We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss the King George Inn”
Review of King George Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roanoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
King George Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Roanoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland Heights, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't miss the King George Inn”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Jim and Lynn great you at the King George Inn with a ready smile and generous friendship. If you enjoy the B&B experience, you'll find none better than the King George Inn. I've been traveling in the U.S., Europe and Asia for thirty years, and have found no better experience.

The house is amazing. Rich history, beautifully restored and furnished. The rooms comfortable and large. A group of us traveled to Roanoke to work with colleagues at Virginia Tech. We needed to get up early to head to work. Jim and Lynn were most flexible and gracious with our schedule. And the food...Well, you won't find a better breakfast at a B&B, I assure you.

My advice: It's worth a trip to Roanoke to stay here. The city has a lot to offer, and both Jim and Lynn are happy to guide you. They have created an exception travelers' experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    25
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
29
120
9
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upper Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2011

What a nice surprise to arrive at the King George Inn after a last minute reservation.
Some of the most spacious rooms we have ever encountered at a B&B/Inn were
well furnished and had extremely comfortable beds and linens. New bathrooms provided all the basics with a sense of upscale style. Lovely hosts and other guests
accounted for an enjoyable and social breakfast. And the food was great, too!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We had a restful night and a delicious breakfast in a beautiful house with gracious hosts. The house is artfully decorated and welcoming. The hosts made us feel right at home. We look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

My wife and I travelled to Roanoke from the UK via Washington DC to attend a concert at the Roanoke Civic Centre and we were 'blown away' by this superb Inn! From the warmest of welcomes to the luxurious cotton sheets this was an experience to cherish. Having stayed in some very nice 'chain' hotels on route the whole feel of this Inn was totally different. No tv in the bedrooms (it would have been WRONG to have them, they just wouldn't fit in with the decor) was actually a big plus - the whole place felt like you had stepped back in time and were the personal guest of a wealthy merchant/politician over a hundred years ago. The antiques and art where incredible.
On a practical note all facilities were clean and immaculately presented and the breakfast was a delight - way beyond the norm!
Congratulations Jim and Lynn - wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petevolvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Had the best experience. The king George inn was the most beautiful place I've ever stayed. I would recommend it to everyone. Spacious and inviting. The beds were very comfortable. The hosts have paid attention to every detail. Down to the custom bars of soap, which smelled amazing!!Great ambiance!! We will definitely return!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessicah9688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Stayed two nights and loved it. Well maintained house that has captured the old style and is very relaxing. Like the breakfast and owners ( very friendly couple) were helpful in recommending things to do.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demanding T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2011

my wife and i spent 4 days recently at the King George Inn in Roanoke and had a wonderful time. the Inn is beautiful, spacious and welcoming. the gourmet breakfast is excellent. the rooms are well appointed and tasteful. the private baths were one of my favorite draws. artwork was displayed throughout the home from the thriving roanoke art scene.(the lady of the house is an accomplished artist herself) i would highly recommend this b&b for a relaxing vacation. and i definitely will return!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
1.1 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 40 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Valley View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George Inn

Property: King George Inn
Address: 315 King George Ave SW, Roanoke, VA 24016-5212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly restored, 1900's Georgian Colonial. Four spacious suites with private baths and sitting room. Art Gallery and original art throughout mixed with vintage furniture and Persian rugs. The Inn is located in historic old Southwest with a perfect view of the Mill Mountain Star. Close to downtown, museums, restaurants, the Blue Ridge Parkway and the Appalachian Trail. A gourmet breakfast is served on your time schedule...come see us, we'll leave the star on for you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing