We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of King George Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roanoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
King George Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Roanoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 17 September 2011

The owners were very social. Upon our arrival there were no amenities. Our room had no TV and no cups and the patio was dirty. Also, there was only one little chair. It was not a welcoming or comfortable room. The breakfast was fine, but one little sausage for each person.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    25
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
29
124
9
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We had a family reunion in Roanoke and rented the whole B & B for 4 days. There were 9 adults and it did feel like our home. Jim and Lynn were gracious hosts helping us when needed yet we were comfortable to move around the whole house and use it like a home. We even threw a party for some Roanoke friends. They are very helpful ( even mailed a box home for me). The Inn has wonderful architectural elements for a charming home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanannselvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Gene and I hosted "The Wyss Family Golf Gathering" this year. All nine of us stayed at The King George Inn - a very beautiful, spacious place with a warm atmosphere. One evening we invited several of our Roanoke friends over to meet the Wyss family. The Inn is a great place to stay when passing through Roanoke or when living in a condominium warrants a larger place for guests. Thanks for accommodating us, Jim and Lynn! We had a great time!!!

Room Tip: Rooms are very large and have their own bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolynaw1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galloway, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Lynn and Jim are the most amazing hosts. Very gracious, friendly, outgoing, and accommodating. Our room was beautiful, comfortable and very private with our own bathroom. Everything was luxurious - the bed, the linens, even the soap. Fit for a King and Queen.
There were several large, comfortable common sitting areas in addition to an art gallery. Each room was created with love and an eye for detail. The Inn was was so clean it shined. Top of the line.
Jim and Lynn outdid themselves with the two gourmet breakfasts we had. Amazing. Using the best china and linens - we felt like royalty.
They were able to give us so much information about the area and suggested things for us to see and do. We took their suggestions and had an amazing time. Beyond First Class. Thank you Lynn and Jim...we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The owners, Jim and Lynn are the perfect hosts. They met us at the door with snacks and refreshments and welcomed us into their exquisite inn. What a great way to make us feel like extra special guests. After helping us with our bags, Lynn gave us a full tour of the inn. Every room was beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean, and warmly welcoming. Our room overlooked a darling garden and the bed was incredibly comfortable. Towels were fluffy and abundant and the bath amenities were top of the line.

The King George Inn is the perfect base to explore Blue Ridge Parkway and Lynn cheerfully provides lots of details about places to visit in the area, and activities and restaurants that are sure to please.

Lynn’s breakfast was delicious and filling. She really goes out of her way to prepare something special and fresh. Lynn serves her beautiful repast on vintage china, adding that special extra touch that you find everywhere at the King George Inn.

You can really tell Lynn and Jim have a passion for running a top rate B&B. They pay attention to all the small details that make their inn stand out from any other place we have stayed. They clearly love to welcome guests into their home and make strangers feel like family. Can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thejourneycontinues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Our experience at the King George Inn was terrific! Innkeepers, Jim and Lynn are open, generous, nice and sociable. Both share their great life experiences. They were there to please us! Beautiful old home, well kept and nicely decorated. We stayed in the King George Suite. It was hard to leave the super cozy, comfy, custom made king size bed! Breakfast was soooo tasty. Great way for us to do our day hike on the AT, to McAfees Knob. Very knowledgeable about local tips for history, art, food and more. Many great restaurants to try. The Inn is close to downtown that has lots of shops, galleries, nightlife, museums and more. We could not have chosen a better place!

Room Tip: Four suites. All attractive, very large. King George Suite, the most comfortable king size bed, view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

The King George Inn Bed and Breakfast in historic southwestern Roanoke, Virginia, combines the ideal hosts, lodging, food, restaurants, entertainment, location, and city in a single experience that is now easily assessable to anyone, worldwide, through connections at Washington DC's three airports, Amtrak's best performing Lynchburg Train (begun in October 2009), and the Smart Way Connector Bus from Lynchburg (begun July 19 of 2011).

Celebrating our 29th Wedding Anniversary, a few of our outstanding experiences were the nearby "Wildflower Restaurant (which doubles as a local art gallery), Local Roots Restaurant in Grandin Village (featuring local foods), walking and driving through historic Grandin Village, many homes 1900 - 1930), Sunday night concert (Grandin), Blue Ridge Parkway and reconstructed section of Mountain Railroad (about 3000 feet elevation), Farmer's Market, Smith Mountain Lake, a Roanoke Greenway (one mile away, a walking and cycyling path along the Roanoke River, which will eventually stretch for over 20 miles.

If we had not already visited them, we would have included the following on our itinerary: Virginia Transportation Museum, several local museums, many local parks.

Room Tip: Talk to the owners and view the pictures on line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrainManDan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 40 in Roanoke
741 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
6.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George Inn

Property: King George Inn
Address: 315 King George Ave SW, Roanoke, VA 24016-5212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly restored, 1900's Georgian Colonial. Four spacious suites with private baths and sitting room. Art Gallery and original art throughout mixed with vintage furniture and Persian rugs. The Inn is located in historic old Southwest with a perfect view of the Mill Mountain Star. Close to downtown, museums, restaurants, the Blue Ridge Parkway and the Appalachian Trail. A gourmet breakfast is served on your time schedule...come see us, we'll leave the star on for you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing