We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A good choice near Harpers Ferry” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grandale Vintner's Table

Grandale Vintner's Table
Ranked #5 of 42 Restaurants in Purcellville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Grandale Vintner's Table offers a dynamic local dining experience, including distinctive tasting, dining and wine paring opportunities. The new concept by Executive Chef Author Clark will continue to showcase local, farm-to-fork fare, but with an exciting epicurean twist in an accessible, relaxed setting.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“A good choice near Harpers Ferry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Grandale Farm restaurant offers itself up as a farm to table eatery in the center of a winery. They certainly do deliver on both accounts. The setting here is lovely as it does sit in the middle of the 868 Vineyard. Their menu is not extensive but this is due to their desire to serve fresh local ingredients. The salads that our group ordered were excellent. I ordered a soup which featured fresh vegetables and some pork. The broth seemed to be a little on the watery side, and I would rate this as the weakest dish we had. We enjoyed an orange roughy which my wife said was excellent, and I had a lamb loin dish that was seasoned beautifully and was perfectly cooked. While nothing here blew us away we did feel that it was a solid restaurant with a great location.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gumdoc45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    33
    13
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timonium, Maryland
1 review
“Don't Eat here!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Absolutely terrible. We had heard great things about the Grandale, but did not find these to be true. Service was slower than slow. The staff inattentive. We had a Grouper appetizer where the 1/2 oz of Grouper was rank! For $9.00!
The Bobwhite Quail was overcooked and the accompanying vegetables burned ($34.00). Our waiter was completely indifferent to the quality of the food. The Grouper appetizer came with a frozen block of Wasabi. The waiter made the most appalling excuses for this, but did nothing to correct the problem.
Good wines at 868. Pretty views. Eat elsewhere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Guillotine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious and memorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

The food is fresh, new, farm to table. It was prepared perfectly. The service was fantastic. My husband loved the soup so much that he asked for the recipe and the chef actually brought it out written on a piece of paper and talked to is about how she prepared it. How special is that? I still remember the meal from a month ago. That is how good it was. We stayed in Harpers Ferry. It was a short drive from there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Romer2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
771 reviews
492 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“WOW! Knock Your Socks Off Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We were in the area and decided to try Grandale for a late lunch... GREAT DECISION!
They had several salads, sandwiches and appetizers to choose from and between the 4 of us we tried several items on the menu and all were prepared PERFECTLY!

The scallops for an appetizer were some of the BEST we've had. Flavorful and heated perfectly to ensure the right texture, taste and feel. The seasoning was delicious!

The sautéed pears that were on the baby spinach salad were amazing! They added a GREAT sweetness to the savory salad. Also tried their roasted corn and leek soup... once again - AMAZING!!! The freshness of the diced veggies and herbs in it, along with the creamy soup made for a flavorful treat!

The desserts were simply amazing too! Their crème brûlée with chocolate chips was soooo tasty! What a GREAT combo! And we couldn't resist also trying the chocolate decadence cake - Great choice as well!

The young lady we had serving us on our visit was GREAT! She was very knowledgeable about the menu and offered excellent service, with a smile as well!!

This is one of the best meals we've had within such a reasonable price point! We look forward to joining them again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quaint restaurant on a vineyard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Nice little restaurant on a homestead winery just outside of Harpers Ferry. Filet was wonderful, but the pan-seared duck breast special was out of this world. Nice selection of wines. Friendly service. A real gem.

Helpful?
1 Thank spinfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grandale Vintner's Table also viewed

Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 
Purcellville, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 

Been to Grandale Vintner's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing