We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so happy”
Review of Macado's

Macado's
Ranked #7 of 56 Restaurants in Radford
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Radford, Virginia
1 review
“Not so happy”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I have been a customer for years at all of the macados. The one in Radford has been a let down lately. SLOW service and rude waitresses. we arrived at 7:35 was seated at 8:10 and did not get our food until after 9:00. Three other tables were seated after us fed and out the door before we were served. the MOD said it was due to a large party but it did not affect the other tables around us. After the food was brought to our table my sandwich was soggy and the husbands was cold. The server actually got attitude with me when I told her to take it back I did not want it. Needless to say .............NO TIP!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandyW63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    35
    23
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Funky decor, good food”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is a fun family restaurant when school is not in session (Radford University) and is probably a lot noisier and busier when the students are in town. Huge schooners of beer are available. The sandwiches and wraps are usually good. I enjoyed the fish tacos.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sandwich version of a Red Robin”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our group of 12 met there on a quiet Saturday evening for supper. Service was good and they have a large selection of sandwiches. Quality was OK for most although the child's fruit cup had very very ripe banana slices in it - almost to the point of sending it back. This restaurant is undergoing a remodel so from the outside it looks like it may be closed. Interior space is fine as they have the part under construction partitioned off.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ringspyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“You want to eat here!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I recommend this restaurant! The décor is fun and entertaining. The menu offers a huge number of options and the food is good. The prices are reasonable.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dogfarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Food Good...Service Not So Much”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My family has been eating here since the 80s and it's generally a great restaurant. The décor is quirky, the menu has a tremendous selection of gourmet sandwiches and other items. We almost always order sandwiches, which are delicious. The problem is the service and lack of attention by the kitchen. In all the years we have been dining here, the service has always pretty much sucked. I don't know if they hire servers who don't care or they are just too busy to service their tables, but we typically end up sitting through most of the meal conserving what's left of our drinks because the server never comes by to check the table for refills or to see if we need anything else. Also, the kitchen does not appear to understand special instructions because my requests for bacon "well done" always comes out as bacon "barely cooked." During our visit today, our potatoes skins were made with rotten potatoes. Because of that and the consistent lack of good service, I downgraded my rating. The food is usually very good here though and we do enjoy the restaurant. Just wish there were more attention to service and detail.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kitten4762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Macado's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing