We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ma Margaret's Bed and Breakfast - Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ma Margaret's House B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Reedville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ma Margaret's Bed and Breakfast - Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Ma Margaret's House, you are the best among B&Bs in my book. The privacy, room amenities, and overall warmth were delightful and a welcome respite from the hustle and bustle of the city. I especially appreciated the historical perspective as this B&B represents much more than just a vacation destination. Congratulations to Ma Margaret's for setting the bar high. I cannot wait to visit again.
My stay was so enjoyable and to share it with my family, as we celebrated my sister's birthday, with my best cousins in the world was the best treat ever. Moreover, to share that enjoyment at the Ma Margate's House was even better. We visited a few areas for shopping and enjoyed local wine tasting at a local winery...it was awesome!! Thank you so much for making our stay so remarkable!

Room Tip: The largest suite has a seating area, which is nice if you like to relax outside the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank noticeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
56
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

My wife and I took a trip to the Northern Neck for bicycling and kayaking. This B&B lives up to the reviews we read. Clean and comfortable room. Great porches. Great breakfast. Nice price. Modern amenities with a classic feel. We enjoyed the junior suite because it gave us comfortable seating in our room. The area was perfect for our bikes and kayaks.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveDeb76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

This was my first time staying in a bed and breakfast. If they are all like Ma Margaret's, I will make bed and breakfasts part of all my travel plans. The innkeepers took care of me of from the time I arrived until the time I departed--very important for a single traveler. Both days I was served a big country breakfast. The inn was very clean, the beds were comfortable--just like home. The innkeepers made suggestions about things to explore, places to eat and checked each day to see how I emjoyed the day's events. There were ample shops to explore.

Room Tip: All the rooms are reasonably priced!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dreambig414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

I took advantage of early spring weather to take a weekend trip to the Northern Neck. I had my eye on this B&B, based on the great reviews on Trip Advisor. I wasn't disappointed!

The inn is located off the highway in a very quiet area...just the location if you're trying to get away from the noise of the city. The rooms are very well appointed...everything I needed was at hand.

The hospitality was great, as was the breakfast in the morning.

I stayed in the Ma Margaret's Junior Suite, which was perfect for one, and would have been great for two.

I'm looking forward to returning, once the ferries to the islands are up and running for the season.

I highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

We loved the feeling of home. The accomodations were like sleeping in our very own bed. The fresh well water was such a delight that taking a shower was so much more soothing than taking one in our home in CA. Breakfast was stupendous; courteous, warm and timely service with a menu that knocked our socks off every morning. The atmosphere was so calming as well. At times we felt like we were in a movie. Just simply the best!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjlacurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Ma Margaret's House while visiting Reedville, Va. The house is absolutely gorgeous. Alva & Cynthia provided us with great hospitality and we thoroughly enjoyed the large, country breakfast! DE-LISH! Would highly recommend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrs_Heiberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

Outstanding Customer Service, Outstanding accommodations, Great Atmosphere and the food was absolutely delicious! We can't wait until our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yerb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reedville
19.6 mi away
Island Inn and Suites
Island Inn and Suites
#1 of 1 in Piney Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
11.3 mi away
Best Western Kilmarnock Inn
Best Western Kilmarnock Inn
#1 of 1 in Kilmarnock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#3 of 5 in Reedville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
17.4 mi away
Camp Merryelande
Camp Merryelande
#1 of 1 in Piney Point
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ma Margaret's House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ma Margaret's House B&B

Property: Ma Margaret's House B&B
Address: 249 Greenfield Road, Reedville, VA 22539
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Reedville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Reedville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ma Margaret's House Bed and Breakfast is a lovingly returned grandmother's house expanded to meet the needs of the twenty-first century. Today, it is opened to the public and avails to its visitors the same generous hospitality that family members have cherished for years.There are five beautifully decorated and spacious bedrooms, private baths, full southern style country breakfast, WI-FI, refrigerators and microwaves, private massage therapist, country vistas, and more.Take a cruise to one of the Chesapeake Bay Islands, book Tee time at the areas most promient golf course, or fish the bountiful waters with a charter Captain.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ma Margaret's House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing