We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Atmosphere”
Review of King George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King George Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Roanoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2010

This is a wonderful place to visit. Owned and operated by Jim and Lynn Hunt, this bed and breakfast is a restored 1900's colonial mansion, that has been restored and beautifully furnished. It is warm and inviting, and Lynn prepares a breakfast fit for King George himself. Truly five star. Whenever we are in the Roanoke area, this will be our first choice.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnMcNulty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2010

We had a tremendous time staying at the King George Inn for our anniversary. Jim and Lynn know how to provide the ultimate B&B experience. The Inn is fabulous ! The food was very good, and included wine and appetizers in the afternoon.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank majnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Jim and Lynn were wonderful hosts, with a hearty breakfast in the morning and wine and cheese in the evening. The house is gorgeous and it's obvious they put a lot of care and planning into starting their business .Best of luck in the future and we'll be sure to recommend this to others who plan to visit Roanoke.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCandNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Had a great stay at the 'George'. Got there late and Lynn cooked a lovely supper for us. The house is beautiful. All new decorations and very stylish, period furniture. Very big room and comfortable bed. Great breakfast, served family style so we met an entertaining group of people who added value to the whole experience. And very handy for the Parkway, as long as you come off at the right exit which we didn't and got lost! But that was entirely our fault. Go for it!

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank kettlehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

From the greetings to the good-byes, Jim and Lynn treated us as honored guests and new friends, not as anonymous customers.
The home is beautiful, the rooms large and cozy. We (a group of artists and scholars from the U.S. and the U.K. ) were fed well, entertained, accommodated. The only negative was the slight guilt for the other colleagues NOT staying at the King George.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at the King George Inn on 10/9 on our way home from Atlanta. The property looks beautiful on the website but is even more impressive in person. The location is a terrific, quiet neighborhood. The interior of the Inn has received an exceptional renovation and is impressive in every way only outdone by the outstanding hospitality of the owners, Lynn and Jim. They met us with wine, cheese and grapes when we got there and talked with us for a bit before we walked the four blocks to Wildflour, an outstanding restaurant down the street. Our room was terrific with a wonderful bathroom complete with a great shower! I'd highly recommend the King George Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Convexity1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I stayed at the King George while passing through on a move from Oklahoma City. I had to book the room relatively late, but the owners were available and helpful to reserve a space for me. The neighborhood was safe and easy to find, and the inn was truly delightful! The room was immaculate with the right amount of colonial decor to add a touch of class without seeming cluttered. I had one of the best night's sleep and awoke to a delicious breakfast frittata and fresh orange juice. The owners - Jim and Lynn were very friendly and helpful - thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roanoke
1.1 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#8 of 40 in Roanoke
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Shirley's Bed and Breakfast
Shirley's Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 12 in Roanoke Island
17 reviews
6.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Roanoke, VA
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George Inn

Address: 315 King George Ave SW, Roanoke, VA 24016-5212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Roanoke
Price Range: £108 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly restored, 1900's Georgian Colonial. Four spacious suites with private baths and sitting room. Art Gallery and original art throughout mixed with vintage furniture and Persian rugs. The Inn is located in historic old Southwest with a perfect view of the Mill Mountain Star. Close to downtown, museums, restaurants, the Blue Ridge Parkway and the Appalachian Trail. A gourmet breakfast is served on your time schedule...come see us, we'll leave the star on for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your King George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing