We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Kevin, Rita and Pheobie say Thank You!”
other travellers have booked this property
River and Mountain View from the screened in porch!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
River and Mountain View from the screened in porch!
Screened In Porch Jacuzzi Tub for 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
River and Mountain View from the screened in porch!
Screened In Porch
Jacuzzi Tub for 2
Bathroom with Jacuzzi Tub, Standing Shower and Sink.
Comfortable Tastefully Decorated Living room and Breakfast Area
Tv, and Stereo!
Loft Bedroom with Queen Size Bed, Great views from window looking at river and mountains!
Front View of Cottage
Living room and Spiral Staircase to Loft Bedroom. Sliding glass doors to Screened in Porch.
1st floor bedroom with Full Size Bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rileyville, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kev0227i
hopatcong
1 review
“Kevin, Rita and Pheobie say Thank You!”
Reviewed 27 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Wow what a great place! Clean, beautiful decor, lovely greeting with cookies on the diningroom table, stocked with all that you can imagine and a world of relaxation. Great location for site seeing in any direction of VA. If you forgot to bring something from home I'm sure Shar had thought of it herself by preparing your stay with what you need to enjoy a relaxing moment. You can't pass up this cottage and if you don't mind the acreage of property, looking at the river, fishing, watching the sunrise and set and meeting friendly people even if it is a wave from the car window then this is the place you should be.... Thank you Shar again for a wonderful stay and we and Pheobie (the dog) look forward to seeing you again!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for giving me such a Great review, it was my pleasure meeting both of you, & I hope you come back to see me again.
Have a wonderful Holiday!
Shar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BG
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“We just love this cottage”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This was our second stay at this lovely cottage , it's a lovely cozy place to stay they were a couple of changes from the first time we stayed, one been the fire inside and also the dining room we loved sitting there over looking the river , This was our first meeting with Shar who is a very nice lady who makes wonderful cookies , she should be very proud of what she is offering her guests

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swtrvlr14
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“A nice cottage in a good location”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The cottage has most of the modern amenities (A/C, Flat screen-TV, Blue-Ray/DVD-player etc.) you could wish for without losing its charm. The kitchen has everything you need if you like to cook your own food. The lovely screened porch (bug free) with a view of the river is where you want to spend most of the time when visiting in summertime.

The location of the cottage, just a couple of miles from the famous Luray Caverns and Skyline Drive, is very good. If you like to do some longer daytrips there are also plenty of sights within a two hour drive, such as Harpers Ferry and a whole lot of battlefields if you happen to be a civil war buff.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR8TRIPS2...
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
“A peaceful, relaxing retreat we highly recommend!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Shar is a warm, welcoming person whose attention to detail is evident in her cozy cottage on the Shenandoah River. The Bittersweet Retreat is a beautiful place and we appreciate all the little touches that make it a place we look forward to coming back to again soon. The view from the pretty dinning area and roomy screen porch is gorgeous. After a day out sightseeing it was great to relax on the porch or in the living room and later sleep in comfy beds. The kitchen is well equipped and the bathroom spacious with a shower and a jetted tub. We were able to grill outside on the patio and there is also a fire pit with seating, as well. It is a great place to do some star gazing while listening to the soothing river sound. Thank you, Shar, for a lovely stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the soothing sounds of the river.
Liked least: Leaving the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2014
Hi Marie & Bill,
It was a total pleasure having you here & I want to Thank You for taking such good care of the cottage, I can't wait to see you again, you seem more like friends then customers!
Come Back Soon!!
Have a wonderful Spring!!!
Shar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xlixx004
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Most relaxing couples of days in months!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

My husband and I work seven days a week and after working 15-hour days for 6 months straight, we were in much need of a vacation. After considering a couple of options including cities and mountains in the north and south, we decided to stay close to home and head to the mountains in Virginia or West Virginia to maximize our time away. I poured over the internet looking for the perfect place to stay and in the end went with Shar's place because it looked close to the water and mountains but still in close proximity to nearby towns. Shar was really easy to work with in terms of payment and when I had questions. She got back to me promptly each time.

A Bittersweet Retreat was indeed perfect. We arrived early Thursday afternoon (after talking to Shar who kindly allowed us to check in early) and had no trouble finding the house or getting settled in. The place was spotless with two beds (one full bed in the bedroom downstairs, and one queen in the loft upstairs), a huge screened in porch, a small but fully-stocked and functional kitchen, and a large bathroom with a shower and a jacuzzi. The weather was perfect for our 3 nights there and the times when we weren't out exploring the nearby attractions, we spent most of our time on the screened-in porch.

Shar had given me some suggestions for where to shop for groceries so we picked up some local meat and produce on our way in on Thursday. Shar lives in the converted chicken house next door, and when she stopped by later to say hi and see if we needed anything, she was very sweet to also bring two homemade turnovers as a welcome treat. She answered all of our questions and gave recommendations for places to eat as both the husband and I love to eat. She informed us that she was going to be out of town the next night, but we could call if we needed anything. We're pretty low maintenance so had no need to call her. She also invited us to see her house next door, we didn't get to this time, but will sure try next time we stay!

We had use of the charcoal grill outside of the cottage where there are also chairs as well as a picnic table for those who don't mind bugs. I get eaten alive by mosquitoes wherever I go, so the screened-in porch was a lifesaver. Sleeping to the sound of all the birds and the river was fantastic.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the cottage and couldn't have asked for a better host. The house was perfectly situated for everything we wanted to do. There are a lot of cabins out there in the Luray area, but a lot of them are on the side of main roads, which we didn't want. A Bittersweet Retreat was on a road that wasn't far from the main road, but it was in a community so it was very quiet at night. The neighbors' houses were also not too close so you didn't feel like you were on top of other people.

The only things I would leave as things to consider for other travelers are: Two of the street lamps are pretty bright and shined through the gaps of trees so if you are sensitive to light when sleeping, then you should bring eye masks. They didn't bother us much though. Also, there's no bathroom in the upstairs loft (as mentioned in the description of the house) and the stairs up are quite steep, so for people with small bladders or elderly I'd recommend sleeping in the bedroom downstairs just for safety when you're all blurry-eyed in the middle of the night.

The husband and I didn't want to leave when it was time to go and as we drove away were already talking about how to make our way back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: screened-in porch, ease of access to an array of things to do
Liked least: having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2013
I can't tell you what a pleasure it was having you stay at the cottage, all I can say is that you were both a delight! If there were more guest like the two of you everyone would have a place to rent out. You were the perfect guest & low maintenance to accommodate your needs.
I also wanted to Thank You for taking such good care of the cottage, you left it almost as you found it.
Truly there should be more guest like you!!
Please come back Anytime!!!
Very Sincerely,
Shar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaypeetee...
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bittersweet was everything we hoped it would be!”
Reviewed 24 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We found this delightful cabin easily thanks to Shar's great directions, she was there to meet us and after showing us around the cabin left us some delicicious home made cake. The cabin had everything we needed for a very comfortable 3 night stay and many items extra which we hadn't expected, like coffee and charcoal for the BBQ. A beautiful peaceful setting and proximity to the Shenandoah Nat. Park made this venue a great place to stay. Thanks again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2014
Hi Guys,
I just found out how to answer your wonderful review so sorry it took me so long, you were a pleasure to have here & I hope you come see me again soon.
Thanks again for such a nice review.
Shar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calvin P
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Sweet Impromptu Getaway”
Reviewed 4 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

First off, there was nothing bitter about this cottage. :) Only thing I would've hoped for is weather being warmer so we could've taken advantage of the nice, spacious porch and spend more time outside by the fire pit. Everything from decorations to amenities and the host (she is so awesome!), everything was top-notch. It felt like every conceivable space was well utilized to make anyone's stay at this cottage an awesome experience. There's wifi, cable tv, good size flat screen tv, jacuzzi, porch that's enclosed in netting, comfortable beds, fire pit, grill, and kitchen that has pretty much everything you need to cook up a nice meal.

This cottage is ideal for two to four people. It's close to a river, where I think you can fish and there's a big livewell at the cottage. I can picture myself catching some good size fish, keeping them in the livewell, cooking them up on the grill, and scarf them down by the fire. I will definitely come back here when it gets warmer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort of modern amenities while being away in nature
Liked least: cold weather
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing