We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Trip Advisor Success”
Review of Cafesano

Cafesano
Ranked #3 of 151 Restaurants in Reston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$11
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Cafesano serves Italian and Mediterranean food in an upscale quick-casual cafe environment located on Lake Thoreau in the South Lakes Village Center in Reston, Virginia. Our hours are from 11-9 daily. Enjoy our fresh and flavorful Appetizers, Panini, Wraps, Salads, Pizza and Kabobs. Kids Menu and Gluten Free Menu available. Vegetarian friendly menu. Nice variety and reasonably priced beer and wine. Our patio overlooks Lake Thoreau and there is ample parking. Cafesano. Tastes good! Feels good!
Sterling, VA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Another Trip Advisor Success”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We were just enjoying a drive exploring areas close to home that we had not been to and wanted a nibble. We found the perfect spot. The food was fresh and gourmet without being over the top and strange. We enjoyed the outdoor seating with the beautiful hanging baskets of flowers.

My husband, an expert on eating panini, found a delicious one and there were many others. I had a small fresh tomato and avocado salad with a spear of grilled shrimp. Terrific!

Only item we had that didn't pass the delicious test was the fresh lemonade.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Owner at Cafesano, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We're so glad to hear that you had a great experience with us and you and your husband enjoyed the panini as well as the tomato & avocado salad with grilled shrimp- great choices! We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    87
    31
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
reston, va
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Signature Salad!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is a counter service place that can get very crowded and then seating can be difficult. I go for one thing only--the Signature Salad. It has everything I love in a salad: lettuce, tomatoes, onions, cucumbers, artichokes, avocado, fresh mozzarella (no meat) with a nice slice of bread. I'm happy that they now offer a half-size but it is a bit overpriced for the reduced size. My only complaint is that the dressing for this salad can ocassionally be too heavy on the oil. My husband is a big fan of their Chicken Kabob Platter and my vegetarian son really likes the falafel and the hummus w pita.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vakamalua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of the best Paninis I've ever had!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I am a panini fanatic, and by far Cafesano's was one of my favorites! The atmosphere is very casual and deli-like, but the food is the furthest thing from low-quality. My grilled chicken pesto sandwich was thick and hot, with great seasoning on the chicken and a fantastic pesto. The chips on the side were homemade and equally as awesome.

My dining companions also had a variety of dishes - a meat pizza, kebobs, tatziki, etc, and none of them had anything but kind words to share. Will definitely want to go back to this place next time I'm in VA!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Pizza at Cool Mediterranean Joint”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I love this place for one thing: its awesome pizza. I get the equivalent of a meatlover's pizza, and they use real beef, sausage, and pepperoni. I don't know what they put in it, but it's very, very tasty. I think everything they make uses all natural ingredients. I recommend for a quick, tasty lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeartDaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had lunch at Cafesano yesterday. We chose this place because it was rated #1 in Reston on trip advisor. We were not impressed with the food. It wasn't terrible, but it certainly wasn't great either? I'm not sure why it's ranked so high. My husband had pizza and I had a portobello panini. The food wasn't bad, just not worthy of being ranked #1.

Helpful?
1 Thank MissC1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafesano also viewed

 
Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to Cafesano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing