We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, what a find”
Review of King George Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roanoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
King George Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Roanoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed to break up our journey and what a pleasant surprise ,rooms amazing and a warm welcome from Jim.Bed really comfy,a good nights sleep.Then in the morning an individual type breakfast,. Good conversation around the breakfast table,and hosts who hunted for us the best route south.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Macmollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

Lynn and Jim (nicknamed Prince George by my cousin) were wonderful, warm hosts in this beautiful, historic Inn.
I traveled from Pennsylvania to spend time with my cousin in Lynchburg. She had a houseful of temporary guests, so we planned a get away in Roanoke to have more time to catch up.
This was the perfect Inn to relax. It was centrally located and only a 1.1 mile walk to downtown Roanoke and the Center in the Square. Also a short drive to the Star and Roanoke Zoo.
We stayed in the Charolotte room. It was very spacious, clean and decorated nicely. The bed was very comfortable.
Jim gave us a recommendation of the Metro downtown to eat. Wonderful recommendation!
Lynn and Jim served a delicious breakfast in the morning consisting of a fruit compote, blueberry pancakes, sausage, fresh orange juice and coffee.
We highly recommend this Bed and Breakast!
Also if you ate in the area you should take a 15-20 minute drive to Valhalla Winery, for the wine tasting and the amazing view.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stopped here for but one night as we slowly drove up the Blue Ridge Parkway. It fit the mood perfectly. Here we have a quiet, gentle place that is the antithesis of our usual frenetic lives. The inn is on a quiet street in the older part of Roanoke. When entering the Inn you get the sense that you are steeping into a bygone era where life was so much more genteel. The decore made you feel like you were the guest of a most important person. Our room was the smallest of those available. It was still very large and pleasant. Our arrival was late in the afternoon but Jim and Lynn had us sit down for some tea after we settled into our room. We followed their advise and walked to a local restaurant for a delightful dinner and then slowly walked back to the King George for a wonderful night's sleep. Our breakfast the next morning was sumptuous and well paced. We hated to leave. It was too bad we only had one night to spend here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissBlueSkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Just enjoyed my second visit to this fine B&B and it was every bit as good as the first. The King George is everything you want in a family-owned inn - very clean, very comfortable, very welcoming and a very good value. It is also located in a quiet neighborhood within easy walking distance of downtown Roanoke which makes the property very convenient for travelers who prefer to put their vehicles away for the evening and enjoy the restaurants, live music and old town energy on foot.

All in all a great experience!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kinggeorgeinn, Owner at King George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you for your gracious review. Its the greatest form of compliment when we welcome back a returning guest. We'll watch for you in October. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We found this B & B on the internet because we wanted a nice place, reasonably price, close to I-81, about halfway between Knoxville and DC for our anniversary. We found online lots of beautiful pictures and decided to stay. We got in late, they kept the light on for us, and in the morning we had the best breakfast and conversation. We don't often stay at B & Bs, (we have small children ) but we will certainly stay here again. Just like the other reviews, you will find Jim and Lynn wonderful hosts, and very kind. We haven't had an experience like this in 15 years.

Room Tip: We stayed in the King George Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kinggeorgeinn, Owner at King George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thank you for your warm and generous review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated this wonderful, vintage home. The sparkling conversation around the breakfast table was in keeping with all the anniversary celebrations and special occasions. We were all blessed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Lynn and Jim were very welcoming and created a relaxed, warm atmosphere. We had a nice walk through the Roanoke historic district to a local restaurant with delicious food, from an extensive menu. The Inn was extremely clean. Our room had a large, comfortable bed. Breakfast was plentiful and very good. Our only regret is that we only had one night!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

As this was our first experience, we loved it. The home, the rooms, all beautiful and charming.
Enjoyed meeting the other guests and Jim and Lynn made it a welcoming experience. The local
eateries and sights made for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
1.1 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#7 of 40 in Roanoke
756 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George Inn

Address: 315 King George Ave SW, Roanoke, VA 24016-5212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roanoke
Price Range: £91 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly restored, 1900's Georgian Colonial. Four spacious suites with private baths and sitting room. Art Gallery and original art throughout mixed with vintage furniture and Persian rugs. The Inn is located in historic old Southwest with a perfect view of the Mill Mountain Star. Close to downtown, museums, restaurants, the Blue Ridge Parkway and the Appalachian Trail. A gourmet breakfast is served on your time schedule...come see us, we'll leave the star on for you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing