We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Elegance”
Review of King George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King George Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Roanoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

King George B&B is richly appointed and full of southern charm. Jim and Lynn were warm and welcoming. We sat in their living room and had a delightful chat when I arrived. The Queen Victoria room was elegant and the bed was the best hotel bed I've had outside a Westin! Breakfast was a fruit cup, juice, good coffee, followed by a Florentine Omelette with asparagus and potatoes. The Inn was easily accessible from the highway and there was a good restaurant within walking distance for my evening meal. A great find in Roanoke.

Room Tip: If you prefer a step in shower, ask about it before you book. High, claw foot tubs could be difficul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

We spent Father's Day weekend this year in Roanoke, spending 3 days and 2 nights at the King George Inn. The Inn is a beautiful and spacious home and the Innkeepers are personable and very knowledgeable of the Roanoke area. Our room was large and very comfortable. Breakfast each morning was served in the elegant dining room and was delicious! It was really fun to interact with the other guests and the innkeeper, sharing stories and experiences. The Inn is centrally located to a lot of interesting places, some historic and some just fun. We enjoyed visiting Black Dog Salvage, the farmer's market in downtown Roanoke on Saturday morning, as well as wine tasting at Amrhein Wine Cellars and Chateau Morrisette, AND a trip to Floyd to check out the Artisan Trail. We also visited the historic Star on the mountain on both evenings. We had the perfect weekend of relaxation and fun. Definitely a two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank howlin12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

An impressive home when we drove up. Our room was comfortable but could could have used another chair. While we do not like a cold room, the A/C had a hard time keeping up until late in the evening. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wmh46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kinggeorgeinn, Owner at King George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for your review and critique. We have added a matching chair in the Queen Charlotte Room, however, most people enjoy sitting in the spacious library area that ajoins the bedrooms. A simple touch of the remote can adjust the temperature of the a/c.
We do appreciate your taking the time to add a review to Trip Advisor.

Sincerely, Lynn and Jim Hunt, Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was our first trip to Roanoke, VA but Lynn and Jim helped us to explore the area like locals. We spent 4 days and 3 nights at the King George Inn and found the home to be elegant but still cozy and comfortable. After an amazing breakfast each morning (every day something new) we headed out for a full day of activities around Roanoke which were all conveniently close to the King George. We enjoyed being able to walk downtown for dinner as well as ride our bikes strait from the Inn to pick up the Greenway. The hiking in the area is fantastic of course with both the Blue Ridge Parkway and Appalachian Trail nearby but the mountain biking is also great with multiple options for riders including Mill Mountain and Carvins Cove. We wore ourselves out pretty good each day and slept well at the Inn. This was simply the perfect balance of active exploration and creature comforts that we were looking for.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nemo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

You get personal attention and lovely accommodations at the King George. The innkeepers are knowledgeable about Roanoke and the surrounding area and are flexible about serving breakfast if you need to be up and out early. Our family celebration in Roanoke was greatly enhanced by our stay at the King George -infinitely preferable to a hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fecz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Lynn and Jim made our stay terrific. They are warm and friendly and a fountain of information. It is a total labor of love they put into the B&B -- and their guests are the recipients. If you want an amazing B&B experience this is the place!

Room Tip: All great rooms with lots of history
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

King George Inn was planned as a two day stop over in Roanoke during our East Coast Spring trip. Room was very nice and clean although no one knew how to use the recently installed heat pump system (it was 55 outside). Fortunately we really didn’t need it but I hope they figure it out before the summer A/C season. Breakfast was excellent as were the hosts (Jim & Lynn) with wonderful suggestions on attractions and dinner recommendations.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BPTTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kinggeorgeinn, Owner at King George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for you review of the Inn, as well as the local attractions. There is much to see and do here in Roanoke.. We are indeed, now familiar with our newly installed LG (life's good) heating and cooling units, the latest in heating and cooling technology in this 100 year old manor house keeps us cool in the summer and toastie in the winter.

Happy travels!
Lynn and Jim Hunt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
1.1 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#8 of 40 in Roanoke
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Shirley's Bed and Breakfast
6.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Roanoke, VA
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George Inn

Address: 315 King George Ave SW, Roanoke, VA 24016-5212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roanoke
Price Range: £110 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly restored, 1900's Georgian Colonial. Four spacious suites with private baths and sitting room. Art Gallery and original art throughout mixed with vintage furniture and Persian rugs. The Inn is located in historic old Southwest with a perfect view of the Mill Mountain Star. Close to downtown, museums, restaurants, the Blue Ridge Parkway and the Appalachian Trail. A gourmet breakfast is served on your time schedule...come see us, we'll leave the star on for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your King George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing