We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sweet Impromptu Getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
River and Mountain View from the screened in porch!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
River and Mountain View from the screened in porch!
Screened In Porch Jacuzzi Tub for 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
River and Mountain View from the screened in porch!
Screened In Porch
Jacuzzi Tub for 2
Bathroom with Jacuzzi Tub, Standing Shower and Sink.
Comfortable Tastefully Decorated Living room and Breakfast Area
Tv, and Stereo!
Loft Bedroom with Queen Size Bed, Great views from window looking at river and mountains!
Front View of Cottage
Living room and Spiral Staircase to Loft Bedroom. Sliding glass doors to Screened in Porch.
1st floor bedroom with Full Size Bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rileyville, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Calvin P
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Sweet Impromptu Getaway”
Reviewed 4 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

First off, there was nothing bitter about this cottage. :) Only thing I would've hoped for is weather being warmer so we could've taken advantage of the nice, spacious porch and spend more time outside by the fire pit. Everything from decorations to amenities and the host (she is so awesome!), everything was top-notch. It felt like every conceivable space was well utilized to make anyone's stay at this cottage an awesome experience. There's wifi, cable tv, good size flat screen tv, jacuzzi, porch that's enclosed in netting, comfortable beds, fire pit, grill, and kitchen that has pretty much everything you need to cook up a nice meal.

This cottage is ideal for two to four people. It's close to a river, where I think you can fish and there's a big livewell at the cottage. I can picture myself catching some good size fish, keeping them in the livewell, cooking them up on the grill, and scarf them down by the fire. I will definitely come back here when it gets warmer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort of modern amenities while being away in nature
Liked least: cold weather
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leannkbl
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Happily situated and cozy retreat!”
Reviewed 2 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

When traveling with our furry, four-legged "child", it's often challenging to find clean, comfortable accommodations...we found that and more at Bittersweet Retreat. Shar was a delightful hostess...genuinely interested in her guests comfort. Along with the standard items, the kitchen was stocked with lots of little thoughtful extras like tea bags and maple syrup. As cozy as the cottage was, we spent most of our day on the ample screened porch...the porch was obviously designed to make the most of the beautiful view of the river. Thank you, Shar, for a lovely retreat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the screened porch
Liked least: Window A/C units loud when trying to sleep
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2012
Hi LeAnn,
The pleasure was mine as well, I wish all my guest were as nice & thoughtful as you are, & I appreciated how well you took care of the cottage . Your baby was no trouble at all! I hope you All come back to see me soon!
Very Sincerely,
Shar Mayne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRoman
New York
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“The Perfect Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 4 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I spent 3 nights at this lovely cottage that sits surrounded by beautiful scenery. It was truly a wonderful home away from home. Beautifully decorated and very well cared for, it's perfect for a couple needing some R&R. I can't wait to go back but In the meantime I will miss our evening walks under the starry sky.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the owner's hospitality
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackie h
Kinston, North Carolina
1 review
“Great way to start the NEW YEAR!!!”
Reviewed 2 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012

My wife and I gave this trip to ourselves as a Christmas present. It was a great get away and a perfect way to start the New Year. We love the Shenandoah Valley and the river. The accomadations were very,very clean and neat. The design of the cabin was great. The view of the mountains and river were post card perfect. Shar, the owner, makes you feel welcome and wanted, more like a guest than a renter. Also it is pet friendly. We plan on returning again in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness, pet friendly, location.
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Va
Reviewed 11 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jmorgan12...
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“A relaxing retreat with all the amenities!”
Reviewed 8 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011

We loved visiting the Bittersweet Retreat for the weekend and wished we could have stayed longer! The cottage was beautifully built and decorated. It was immaculately cleaned and maintained. The screened in porch was definitely my favorite place that I have been this summer! Shar was an excellent hostess; everything that we needed was provided and she even grew fresh herbs out front of the cottage that we used to cook with the whole weekend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2011
Thank You for such a nice response & having you here was my treat as well, you took such nice care of the cottage, as if it was your own. I hope to see you again & enjoy the river & mountains as much as I do! Once again it was a pleasure having you here.
Sincerely,
Shar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Reviewed 20 June 2011 for a stay in February 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing