoying our in air obstacle course. The guides always try to give our adventurers the most exciting, positive, and safe experience they can, so your compliments mean a lot. Thank you for attaching those fun pictures! Your pictures from the aerial park look like you're having so much fun, and based on your awesome review, you did!

We're happy we could help you enjoy the beautiful countryside. Please visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"white water rafting"
in 23 reviews
"zip lining"
in 19 reviews
"the river"
in 66 reviews
"ropes course"
in 8 reviews
"off road"
in 7 reviews
"rafting trip"
in 7 reviews
"on the rocks"
in 5 reviews
"harpers ferry"
in 9 reviews
"water shoes"
in 4 reviews
"checking in"
in 4 reviews
"well run operation"
in 4 reviews
"bug spray"
in 5 reviews
"great rafting"
in 3 reviews
"first timers"
in 2 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 6 reviews
"definitely recommend this place"
in 2 reviews
"camping area"
in 2 reviews
Filter

132 - 136 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Our Boy scout Troop went white-water rafting on 5/31/14. The service and weather were both great. The guides were very knowledge. We are going to make this an annual trip.

Thank Moby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HFAdventureCenter, Social Media Consultant at Harpers Ferry Adventure Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

HFAC is so happy your Boy-Scout troop enjoyed the trip. We will definitely pass on your great service compliment to our white-water rafting guides, and we can't wait to see you all on an annual basis!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Perfect location for a White-Water Rafting day-trip. We wanted to go somewhere that was close from DC- yet offered a variety from which to choose from. While we ended up only doing the rafting, there is a mirage of other outdoor activities one can take part in at the Harpers Ferry Adventure Center. I recommend you check out their website before you go out there and most definitely make a reservation, specially during the summer months. Rafting on the weekends is done at: 9:30am and 2:30pm. Our trip on the river was 3 hours and it was a combination of flat water with rocky rapids. It is a laid back atmosphere, so you do not feel like the guides are in a hurry to get you in and out. Our guide was Cowboy- he is a veteran and knows that river like the palm of his hand. The staff is friendly and helpful. Cost runs $69.00 per person. You need to show up at least 30 minutes before it starts for some guidance and instruction. They also have the ability to package your activities. Not recommended for children under the age of 8.

Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HFAdventureCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Harpers Ferry Adventure Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

We're so glad you enjoyed your White Water Rafting trip here! Cowboy will be so excited to see that you gave him a shout out...he absolutely loves being on the river, and we're happy you could see that passion. We definitely recommend the website as well, as it has all of our activities for easy access. We hope to see you back here super soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We recently drove nearly 3 hours to have a fun filled afternoon for my son's birthday. In reading online on their website, it looks and sounds like a wonderful place. The guides were awesome! The aeriel park was fun; however, it was NOT finished! There were not three levels, only 2. The first level (beginner) has not even been started yet. You had to start on the intermediate level, which wasn't easy with kids. Also, the starting platform is difficult. You must climb over the side of the platform to get started. This was not easy, especially for shorter kids. The obstacles were fun, but only two ziplines and they were very short.
The facilities have much to be desired. No bathrooms or changing area. Yes, a building they didn't complete. Port-a-johns only. For about $50 per person for less than 2 hours and a 3 hour drive, not worth it! We were very disappointed and will definitely not return. I feel their website needs to be updated with the accurate information about what is finished in the park. I feel this is false advertising. Take bug spray if do go, the bugs are terrible! Check into the New River Gorge adventure park Timber Trek instead.

4  Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HFAdventureCenter, Public Relations Manager at Harpers Ferry Adventure Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

I'm sorry you had a bad experience with us. Everything you mentioned in your review is a work-in-progress, and we hope to have everything completed soon. Our website is currently being updated so the correct information is visible online. I would be happy to speak with you further and to offer you a discounted visit for when everything is completed, so please email me at Jackie@hfadventurecenter.com. I look forward to hearing from you and making your next experience here enjoyable and exciting.

Thanks,

Jackie Lutman
Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I took our church youth group to go whitewater rafting. Everything from our arrival, the bus ride, launch, the awesome guides (SpaceBob & Mike), rafting, and departure was top notch. This is an excellent, well-run operation and we will definitely be making it an annual event for our teenage group. The boys didn't stop talking about how much fun they had during the entire 3 hour ride home! If you are looking for a great experience and friendly, welcoming customer service, this is definitely the place. I honestly do not have one bad thing to say or an area in which they can improve! I highly recommend Harpers Ferry Adventure Center!!!

Thank Hcarmean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harpers Ferry Adventure Center also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 

Been to Harpers Ferry Adventure Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing