We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place if you need to settle in for a couple of days.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MainStay Suites Airport
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place if you need to settle in for a couple of days.”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My family (4 adults) stayed here while we were on vacation. We split room 401 which was perfect for our needs. It had 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms with a common kitchen and tv space so that both couples could have our privacy at night and getting ready in the morning while still sharing a common space. The pull love seat in the common area may have been one of the most uncomfortable pieces of furniture that I have ever sat on which I attribute to the fact that it was just a tired old pull-out couch. The ventilation was a little weird for one of the bedroom because the AC unit was in the common room and they had a fan in the top of the wall in the bedroom to blow cold air into the room which made it a little stuffy for the couple that was sleeping in that room, but we managed.
Hotel staff was incredibly friendly and made us feel very welcome during our 4 nights there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KHtraveler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
I'm pleased you enjoyed your visit and liked the 2-bed room suite for your stay. It does work out well for larger families or couples traveling together. The pull-out sofa does need some work. Better yet, it needs replaced. I'll get right on that as it is quite uncomfortable.
I hope you will visit us again and I would be happy to help with any future reservations. Feel free to contact me at cia@rbnet.com or 540-992-4077.
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    44
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
69
33
6
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Great stay. Hotel has been totally updated. Food was good. Bed was comfortable. Very clean. Kitchen was very handy to have.Near the mall and restaurants. Will stay here again when in the area. Good value.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank mamct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thanks for your review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the full kitchen to be helpful. We have a great location being at the largest shopping mall complex in this part of the state. There are plenty of things to do nearby for food, shopping, and relaxation.
I hope you will visit us again soon. Please let me know if I can assist with future reservations. Contact me at cia@rbnet.com or 540-992-4077.
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Convenient.
Close to many things that you need while in the road. Lots of food, mall, and freeway access. Right across from the airport WITH a shuttle.

Rooms have all you need. Plenty of room with the two room set up with kitchenette.

Caution though...only 1 computer for use. NO business center. That's kind of behind the times, but the wifi worked pretty well.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MatthewBlase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thanks for your review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be ideal. We are right in the middle of it all, yet quiet enough for a good night's rest.
I'm sorry if only having one lobby computer for guest use caused you an inconvenience. We actually find the lobby computer isn't used as much as it was in the past because most people have their internet device in their pocket.
I hope you will visit us again and if you need any assistance with reservations or have any questions, please contact me at 540-992-4077 or cia@rbnet.com
Thanks!
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed here this past week and were very impressed. The suite was roomy and very comfortable. The staff was, without exception, courteous and helpful. The breakfast, while the same each day, was very good, with the only exception being that the toaster springs were shot, and would not stay down on their own. Their little store does not stock much beyond soft drinks, ice cream, and the like, and all items are expensive...better to buy at the Walmart down the street.

I'd highly recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thanks so much for your review.
I'm pleased your stay was enjoyable and I will pass along the nice comments to the staff.
I will replace the toaster in the breakfast area so it will work properly. I'm sorry you had that trouble.
We are also in the process of adding additional cabinets and shelving in the convenience store area so we can enlarge our selection. I would be interested to hear in you have any suggestions. Please contact me at 540-992-4077 or cia@rbnet.com.
We look forward to seeing you again,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We have visited this hotel numerous times and been very satisfied overall. The only problem is the sofa bed in the living room is much too low for comfortable seating - even for short people!
We realize this furniture is also used by some guests for sleeping, but even that use seems a little too close to the floor. For our use, we are limited to the one chair or the chairs at the dining area for sitting or watching TV.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmva342, General Manager at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thanks for your review. In the future when you visit, please contact me and I will see there is an additional chair in your room for your relaxation. I am sorry the sofas are not to your liking, but I believe I can help with this additional chair.
Please let me know in advance of your arrival or contact me directly at gm.va342@choicehotels.com or 540-527-3030 and I will be happy to assit with reservations.
Sincerely,
Ed Wray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hokkaido, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
951 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Satisfaction
Breakfast was very good!
Access from the airport also may
Momentum of the water in the shower is good!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gumchop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmva342, General Manager at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thanks for your kind words. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. If I can help with future reservations, please contact me at gm.va342@choicehotels.com or 540-527-3030. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sincerely,
Ed Wray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earth
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Our room was very spacious and comfortable.There was also an equipped kitchen, but we didn't use it.
Room was very well lighted, so was the bathroom - not common in hotels.
The room was clean and quiet.

The problems:
The bottom inner part of bathroom's door was dirty.

At breakfast there was a small selection of items.
There was no fruit salad, no walnuts, no raisins, no cranberries.
There were only packs of 2 bread slices. I wanted 1 slice of plain bread and I do not throw away food. So having no choice, I ate a plain bagel.
They have a coffee machine that prepares a so called Cappuccino. They have never tasted the real thing if they call that strange liquid Cappuccino.
The garbage can's lid was very dirty and the only way to use it was to touch it, no open comfortable can.

Their Wi-Fi is very weak, slow and there are frequent cutoffs. Very uncomfortable.

The elevator is terribly slow. Not because there are many guests, the hotel was almost empty. It takes the elevator's door forever to close and to open.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllKnowMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thanks so much for your review.
I am sorry we missed out of exceeding your expectations at the MainStay Suites Airport. Although your room seemed to be fine except for the bottom of the bathroom door, it appears we have improvement to do on our breakfast bar.
I will take all of your comments into consideration and talk with the breakfast staff and get things cleaned up and a better selection. Thanks so much for bringing your concerns to my attention.
I hope in the future you will allow us the opportunity to serve your lodging needs.
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Valley View
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#9 of 40 in Roanoke
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
4.0 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 40 in Roanoke
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Airport

Property: MainStay Suites Airport
Address: 5080 Valley View Blvd NW, Roanoke, VA 24012-2038
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#9 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#10 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home and stay longer for less at the pet-friendly MainStay Suites® Roanoke Airport in Roanoke, VA. We are conveniently located off of Interstates 81 and 581, less than two miles from the Roanoke Regional Airport and the Valley View Mall and close to the following popular attractions: Blue Ridge Parkway Dixie Caverns and Pottery Shop Mill Mountain Zoo Lewis-Gale Medical Center Field ballpark Spend time exploring the area, which offers a wide range of outdoor recreational activities like golfing, hiking, horseback riding, boating, fishing and swimming. A variety of restaurants, cocktail lounges and specialty shops are within walking distance. Our spacious suites will make your time with us enjoyable whether you’re here for days, weeks or even months. Each residential-style guest room includes fully-equipped kitchen facilities, sofa sleepers, flat-screen television, hair dryer and iron. Additional complimentary offerings include: Free continental breakfast Free premium cable television with movie channels Free airport transportation Free high-speed Internet access Corporate travelers will appreciate our on-site business center, public computer, access to copy and fax services and meeting facilities. Start or finish the day with a workout in our exercise room and spend time relaxing by practicing your swing on our on-site putting green. Our extended stay hotel has ample free parking that can accommodate most vehicles and features laundry facilities on the property that are available for use at your convenience. Book your stay today at the MainStay Suites in Roanoke, VA and enjoy all of the luxuries of home for as long as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your MainStay Suites Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Airport Hotel Roanoke
Mainstay Roanoke
Mainstay Suites Roanoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing