We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Sushi in Roanoke Yet!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wasabi's

Wasabi's
Ranked #80 of 466 Restaurants in Roanoke
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Roanoke Yet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

What a great little hideaway on Market Street! A friendly staff, huge portions, great prices, and fresh fish make this our new favorite sushi spot. We took my brother here on his first visit to Roanoke and he made us promise to return every time he's in town. My husband--not a sushi fan--was also equally thrilled with his huge and variety filled bento box. We will certainly be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheTwoSkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    17
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Mount, Virginia
2 reviews
“BEST SUSHI”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

This place is the best, i love it, i go there very often! The staff is very friendly. i recommend the sumo roll, tokyo roll, lovers roll, and salmon/ eel handroll!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Roanoke Really?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

Wanted Sushi read some reviews and chose Wasabi's This is in downtown Roanoke which is a pretty cool place. Parking may be an issue but i found a place around the corner. I had 2 rolls that where well made and very tasty. I had a spicy yellow tail and usually at most places they make it like spicy tuna almost like a paste. This roll had pieces of yellowtail with the spice rolled on top. I also ordered one of their specialty rolls that was delicious (Dynamite roll) Great experience, medium priced will go back next time in Roanoke

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 2muchtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Stuff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

Great food, and the best miso soup of anywhere in Roanoke. More affordable than other restaurants like it, and higher food quality than most others.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenafreaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice friendly find late night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

Stop in late after 9pm and was promptly seated by my friendly server, I could not make up my mind so she brought me some hot green tea. It was very taste and not bittier. They have a decent size assortment of things to choose from so I took me a minute to decide. I wanted to rearrange the selection of fish on my sushi , they let me make up my own roll, it was a shrimp and avocado roll with toasted eel on top with the sweet soy sauce drizzled over it , It was very flavorful and a meal in self. Also had a rainbow roll and they let me substitute white tuna for tilapia It was fresh and delicious. Sweet Shrimp and Red Clam they diced for me and mixed with spicy mayo and put into little seaweed paper and rice cups. I usually get scallops this way but this was a good substitute, it was sweet and spicy with a hint of sesame seed to give it a tasted nutty taste. When I finished you could tell they were ready to go but never pushed me to leave. I should have got the name of my waitress, I ran her to death and she gave no complaints. She did a fantastic job and was always handy when you needed her. This was a ten at least as experience goes. There were lot of factor to make this a nightmare, but they handle it without batting an eye. It was one of the nicest dining experiences I have had in a long time. And at that time of the night I don’t expect much. It is located on the downtown square

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank regis56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Wasabi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing