We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The King George Inn is a Roanoke favorite.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of King George Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roanoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
King George Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Roanoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The King George Inn is a Roanoke favorite.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

I live near Roanoke and so I am familiar with many of the local lodging options. Of course, I have a favorite. When the opportunity arises for a quick week-end get away to shop and enjoy the downtown Roanoke market place area, you can't beat the King George Inn for a perfect place to stay. Lynn & Jim totally spoil all of their guests. The house is a magnificant, well restored, historical Roanoke mansion. The location is perfect for enjoying the downtown area, and what a treat to come home to the KGI after enjoying one of the many downtown Roanoke festivals (presently the "Dickens of a Christmas" when I stayed with Lynn & Jim). 5 stars! A+! Bravo!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    25
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
119
9
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

I have so enjoyed my mutiple visits to this inn! I don't think the pictures capture just how beautiful and charming this place is! The house has been immaculately cared for over the years therefore many of the moldings, tiles and fireplace mantels are original and in rare form. The best part of this inn?....The dedicated and loving inn keepers-Jim & Lynn! WIthout them the King George Inn would not be the comfortable, welcoming, unique spot that it is. They have made this historic home a place where visitors want to be. A plus? Lynn is an artist and displays her pieces as well as others around the home, her culinary skills are artistic and yummy too. Jim is a gentlemen with an interesting past and warm character and he even carries up your suitcase! Both bring a uniqueness that makes you feel like your extended family! Oh, don't forget to take the short walk for dinner at WildFlour-I think one of the best spots in town!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaska16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kinggeorgeinn, Owner at King George Inn, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Thank you for the gracious review..and...for "better than a Pro" posted Photos...I enjoyed seeing them. Safe travels.
L&J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

Jim and Lynn are some of the nicest people I have ever met! They are gracious and hospitable. My husband and I visited for several nights for our 1 year anniversary and had a great time touring around Roanoke. They were very helpful with directions and fun things to do. The queen Charlotte room we stayed in was very nice. The bed was very comfortable! The food for breakfast was very good....it felt like your mom was cooking for you. Lynn gave us a tour of her kitchen since she knew we were foodies. Will definitely stay here again if we come back to Roanoke to visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

Lynn and Jim are the kind of people who if they lived in a tent in a field, would welcome you in and look after your every need. Fortunately for us travellers they live in a beautifully restored Victorian house in the historic district of Roanoke. Inside, the decor and furnishing are a tribute to their good taste and the walls are enlivened by paintings including some for sale by Lynn, who is an accomplished watercolour artist. Comfortable bed and cooked to order breakfast round off the experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank COUNCILLORJACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

From the phone call to book the room, through our stay (which we extended when we had seen the B&B) to our checking out, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were welcomed by Jim and Lynn and felt immediately comfortable with our avuncular hosts. The first impressions are most impressive - lots of space and beautifully furnished. We took their advice on where to eat dinner (Wildflour) nearby and that certainly 'hit the spot'. We enjoyed breakfast very much, sitting around one large table with our fellow guests and then joined by Lynn when she had finished cooking. Jim, too, was very helpful with his local knowledge.

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave4646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kinggeorgeinn, Owner at King George Inn, responded to this review, 10 November 2012
Thanks guys, for the lovely review and the awesome connection! Hope to see you again soon.

Best,
Lynn and Jim
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

We used to stay at the Roanoke Hotel. We found this wonderful B&B and felt like we were home.

This is a can't miss place to stay. Lynn & Jim will make you feel like family.

The breakfast are great and your close to everything downtown

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDavidMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kinggeorgeinn, Owner at King George Inn, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thank you so much for your gracious review...you are delightful guests.
Lynn and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

First trip to Roanoke and staying at King George Inn was a lovely experience, made all the better by the warm and friendly hospitality of Lynn and Jim. House beautifully furnished. A lovely place to stay and feel welcome and comfortable.

Room Tip: All looked great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
1.1 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 40 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George Inn

Property: King George Inn
Address: 315 King George Ave SW, Roanoke, VA 24016-5212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly restored, 1900's Georgian Colonial. Four spacious suites with private baths and sitting room. Art Gallery and original art throughout mixed with vintage furniture and Persian rugs. The Inn is located in historic old Southwest with a perfect view of the Mill Mountain Star. Close to downtown, museums, restaurants, the Blue Ridge Parkway and the Appalachian Trail. A gourmet breakfast is served on your time schedule...come see us, we'll leave the star on for you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing