We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and terrible experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Reston Heights
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Reston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We rented the junior suite for a week. We were disappointed. Nice room though cheap looking furniture. Hard chair and sofa. No extra towels, pillows, or blankets. Its one of the more expensive rooms, so we thought we would have a great time, but not so much. The staff is not very friendly at all. Though they always expect a tip even if you tell them you will pick up something at the desk, they bring it to your room anyway and expect a tip! Stuff that was on their list of amenities, ie kids activity packet, stamps, they dont even have. You have to get a key to use their in room tiny fridge. The towels are not soft, the tp not stocked, they don't replenish things when they clean the room, instead they "tidy" the room cause they didn't clean it even though we left a nice tip for them. The tv channels are limited, as is their tiny pool, which is only open 4-10, not cool if you have kids. The breakfast was so expensive and not worth it all! If it wasn't prepaid, we would have left sooner. Sorry, I expected more for the 450 a night we paid them. Not a kid friendly place at all! They charge .85 for local calls and 11.95 a day for internet! Forget making a local call from the front desk, they made me go to the Sheraton across the way! Never ever again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lalaletgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Dear lalaletgo,
Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your stay at The Westin Reston Heights. I was disappointed to read that we failed to meet your expectations. I have shared your comments regarding the cleanliness of the room with our entire housekeeping team. It is our goal for our guests' to feel refreshed after the room has been serviced, not that the room has simply been "tidied." During the time frame of your stay, we too found the towels to not be at the proper softness level. The hotel's laundry vendor has since corrected the process. On the "Offers" tab of the hotel website, we offer several packages that include High Speed Internet Access and a variety of Breakfast options. I would like to apologize that you did not find value in your stay or the level of service you have come to know from the Westin brand. In the event you would like to further discuss your visit, please contact me directly at 703.234.3506.
Be well,
David Meredith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

My family and I had to stay here for a weekend for an UMAA conference. We were extremely impressed with the service. The rooms were clean and staff was very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was delicious and the location was perfect for getting around. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveljudger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, Director of Guest Services at Westin Reston Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear traveljudger,
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your visit to The Westin Reston Heights. We were delighted to be one of the selected properties for the UMAA conference. I hope you group looks to host the conference in Reston next year.
Be well,
-Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Relatively clean. Front desk staff not very helpful. Indoor pool had a lifeguard which is nice if you have kids.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happytravelinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, Director of Guest Services at Westin Reston Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear Happytravelinfamily,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your visit to The Westin Reston Heights. I am sorry that you found your visit to be "Nothing Special" and that the front desk team was not very helpful. Our team takes pride on our high level of guest satisfaction and service. In the event you would like to discuss your experience, please feel free to contact me directly at dave.meredith@westinreston.com.
Be well,
-Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

It is quite close to the Dulles Airport and I believe they provide a free shuttle service to that airport. There are a lot of business offices in this area, so this seems to be a good location for business meetings and stays. The room was decent in size and clean. They are into this green concept. So there was no guest services directory or information book about the hotel and its services in hard copy in the room. However, all the information was available on your in-room TV (conserving paper!). Also, they were giving $5 credit per day for turning down housekeeping service (except on the check-out day). The credit can be used towards drinks in the hotel restaurant. I thought this was quite a good incentive towards conserving resources (most hotels do not have any incentive and request voluntary participation in such initiatives). There was one free bottled water in the room (yay!!!) and it was $2 for the extra bottle (quite reasonable in my opinion since I have seen charges as high as $7 or even more at some hotels). So all this is a thumbs up in my opinion.
Apparently they have a good indoor pool (however I did not avail it, so can't really give first hand experience... I did visit the pool area and it appeared clean and well maintained). They also have good on-site food. However, there is nothing walkable nearby and you either need to drive or take a cab to the Reston Town Center or into DC. So I think it is well suited for business stays but not sure how a family on non-business travel would like it there.

Another reason to drop the rating slightly was it seems like there is an in-room mini-refrigerator bar. However, it is locked and requires a separate key. I was not given the key or asked whether I needed the key at check-in. So....

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bondj303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, Director of Guest Services at Westin Reston Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2012

Dear bondj303,
Thank you for taking the time to provide a nicely detailed review of The Westin Reston Heights. As you noted the hotel has several green initiatives to assist in reducing our carbon footprint. Hotel guests that are staying multiple nights have the opportunity to participate in the "Make A Green Choice" program. Participants receive a voucher for their choice of either a $5 discount at available outlets or 500 Starpoints with our Starwood Preferred Guest loyalty program.
From the multiple reviews you have posted, I hope we have the opportunity to be your host on a return visit to Reston, VA.
Safe travels and be well,
-Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Yes, this Westin was obviously the Easter weekend destination for some major rednecks who parked out right next door to our room. Yelling, screaming and door slamming were on the menu all night long. No big deal, so we put in our ear plugs but we could still hear the fighting so intense that it made you cringe. We called the front desk and she said they would take care of it. 30 minutes later the screams of "you mean nothing to me" had not abated so we called again. The desk agreed that these "guests" were fighting and were asked to quiet down but hadn't. We told the front desk we were going to check out early. As we were departing the Food & Beverage Manager approached us to console us. How odd is this? The individual that managers the restaurant is around at 9:00 a.m. on a Saturday morning to glad hand two repeat guests, but there's no "real manager" available to kick out the disruptive guests. Despite incurring no charges this was a huge disappointment because management chose to allow disruptive guests to continue on and disturb others !

Room Tip: Find one that's soundproofed !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irreverent-in-Cleve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sami_Zeitoun, General Manager at Westin Reston Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

We certainly take pride on trying to exceed our guest’s expectations at every turn and I sincerely apologize that our hotel did not seem to meet your expectations while in Reston.

The Westin Reston Heights opened its doors just 4 years ago and was designed to be a calm and peaceful respite for our guests to enjoy their time away from home.

If a situation arises to warrant a guest complaint, our policy is to stop the source of this complaint immediately. All our associates and managers are empowered to correct a situation. This is the very reason why a food & beverage manager took the initiative to dismiss your overnight charges upon check-out. I am just sorry that this was not resolved to your satisfaction the previous night.

I will review your comments and refresh our policies with our operating team so that his type of error does not occur in the future. We do hope to have another opportunity to shine for you on a future visit to our area.

Thank you for your comment, and I assure you that our number 1 goal is guest satisfaction - we strive for perfect scores from our guests.

Sincerely,

Sami Zeitoun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

It was great to get out of the city for a night and have a swim in the pool. The only down side was that the hotel restaurant was completely booked up for Mother's day. It seemed they should have reserved some space for hotel guests since we had no transportation unless we called a taxi to take us somewhere. There was nothing nearby. We tried to go to breakfast around 9:45 and were told they were booked up until 1pm. That's really unacceptable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slj101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, Director of Guest Services at Westin Reston Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

SLJ101,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding the Westin Reston Heights hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the guestroom and pool during your mini-vacation from the city. As you mention, yes, Vinifera is an extremely popular restaurant for both hotel guests and area residents. The restaurant team typically reserves seating to accommodate hotel guests, however with such beautiful weather on Mother’s day, we had many more walk in patrons than anticipated. We would greatly enjoy the opportunity to see you again, should you be interested in reservations with Vinifera, please feel free to contact me directly at 703.234.3506.
Be well,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed at the Westin Reston Heights for a night on our way back from a long international trip. The hotel was lovely, the room very comfortable, and the restaurant excellent. One thing that stood out was the obviously very happy staff, providing excellent service throughout the hotel, signifying great working conditions in a first-rate establishment. When we emailed the hotel from overseas to report a change in schedule due to illness, we received excellent treatment. Even though we had a pre-paid reservation, Scott made us feel welcome to arrive a day late. Thank you so much to Scott and the entire staff of the Westin Reston Heights. We will definitely be back and will recommend this hotel to our friends!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizattheLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, Director of Guest Services at Westin Reston Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear LizattheLake,
Thank you for such a fantastic review of The Westin Reston Heights. I was quite delighted to pass-on your comments to the entire team and specifically to Scott. We look forward to your return visit.
Be well,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reston
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Reston
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Reston Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston
1.3 mi away
Hyatt House Herndon
Hyatt House Herndon
#8 of 20 in Herndon
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Reston Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Reston Heights

Address: 11750 Sunrise Valley Dr, (Opening May 20, 2008), Reston, VA 20191-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Reston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Reston
Price Range: £79 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Reston Heights 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located for business or leisure, The Westin Reston Heights is a blend of comfort and sophistication moments from Dulles International Airport and a short cab ride from our nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Westin Reston Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Reston Heights Hotel Reston
Reston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing