We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

We didn't have reservations for the night, but found one of those coupon books at the rest stop and saw this hotel was on our route. We have stayed in other Country Inn and Suites and have been very happy. so we called to see if there were rooms available at the discounted rate. The gal at the front desk that I spoke with on the phone was so nice and helpful. Once we arrived and checked in, she recommended a place to get dinner and was generally very sweet and pleasant. Rooms was clean, comfy, had a fridge and microwave. And don't forget the complimentary coffee and cookies in the lobby! We only stayed one night since we were traveling but would definitely stop there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    190
    74
    34
    15
See reviews for
285
161
33
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Staff was very nice however; I would not stay here again due to the odor throughout the property especially our room. There was a very distinct odor similar to that of gardenias and must/mildew. Whatever they use is not good for someone who suffers from allergies. Rather than sleeping, I spent my time feeling ill. Comforter was dirty and dusty so that of course did not help. Rooms could use updating. We did not stay for breakfast-couldn't stand the smell any longer.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shellsandseahorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Dora, Florida
Level Contributor
243 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Country Inn & Suites was the first stop for us on a trip across the country. It was absolutely exactly what we needed. It was very convenient to the Interstate. There was plenty of parking for our two vehicles and the utility trailer we were towing. The check-in was swift and professional. We received exactly the adjoining rooms we requested.

I liked the decor of the hotel. It was peaceful and pleasant. Our rooms were excellent with good beds, nice pillows and plenty of hot water. The internet connection was strong and fast.

The most outstanding thing about this very nice hotel was the buffet breakfast. We traveled for ten days on this trip, and the breakfast we had at the Country Inn was the best we had anywhere. I cannot make eggs as fluffy and delicious as those offered to us. Everything was hot and tasty and added significant value to an already reasonable hotel rate.

We only spent one night at this hotel so I cannot comment upon any of the other amenities offered by the hotel. Based on our experience I would expect them to be clean and well-ordered.

I would certainly stay in this hotel again, and would happily recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Busy-retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

I've stayed here a few times. The front desk staff are very plesant. Rooms are nice and comfortable. I happen to like the bath/shower shampoo and moisturizing sundries here the most although I bring my own soap because most hotel soaps leave a dry feeling on your skin. Nice Pool area and breakfast is also good. Very convienent off I-81 outside Roanoke.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Running on empty, needing a place in a hurry for a short stay. This hotel was comfortable and clean. The room was spare and the TV was old but for me, the hotel was a perfect, short term stop. When I left, early, before breakfast was available, the woman at the desk asked me if I wanted breakfast to go since I was leaving before the room was open. Wow. That was so kind, thoughtful and rare. I would stay here again under similar circumstances.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erika w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

...says it all about this hotel. Located just off I-81 it is a great location for thru travelers. The hot tub and pool were great after a long day's drive. Good restaurant nearby. Desk clerk was helpful and friendly...cookies were a tasty treat.

Yes, we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viaggiatori1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

The clerk was very nice and identified an excellent restaurant for dinner. The room was very clean and well furnished. The mattresses were very firm and would have been great for sleeping except for the bed covers. The bed coverings consisted of a single sheet and a heavy duvet (quilt). With the room temperature set to 68 degrees, sleeping under the quilt was too warm and sleeping without it was too cold. We found a light blanket the next morning but the night's sleep was not good.

Country Inn and Suites needs to put lighter blankets on their beds.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marqman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
6.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 40 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
5.6 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Address: 7860 Plantation Road, Roanoke, VA 24019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#5 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#11 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke Hotel Roanoke
Country Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing