We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay”
Review of Black Lantern Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roanoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Lantern Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Roanoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Like the other reviews on this site, my wife and I have very good things to stay. We were in Roanoke for a wedding, but the hotels that the bride and groom recommended were all booked by the time we tried to make reservations. What seemed like misfortune turned out to be good luck in disguise. Ron and Claire, the innkeepers, are warm and personable, genuine without being syrupy. We had the "Skyline" room, with a sitting area in the bedroom and a separate dining area for breakfast. We couldn't have been happier with the room. It was comfortable and relaxing. Breakfast was great both days of our stay. One point that we hadn't realized is that there are only a few, I think three, rooms in the B&B, making it feel cozier.

Room Tip: Choose the Skyline room, if possible.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Seth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2011

This is our third stay at Black Lantern and we continue to be impressed with the accommodations, the food and the personal attention we experience. We would not stay anywhere else. My husband, the engineer, cannot believe the level of detail taken in every room of this exquisitely decorated B&B. I, the cook, cannot believe the level of detail taken with the food! From the firsst class linens to the free wifi and flat panel TV, to the fresh warm cookies always found in your room, Claire and Ron make sure you are satisfied! We come to Roanoke from PA to visit family a couple of times a year and are now loking for excuses to visit more often. For a destination or a place to lie your head, this B&B gets 5 stars!! Wish they were closer!

Room Tip: We have stayed in two rooms and they are equally highly recommended. The third floor room has its o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Consiglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

My boyfriend and I were travelling from Tennessee to D.C. and decided to stop here in Roanoke for two nights. The Inn is immaculately clean and impressively decorated. The workmanship, as others have noted, is impressive. You can tell this was a labor of love.

But the service is what really makes this place stand out. Ron was such a wonderful host. His breakfasts are amazing, but he also made sure we didn’t want for anything. He even dropped us off downtown one night for dinner. We stayed in the Tiger Eye room and loved it. The bathroom is about 5 steps across the hallway but private. The hydrotherapy tub was amazing, but just taking a shower in that bathroom was just as nice. The bed was so comfortable that after not sleeping well in other towns we fell asleep again after breakfast the very first morning.

There was no one else at the Inn when we stayed, so privacy was not an issue for us. (No running into other vacationers in the hallway or during breakfast). However, if you want absolute privacy get the Skyline Suite. It comprises the entire top floor and has its own private dining room. Neither of us had ever been to Roanoke, so Ron suggested some great places to eat. (Table 50 is a must!) Ron also mentioned that a pool and hot tub are in the works for next year. Hopefully we can get back and enjoy those amenities as well! I cannot recommend this place highly enough. In fact, I’ve already told several friends about it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarheel7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Exceptional breakfast, beautiful rooms, and personable inn keepers - what's not to like! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Black Lantern Inn. I think my boyfriend may send me to take cooking lessons from Ron because, let's face it, Ron puts me to shame! Ha! We thought our rooms were fantastic and we had such fun visiting with Ron and Claire on the 2nd floor balcony/porch. Originally we had just made reservations for the first leg of our trip from NH to NC, but decided to stay at the BL Inn on our way home too because our stay was so enjoyable. Thanks Ron and Claire for being such a nice part of our vacation!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanK-NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

I have stayed in well over 100 B&B's in 17 different states. I can honestly say that the Black Lantern Inn is the finest of them all. You will notice the attention to detail immediately upon arrival. The immaculate house is the result of Ronnie's skill as a contractor. Perhaps his only finer skill is in the kitchen, as the breakfast's were SUPERB. Do NOT leave until you have his version of eggs benedict! Claire is the perfect compliment to Ronnie, and together they give you an experience of what "hospitality" is SUPPOSED to be like. We will stay at the Black Lantern each and every time we are in Roanoke, and you will be very glad if you do the same.

Rev. Doug Gestwick
Yorktown, VA

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gestwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Claire and Ron can not do more to make a visit to Roanoke any Better. This Inn is imacculate, the rooms are the most comfortable and breakfast was way too much and way too good. That said, I ate every bit. Our extended famliy had a great time at the Inn visiting in our rooms and in the living room area. Lots to do and see with the added benifit of bikes and Golf clubs for your use. Great bike path right by the Inn.

Room Tip: We liked the Skyline room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Black Lantern Inn in Roanoke is an incredibly beautiful and fully restored older home. Our first thought when we walked through it was "Can we just live here forever?" You cannot imagine how perfect the Inn is. They provide a variety of room choices, from a small apartment to single rooms. The rooms are pristine and luxurious from the linens to the the decor. The baths are completely refurbished and equipped with hydro-therapy tubs. There are several sitting porches from which to enjoy the beautiful yard, day or night. There is a comfortable music/sitting room to enjoy inside. The breakfast they provide is delicious. This inn is on a par with any 5-star hotel, but friendlier. We would recommend it to everyone and will continue to stay there on our trips to Roanoke.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
1.1 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#7 of 40 in Roanoke
756 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
6.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Lantern Inn

Address: 1526 Franklin Road SW, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roanoke
Price Range: £83 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Lantern Inn has charming and unique rooms with incredibly luxurious bedding, welcoming lounging areas, impeccable baths and great breakfasts.The hospitality and luxury amenities make a stay at our Inn an experience of warm ambiance found in distinctive bed and breakfast accommodations. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing