We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best quality for the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge Civic Center
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond
1 review
“Best quality for the price!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

When shopping online, I was impressed by the highly competitive pricing this Econolodge offered. The owner and staff were very courteous and friendly. The room was clean and well kept. Everything smelled pleasant and everything worked. I can tell the new owner is working very hard to provide a positive experience for the guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhavik P, Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    104
    29
    8
    10
See reviews for
70
89
28
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Muscle Shoals, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hotel is an excellent bargain. Yes, it would be considered budget. But the relatively new managers are busting their behinds by renovating all rooms, among other things including tiled bathrooms with new toilets & great high-up shower heads; carpets cleaned; a/c units cleaned and freshened. And the quality of sleep was excellent. The room was fresh and clean, absolutely no sign of a previous smoker in this room. Our room 117 was around the corner from the street and we had no street noise whatsoever. The manager went out of his way to ensure everything in our room was up to our satisfaction. Again, it was not a $200/nite room, but for what you pay you will not be disappointed. We slept in, thru breakfast, but there are ample other restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southernnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. It is a great pleasure to hear that we could make your stay enjoyable.

Thank you for your kind word. We work very hard to keep the rooms clean and friendly. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed the customer service we strive to provide to each guest.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I stayed at this place because of reviews I read in this very column. I agree with the general consensus--a good value at a place run by caring people. At $50/night, I can't be too picky, but there were two glitches worth mentioning. The first is that my room must have been a "smoking" room way-back-when, because the residual tobacco odor was noticeable. There is no easy fix to this, and it didn't bother me. The other is that the bathtub bottom was quite slick, and I had to be very careful while taking a shower. (I have a mobility problem related to balance.) This one could probably be fixed by a rubber mat or some adhesive strips for a couple of bucks. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Paul,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

I am sorry that you smelled a tobacco smoke in your room. The management of the Econo Lodge Civic Center has changed Since April 2013. Your room was and is classified as non-smoking. I would not be able to comment on if previous management used that room as smoking in the past. We'll look into getting that room treated as non-smoking so there will not be any residue tobacco smell. Thank you for your suggestion about a mat in the bath. We are in the process of placing an order for the mats to install them in the room that do not have it.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The lodge is old but the room was clean. Bedding and towels all clean too. No horrid smell to room either. For the money this is a bargain. The road is very noisy but this is not the motels fault. Overall if you are on a budget then you cannot go wrong staying here. The lady at front desk was very helpful on check in too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us.

It is great for us to be on the main road which makes it easy for everyone to find us; however, the traffic noise is downside. We do have rooms away from the traffic that are very quiet. In addition, we are constantly working hard to improve the hotel. In last few months, we have replaced 10% of the old toilets with new dual flush toilets, 10% of the AC units, 20% of fridge and microwave. We have also installed curved shower bar in 100% of rooms. In addition we have also got our carpet cleaned by Stanley Steemers. In additional we have also cleaned all of the AC units in the room.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We wish you would give us a second chance to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vestal, New York
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My stay here was fine; the proprietor was pleasant and earnest and the motel is well located near downtown. Room was a little tattered but I could tell that updates had been made and I felt that it was appropriately priced. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjr0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. It is great to know that you were able to enjoy your stay with us.

As you noticed, we are constantly working hard to improve the hotel. In past several months, we have replaced 10% of the old toilets with new dual flush toilets, 10% of the AC units, 20% of fridge and microwave. We have also installed curved shower bar in 100% of rooms. In addition we have also got our carpet cleaned by Stanley Steemers. In additional we have also cleaned all of the AC units in the room.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We wish you would give us a second chance to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I stayed here mid-August and was very happy. The room was clean and smelled fresh. The service was friendly and most helpful to a weary traveler. You can tell the owners are hard-working and care about their property and customers. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annacorey8187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. It is a great pleasure to hear that we could make your stay enjoyable.

Thank you for your kind word. We work very hard to keep the rooms clean and friendly. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed the customer service we strive to provide to each guest.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This older tattered property while a good value is stuck with a very busy truck route in front and a front desk that only could speak the very barest of the english language. The room itself was serviceable and clean with no amenities or extras. If you are looking for a clean bargain and do not mind the noise this could be your place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradford7050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am sorry that we were not able to meet your expectation. It is great for us to be on the main road which makes it easy for everyone to find us; however, the traffic noise is downside. We do have rooms away from the traffic that are very quiet. In addition, we are constantly working hard to improve the hotel. In last few months, we have replaced 10% of the old toilets with new dual flush toilets, 10% of the AC units, 20% of fridge and microwave. We have also installed curved shower bar in 100% of rooms. In addition we have also got our carpet cleaned by Stanley Steemers. In additional we have also cleaned all of the AC units in the room.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We wish you would give us a second chance to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Valley View
1.9 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#6 of 40 in Roanoke
740 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Motel 6 Roanoke
Motel 6 Roanoke
#25 of 40 in Roanoke
257 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
#21 of 40 in Roanoke
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Civic Center

Property: Econo Lodge Civic Center
Address: 308 Orange Ave NE, Roanoke, VA 24016-1510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Roanoke
#10 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Civic Center 1.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Roanoke
Roanoke Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing