We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the other choices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Radford Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Radford
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Our trip did not start all that auspiciously when the large mirror fell off the wall completely untouched. Thankfully, the beds were comfortable, the hotel was quiet and we slept soundly. The staff was also friendly, even seriously offering to give us another room after the mirror incident. The continental breakfast on offer was pretty good as well - including biscuits and gravy + excellent make yourself waffles. Still, a standard hotel experience and the best we've stayed at in Radford so far.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sakecat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

TWO WORDS: BED BUGS

The company I work for booked 5 rooms through Hotwire for 3 nights this past weekend and 3 of the rooms had bedbugs.

When I called and asked for a refund, I was told that they did an investigation and no other guests had sustained bites and they did not find any evidence of bedbugs and now looking at some of the other reviews it appears that there are bed bugs at this hotel.

I was told that hotel owner, manager and regional manager had all said no to a refund.

Do not stay here.

I have pictures of bites and bugs and even a video and they would not even give me an email to forward on the information. Just a number to the regional office and I will escalate this situation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hkymaniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Separate from main hotel; filthy room (suite) with layers of dust on all furnishings; dead flies on window sills with cobwebs in the upper corners of the windows. The towel rack fell to the floor when towel placed onto it. The toilet rocked when sitting upon it! Oh yeah, and there were fleas in the room!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The Best Western is so convenient to nearby Radford University. It is a little less modern than some hotels, but the rooms are comfortable and clean. Book early for move-in, move-out and for special weekends because it fills up quickly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A3XMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Radford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review with the TripAdvisor community! We are indeed ideally located for Radford University and have been a guest favorite for friends and families visiting students for many years. We do have a colonial vibe versus a more contemporary look but are told by guests that enhances the home away from home feeling they experience when staying with us. The large indoor pool is a favorite during off season - nice to relax in when not on campus. We also offer a complimentary, extensive breakfast buffet with both hot and cold items which we hope you were able to enjoy during your stay. Please visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This brick colonial hotel looked nice from the outside and the decor on the inside was a nice patterned wallpaper with a burgundy floral border. The lobby was rustic-looking with hardwood floors, a stonefaced wall with a fireplace and a moosehead hanging above the fireplace. The rooms were wallpapered, had wood furnishings (Queen Anne headboards) and burgundy curtains. We really liked the indoor pool and spa with skylights and surrounding windows. The hotel restaurant was closed, but it was open for seating while eating the free breakfast which included eggs, bisquits, gravy, oatmeal, cereal, donuts, breads, bagels, make your own waffles, juices, coffee, tea, hot chocolate and fruit. I was nervous after reading one lone yelp review, but after my experience here, I believe the person cannot be speaking about the same place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Cheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Radford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for writing a review about our Best Western Radford. We appreciated your apt description of our Colonial style decor and the large indoor pool with skylights and windows. As you also noted, the complimentary breakfast buffet does have a very wide selection of both hot and cold items which is a guest favorite. Thank you very much for selecting our hotel and for sharing with other potential guests your satisfactory stay. Please come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My second stay in six months, because of convenience and promo pricing on Trip Advisor. Room was clean and all amenities worked as expected. Fridge was cold, microwave worked, bathroom has complimentary shampoo, and coffee maker and hair dryer. Iron and ironing board in closet.

As has been mentioned, the on site restaurant is closed (Oct 2013) but has not affected the complimentary breakfast, which, incidentally is as good as you will find in any Interstate hotel, even better than some I have experienced.

Staff is friendly and accommodating, though I wish they would maintain and properly repair the luggage carts.

For an overnight stay off the Interstate, because it's not right on the highway, is probably a good choice, as it does not get as harsh treatment as some roadside properties.

Apparently during the summer, they get kids' baseball teams who stay there, according to the desk clerk, and it can be a bit noisy at those times. Also because it's a college town, staying during college events could be noisy as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald_O-Canard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Radford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience during your return visit to our hotel. We are indeed very convenient to the interstate but also far enough off the exit that we are able to offer a quiet, spacious and well maintained lodging choice. As you noted, our complimentary hot and cold breakfast buffet is one of the more extensive offerings available. Thank you for visiting and we hope you continue to stay with us when again in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here recently while visiting daughter at Radford University. Very convenient location to RU; easy to find. The breakfast was quite good with nice variety. There used to be a restaurant on property, so they now use that area for breakfast. This makes it the loveliest, most spacious one I've experienced in all my various travels. The rooms themselves are a little dated. Could definitely use some upgrades. I know they're trying to go for a traditional, colonial feel...but that being said I think they could improve the room fixtures, carpet, etc. Rooms were clean and neat though. Friendly front desk staff. Easy check-in/out process. Enjoyed the free popcorn in the lobby area -- cute touch.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickyLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Radford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience while visiting your daughter at Radford University. As you noted, our location just off the interstate and very close to the university makes us a convenient stop for friends and family visiting students at RU. We are indeed very fortunate to have such a spacious breakfast area to house our complimentary and plentiful hot breakfast buffet. And we always enjoy hearing that our guests like the fresh popcorn! We have shared your compliments with our staff on providing a clean hotel with friendly service. Please return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radford
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Radford
La Quinta Inn Radford
#1 of 3 in Radford
470 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Christiansburg
250 reviews
7.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Dublin
254 reviews
9.7 mi away
Red Carpet Inn
Red Carpet Inn
#7 of 10 in Blacksburg
146 reviews
10.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Christiansburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Radford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Radford Inn

Address: 1501 Tyler Ave, Radford, VA 24141-5007 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Radford Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Radford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Radford
Price Range: £45 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Radford Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Radford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Radford Hotel Radford
Radford Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing