We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation Ever! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Radford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Vacation Ever! ”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Our oldest daughter has been interning at Radford University this summer. We decided to spend our summer vacation nearby so we could spend time with her and also enjoy the VA mountains. We stayed in the Lily of the Valley room which was perfect! We greeted Sean (Chef/Inn Keeper) who showed us around, we got settled and went out to eat dinner. Afterwards we came back to the B&B and played cards. We met Amy (Sean's friend) who was a wealth of information! She gave us a list of restaurants to try most were in the Blacksburg area which was worth the short drive. One in Radford was Benny Nicolas- best pizza around! In Blacksburg we loved Leftys, Social House, Souvlakis, tap house.

She also helped us find wine glasses and cards so we could hang out a while with our group before bed.

The next morning we met Mark & Buddy. Mark helped us figure out what to do during the day from wineries to hiking places to kyacking on the New River. He also included us in two cookouts while we were there as well as his Beer fest. (An incredible event!!)

My parents also came for the vacation and my dad didn't have the right shoes to kyack. Mark literally took off his flip flops so my dad could kyack. While we were getting situated with the kyack rental, Mark picked up our picnic lunch for us to eat along the way. He is friends with the owner of this historic house where we he left our cooler of food and a great halfway point for our trip.

This is just a small sample of our week. These are the most accommodating and nicest people you will ever meet.

Sean cooks the best breakfast and we stayed so long we challenged him to come up with something new every day and he did! Hands down the best two course breakfast I have ever had. Everything fresh and delicious! They even invited our daughter to join us for breakfast!

The only thing I wish I could do is bring these people home with me! We were so spoiled!





Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    9
    0
    4
    2
See reviews for
45
40
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Banner Elk, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband and I were traveling to Virginia to visit the Blue Ridge Parkway and spent a night at the Nesselrod. It was everything and more they advertise on their site. The staff really went all out to make us feel at home starting with a tour of the grounds. It felt like being at home with a lot more posh. We would for sure return and will recommend to our friends. Bravo!

Room Tip: The Thomas room was very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Spent 3 nights here with my family of 4. Kids are 11 and 14. We stayed in the Lilac room and the Lily of the Valley room.

What a fantastic experience! Mark was a great host and Sean's breakfasts were outstanding. We always felt welcomed and catered to. The entire home was clean and organized. Like a home away from home. What a gem in the middle of an area severely lacking nice hotels. We will stay here, again. Looking forward to it!

Sincerely,
The Baldwins

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Such a beautiful house with absolutely gorgeous gardens. The owner and inn keeper at this B&B were so helpful and cooked us an awesome breakfast. I highly recommend Nesselrod to anyone looking for a special, memorable experience. Can't wait to stop in again in the future!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We stopped to see our son in Radford and chose to stay overnight at Nesselrod. Although we are not world travelers and are easily satisfied this B&B was very satisfying. Sean greeted us with a smile and an offer to rest while our rooms wrote being prepared. The facility is in great shape and the grounds were immaculate. I would highly recommend this facility

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RCCKKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Having contributed to NPR's fall phonathon, we were fortunate to be winners in a random drawing for an overnight stay in the Nesselrod B&B, along with an all weather radio and a large box of cheeses. We were delighted to stay in the Enchanted Garden Room, which overlooked the New River from one dormer window and from the dormer window on the other side of the house we looked down on the formal garden. The room was very comfortable including the bed and bedding, and the wall-to-wall hand painted mural was charming and lovely. Our host, Mark, prepared our delicious breakfast, helped by doggie friend, Buddy, who kept an eye on things. We walked around the property, noticed the sunken garden, numerous flower beds, various seating areas, and the gazebo and realized why the Inn is host to so many outdoor events during the summer months - weddings, graduation parties, concerts and festivals. Our weather was beautiful, and we want to come back again. Thanks to NPR!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
345 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed in the Nesselrod for two nights on a business trip to Radford University. Perched on a hill above the river, this B&B has pleasant gardens and a Victorian feel. The house is very nicely appointed, with cove moldings, bay windows, and chair rails. The main floor has a nice living room/sitting area with a fireplace. I was put into a room on the first floor that had extremely ornate decor, almost Louis IV, just a bit over the top. The proprietors moved me to a second-floor room on the second night, insisting that it would be better (I had not complained about the first room). The second room was larger, with a fireplace and excellent decor, somewhat eclectic (but the fireplace wouldn't turn on). There was an in-wall ironing board in the first room but not in the second. On my first night, there was no hot water, which wasn't a problem until I awoke in the morning and tried to take a shower: no hot water. Sean went to the basement to flip a switch, but I didn't have time to wait until the water heater made the water warm enough, so I took a lukewarm shower: not fun. The first floor room had no separate heating control while the second-floor room did. The rooms themselves were very comfortable, including the bedding and beds. Beware that there are only one or two hangers for clothes and no closets, and also that the walls are very thin: you can easily hear voices from the other rooms and the sounds of creaking floors as people walk. However, this is not a major liability since it's an old house, and guests at B&Bs tend to retire at a reasonable hour. Sean is a terrific cook and the breakfasts are to die for. There's a resident chocolate lab named Buddy who is a great addition to the property. Free WiFi service is also included, and plentiful free parking. Small details need attending to, such as jams on the table for toast/muffins, but any lapses are immediately accommodated on request. Overall, one of the best places to stay in Radford (not many other choices), with very attentive owners.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms if possible; they're all really different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoctorCompRhet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radford
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Radford
La Quinta Inn Radford
#1 of 3 in Radford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Christiansburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Radford Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dublin
Hampton Inn Dublin
#1 of 5 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
8.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast

Property: Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast
Address: 7535 Lee Hwy, Radford, VA 24141-8505
Region: United States > Virginia > Radford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Radford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1939 this elegant garden estate is now host to guest for overnight stays, weddings and special events. Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast has five bedrooms overlooking the New River in Radford, VA making it a great place to stay while visiting Radford University and Virginia Tech in Blacksburg, VA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nesselrod Hotel Radford
Nesselrod b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing