We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem in an unlikely setting”
Review of El Manantial Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Manantial Restaurant
Price range: US$31 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Wiehle Ave.
Description: El Manatial is a family operated restaurant, featuring European Fusion Cuisine. We offer Italian, French and Spanish specialties, including a Tapas bar.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Gem in an unlikely setting”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Have to say this was one of the best dining experiences I have had in quite some time in the NoVa area. And to find it so off the beaten path was especially surprising. The food was excellent, both my wife and I enjoyed our entrees, appetizers and dessert immensely. If you go, make sure you try the Tarte Tatin for dessert. It is not on their tray so you need to ask for it. El Manantial is pricier than the average neighborhood restaurant at $100 for a 3 course meal for 2 but well worth it for a fine meal out. Definitely plan on returning again. Note that if you make a reservation 24 hours in advance there are coupons on their website you can use to reduce the cost. ($20 of of 80 or more for dinner). We did not have a reservation and were seated immediately so don't let that stop you.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Swmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    27
    6
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nm
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Service”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We walked in on a Friday 6 pm in casual dress without a reservation and although the restaurant was very busy (there were a couple of parties) the host welcomed us graciously. The lighting was romantic and my Paella was very tasty almost like being in Spain. We were served in a reasonable time and the servers kept our bread and drinks filled without intrusion.This upscale Mediterranean fusion place is one I would return to regularly if I lived anywhere near.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food. Very noisy.”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Food is great. Menu has good variety. Prices in line with type of place. Nice if there are no parties going on but twice when we have been there there have been large parties. The noise level makes it difficult for a table of 4 to converse.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blackdrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Gem out of the way”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

When you think restaurant in Reston, you think of the market place. El Manantial's beats them all. We have dinned here several time over the past 2 years since we found this place. Service is slow with a purpose. The staff is inviting you to slow down, relax, enjoy your company and prepare for a wonderful meal. Menus and the wine list a presented straight away but no pressure is placed to order quickly. The wine list has some great wines on it. The selection of entrees is wide, with non standard fare. The entire meal was presented to perfection and tasted as good as it looked. El Manantial is a true gem in Reston, which has a number of fine restaurants.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very rich food”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We were expecting a Spanish menu, but found more eclectic offerings.

First, the food was very, very rich. Neither of us could finish the large portions. Well-prepared, well-served.

Everything is a la carte - my "side salad" was also very large.

The service was mediocre. The manager kept coming to ask us if everything was all right, but he kept leaving before we could answer! Our waiter was borderline surly.

Service was v-e-r-y s-l-o-w. There were two groups (around 10 people in each group) and one other couple in the restaurant on a Friday night. Two waiters. It took an hour to be served our main course.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LovesHippos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Manantial Restaurant also viewed

Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing