We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Facility Conveniently Located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Southeastern, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Good Facility Conveniently Located”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Good facility with friendly front desk staff. Nice rooms and adequate breakfast. The service personnel in the food area took out all the trash liners at one time leaving no trash receptacles for the diners to use. Service personnel in food area need more training.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank JC T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    175
    116
    58
    32
See reviews for
237
181
31
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was our first experience with a Hampton Inn and I must say it was one of the best. From arrival to departure everyone was pleasant and very helpful. The rooms were exceptionally clean and most importantly the AC was working!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortlandt Manor
Level 6 Contributor
402 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is a mixed review.

Stayed two nights and two rooms with family. Hilton Hampton Inns and Hilton Garden Inns are usually my preferred properties for both leisure and business.

Pluses:
+ Usual comfy Hilton beds
+ Clean room with modern shower
+ Convenient location right off I81
+ Fridge in room

Gripes…Hotel Manager Tony Thornhill has some serious management and training issues:
- Wake-up call occurred 20 mins late. No apology offered.
- Rate dispute upon check out was treated as my problem. No apology offered.
- Single toaster in breakfast area is so slow to toast that the Berlin Wall fell in less time. If this were in your home, you’d throw it out. No apology offered since no one seems to care.
- Breakfast server whined about how she’s just one person. Maybe she needs help on weekends. Guests don’t want to hear this.
- A/C had to be set to 61 degrees to cool the room. Control on Wall doesn’t work, but control on A/C was working kind of. Why have an inoperative wall thermostat that confuses guests?
- No receipt under the door for either room upon day of departure. When asked why, no apology or explanation was offered.
- Finally, no recognition of Diamond HHonors status.

I never gripe about just one issue. But there were so many issues, be forewarned about management problems with this hotel.

I will not return. I’m told that a Hilton Garden Inn is under development on other side of Roanoke. Hope it is not the same management company.

Room Tip: Choose room in rear away from front that faces main roadway if you are sensitive to road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AisleSeat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at the Hampton Inn at the Hollins Exit of Rt 81 and very much enjoyed our stay. The rate was very affordable, the rooms were quite nice and the complimentary breakfast was great. Parking is very close and the hotel and staff exceeded all of our expectations. I would highly recommend staying at the location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank jsbailey1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Not exceptional. But not bad either. Had a good night's sleep. That is all that really matters, right? Breakfast was decent, but not as good as other Hilton members. All in all, it was worth the stop if you are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Nicholas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

It's a typical good Hampton, easy access, good location and super clean. Son loved the fresh baked cookies which were a nice touch. Breakfast was the typical Hampton Hotel breakfast and in general everything up to par. Staff was a bit unfriendly but they had some rude guests right before me. Shower was really nice and wifi worked great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ncjcbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Overall, a good place to stay. The usual Hampton Inn quality of items and amenities. The staff was not too professional or eager to help, some items in the room were less than the usual Hampton Inns quality, and the breakfast was a bit of a disappointment. Still, it was clean, safe, and had what we look for... a quality bed and amenities in our motel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Casey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Valley View
8.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81

Property: Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81
Address: 7922 Plantation Rd, Roanoke, VA 24019-1612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / i-81 Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing