We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ma Margaret's House B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Reedville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great Experience!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was our first experience staying at a bed and breakfast and it was great. Alva and Pam made our stay wonderful. They gave great advice on the best places to eat dinner too. Breakfast at the B&B was delicious. We would highly recommend MaMargarets!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
57
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My boyfriend and I were looking for a get away from the hustle and bustle of the Washington D.C. Area and found the perfect spot at Ma Margaret’s Bed & Breakfast!! Ma Margaret’s is a charmingly decorated Bed & Bed Breakfast that is set off of a main road where it is very quiet/peaceful. The Bed and Breakfast is conveniently located to a pier where you can take a boat over to Tangier Island; and is not far from a number of vineyards. Also, adjacent to the town of Heathsville, there are opportunities for antiquing and swimming if that is your heart’s desire.
Additionally, the owner (Ms. Alva) has restored her grandparent’s home with such careful detail. I am sure her ancestors are very proud to see what their granddaughter has accomplished. The hostess (Ms. Pam) during our stay prepared a delicious bountiful breakfast (I wish my pancakes would turn out like hers – I guess I’ll have to keep trying). Overall, we felt very welcomed at the Bed & Breakfast. And, was given just enough attention without feeling smothered. Also, when we left the Bed and Breakfast we took the relaxing scenic route to Williamsburg and stayed there a couple of days (the B& B is just a couple of hours away from several major cities in Virginia). I can hardly wait to stay at Ma Margaret’s Bed & Breakfast again – I highly recommend this Bed & Breakfast to anyone who is looking to decompress from their demanding schedules - lifestyles!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stopped at Ma Margaret's at the end of our Washington DC vacation and truly enjoyed our stay. Pam was an excellent hostess, serving an outstanding breakfast including fresh fruit, eggs, sausage, bacon and a signature honey biscuit! Alva has done an extraordinary job with the house. It is close to the Tangier Island Ferry and convenient to the local wine trail. If you are from the DC/Richmond area or passing through like us it is a great get-a-way from our daily grinds. Thanks for the experience... Pam we love ya!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanham, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This was a short vacation to Reedville, VA to celebrate my husband's birthday. We absolutely loved Ma Margaret's B&B. The rooms are lovely and the breakfast was exceptional. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. Alva and Pam made us feel so welcomed. We told all our friends about it and hope to visit Reedville and Ma Margaret's again soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valencia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had a great stay at Ma Margaret's House. We were welcomed by Pam and she made us feel comfortable and happy to be there. This historic home has been beautifully restored and well decorated. After a comfortable night's rest we had a terrific breakfast. Since the Tangier Island Ferry was not yet in operation we visited the three State natural preserves in Northumberland County and then rode our bicycles around Belle Isle State Park. We will be back soon, with friends, when we can go to the island. We highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoachPoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Charles, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

After a long drive and a long meeting, I was so happy to find myself at Ma Margaret's beautiful bed and breakfast. Situated on peaceful acreage, the rooms were filled with everything a weary business traveler needs. I slept like a baby! In the morning, I was treated to a gourmet breakfast and would be embarrassed to tell you how much I ate! But, the real treat was meeting Pam. I've never known such gracious hospitality and feel that I've made a friend for life. I'll definitely return whenever I'm in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffersonton, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

...that's how we felt during our stay at Ma Margaret's! Of course we were the only people staying that evening, so we got very special attention from Pam, who takes care of Miss Alva's beautifully-restored home!

Our accommodations were very comfortable and the breakfast was truly one of the best we've ever had at a B & B! Those honey butter biscuits are killer!

If you seek quiet and serenity, this is the place for you! And the price is right!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sydnor Room- small but more than adequate for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reedville
19.6 mi away
Island Inn and Suites
Island Inn and Suites
#1 of 1 in Piney Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
11.3 mi away
Best Western Kilmarnock Inn
3.9 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#3 of 5 in Reedville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
17.3 mi away
Camp Merryelande
Camp Merryelande
#1 of 1 in Piney Point
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ma Margaret's House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ma Margaret's House B&B

Property: Ma Margaret's House B&B
Address: 249 Greenfield Road, Reedville, VA 22539
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Reedville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Reedville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ma Margaret's House Bed and Breakfast is a lovingly returned grandmother's house expanded to meet the needs of the twenty-first century. Today, it is opened to the public and avails to its visitors the same generous hospitality that family members have cherished for years.There are five beautifully decorated and spacious bedrooms, private baths, full southern style country breakfast, WI-FI, refrigerators and microwaves, private massage therapist, country vistas, and more.Take a cruise to one of the Chesapeake Bay Islands, book Tee time at the areas most promient golf course, or fish the bountiful waters with a charter Captain.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ma Margaret's House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing