We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quick Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This hotel is older. Would I recommend it for a stay for a vacation..no. But we were using it as a pit stop for one night heading to Lake Norman, NC. There were a total of 12 of us (three families) ...booking 3 rooms with a variety of adults and children. The rooms were plenty big for an overnight stay. The kids used the pool and loved it because no one was in it. There are plenty of restaurants nearby and a mall just in case you forgot anything. The woman at the desk was very friendly. She not only checked us in but also drove the group of us via shuttle to dinner. Dinner was done we called and she was there in five minutes. Needed more towels and within a few moments they had arrived. So I must say service was great.
I was concerned because of all the reviews I read about dogs. I have to admit...it kinda grossed me out before I got there and actually considered changing hotels. My friends talked me out of it! I saw one tiny dog the whole time I was there.
The breakfast buffet was more than adequate for a bite before we checked out. Was it gourmet, no. But it was well organized and had everything we needed to start the morning off.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Linda0813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

It's evident that this is a older hotel. Accommodations were ok...nothing to get too excited about. Room appeared clean and comfortable. I would stay again. Did not try the food items, but lobby appeared vey nice. Indoor pool was a definite plus.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank knobby2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Saw some mixed reviews prior to staying here, but kept reservation. Glad we did. Great price, bonus was the room had 2 double beds and a pull out couch. Hotel was clean and service was great. Breakfast was nice as well. Shuttle was a big help for our group. Nice experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yodog68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for the second time. Room was almost identical to the first one, but this one had a hook on the back of the bathroom door and the AC unit worked more quietly, welcome changes. The desk staff are very friendly and helpful. Our housekeepers were perfect. The lobby is wonderful for socializing. The breakfast is adequate. The woman who was serving breakfast was not friendly. I greeted her and she seemed reluctant to return the greeting. The biscuits were cold and very dry (sufficient to cover with gravy but not to eat by themselves), I got the last juice glass which was dirty on the outside. Had the server been more friendly or had there been staff in the breakfast area, I would have let them know about the glasses. I did get a latte one day which was very poor quality. I had to add sugar and a flavored creamer (although I had asked for a flavored syrup) to make it more than a cup of coffee with cream. Although beverages are offered, they are quite pricey. We paid about $5 for two bottles of water. Our room had no microwave, which would have been nice to have, and the sofa was a little stained and worn. There was a strong aroma of smoke in our hallway, both from the outside door which guest propped open while they smoked and from a service room (electrical?) which we noticed every time we walked to our room. However, it was a great stay and we look forward to our next one. The location is wonderful, convenient to many restaurants, nice mall, and the downtown.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room, which we liked because we had a lot of items to bring in and out. Howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yucatan-Admirer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We ended up here after deciding not to stay at the hotel we had reservations at. We were impressed the minute we walked in. The hotel has food for purchase 24 hours a day and a bar (though the bar is a bit pricy. Off the pool area was a space with tables and chairs for people to eat at along with the tables in the breakfast area. The employees were very friendly and helpful. The employee who checked us in upgraded us to a suite for the same price as a regular room so our two granddaughters would have a little separate space of their own. Food for breakfast was good. Only improvement I would make would be to add a laundry room for their guests.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavenportPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed for a couple of days this weekend, and my stay wasn't too bad. Compared to other reviews the staff seemed nice. The room my husband and I stayed in was spacious although our microwave didn't work. The bed was really comfortable. I only had a few issues. The place needs a deep clean, probably a new cleaning staff. There were holes in our sheets and when they were changed there was a stain on our new set of sheets. We also don't eat sunflower seeds but there were a couple on the floor, which needs a shampoo. The walls should also be washed, and the couch had a stain on it. The A/C unit should be cleaned. Also, there should be more options for breakfast and the food should be warm. All in all the hotel does have a lot of potential but just needs a deep cleaning and a new chief.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank tbell2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Beds seem a little old, they squeaked when we moved. Black out curtains worked good we slept til almost 9. Pull out couch was nice to have for the kids. There is a little wall to give the bed a little privacy from the couch. Bathrooms are small and could use and update. Wet bar area is nice. Doesn't seem like a new hotel but very nice especially for the price and if you need a bigger than average room. Would be good for business travel or families for sure.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank everm2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
3.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#7 of 40 in Roanoke
762 reviews
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
2.9 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Valley View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Roanoke

Address: 5040 Valley View Blvd NW, Roanoke, VA 24012-2038 (Formerly AmeriSuites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#9 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range: £75 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Roanoke 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location at Valley View Mall; 2 miles from the airport, 5 miles from downtown Roanoke & 25+ restaurants within a 1 mile. Complimentary shuttle service within a 5 mile radius; including the airport.All rooms are suite style with living & sleeping areas, sofas, 42" HGTV, Free high speed WiFi throughout the hotel. Large indoor heated pool & fitness center. Complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Roanoke Airport/Valley View Mall Hotel Roanoke
Hyatt Roanoke
Roanoke Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing