We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for a quick trip to Roanoke”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colony House Motor Lodge
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value for a quick trip to Roanoke”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We made a last-minute decision to go to Roanoke for the weekend and wanted to economize a little. The Colony House Motor Lodge is definitely a terrific value. Our room was very comfortable and having a refrigerator was very useful. The only negative thing we have to say is the TV. It's an old tube style with a really grainy picture. The wifi is red hot, which was nice because we had to update our GPS unit in the room the second night. The location is super, it's very close to a lot of nice restaurants and shopping. You can even walk to the Waffle House next door!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
I'm happy to hear you found us to be a terrific value, Donna. From our comfortable beds to the convenient refrigerator, it's simply fantastic that you had such a lovely stay. When it comes to our televisions, I do apologize that we don't offer guests the latest and greatest. To provide high definition TV's in each room, it would require renting a box for each TV and an expensive cable package upgrade. At the price involved, we aren't convinced the value added is worth the impact on our price/value. We are monitoring our guests' opinion on the subject and appreciate your input. We've been family owned for 50+ years and are proud to offer guests a low-key, no frills environment. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your support and hopefully you'll choose us next time you're in town. Our door's always open.

Kind regards,
Charles, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    41
    23
    16
    6
See reviews for
26
35
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stan and I were on our way to Nashville to see or Son. We planned to cut our trip in half front PA, so we decided on Roanoke . The Colony was a pleasure right from the start. The check in was very,very pleasant including the warm, fresh from the oven cookies !!!. The Staff at check in was fabulous. Our room 409 was very,very spacious, fridge,micro and in room coffee pot. Clean, cool and very comfortable. Good size table and chairs as well as very good WiFi. We were a quick 20 min drive in traffic to Market St. Which had every restaurant for every price point. The Vendor operations is very organized and everything is available,also for every price point. this is a must stop on our list. 5 star it's not. But it's not the kind of place you put stars on. It's a must . For value and comfort.

Room Tip: We had 409.. By the pool. Also there is a breakfast 6 am - 11.. Think days Inn or Red Roof Premium...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spider991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
If you're happy, I'm happy. Thank you for taking the time to spread the good word about us here on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted to hear you found your room very spacious and our location absolutely great. Next time you're in Roanoke, please keep us in mind! You're always welcome.

Take care,
Charles, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I drove 10 miles out of my way just to stay here it was great I had a friendly greeting at the front desk got a clean room I pick this hotel for it age I love old hotels they have character makes greats memory's

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dowdlec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Your support sure does mean a lot! I'm beyond honored that you drove an extra 10 miles in order to stay with us. What a heartwarming compliment! My sincerest thank you for taking the time to spread the good word about our Lodge here on TripAdvisor, and I sincerely hope you'll stay with us again soon. Our door's always open!

Take care,
Charles, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The motel was comfortable and the room clean, friendly reception. We could park right outside the room, only here for one night but found nothing to complain about which is good. the breakfasrt was good, we would stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank witcheshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hearing this glowing feedback is more rewarding than you know. Thank you for taking the time to spread the good word about us here on TripAdvisor. Next time you're in Roanoke, please keep us in mind! You've always got a home away from home at our lodge.

Take care,
Charles, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
140 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We rode to Roanoke on a motorcycle.. did some time at the pool, then decided to call a cab to go in to town. We had a nice Thai dinner in town, and a few drinks. Walked around town and called the cab to go back to the hotel. The Hotel was clean. Got up in the morning and discovered I didn't have my wallet. Called City cab, the driver had it & brought it right to out hotel!!! Kudos to City Cab in Roanoke

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Joanne, it sounds like you had a successful trip to Roanoke -- glad we could be a part of it! Come back and see us sometime.

Take care,
Charles, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were on our motorcycles and we like to have a room were we can park outside our door and this was perfect. We had a king on the back side of the hotel which we really liked. It was very quite and we did borrow a couple of chairs to sit outside and unwind. The room was clean and comfortable, shower wasn't great but it did the job. They do have a washer and dryer.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Missmymts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hearing this glowing feedback is more rewarding than you know. My sincerest thank you for taking the time to spread the good word about us here on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure having you at our Lodge and I sincerely hope you'll keep us in mind next time you're in Roanoke. Our door and our motorcycle spots are always open!

Take care,
Charles, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
233 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The colony house is my kind of place. I can park right in front of my room, which makes loading and unloading the motorcycle easy!

The rooms are large, clean and comfortable.

The pool is nice.
And Downtown Roanoke is a $10.00 cab ride away.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front of the motel get the late day sun and sitting out if front can be very HOT. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cog62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Comments like these just make my day! My sincerest thank you for taking the time to share your support here on Tripadvisor. I'm happy you enjoyed a great stay and appreciated how easy it was to load and unload your motorcycle. After all, that's one of our goals! Next time you're in Roanoke, I hope you'll keep us in mind. Our door's always open!

Take care,
Charles, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
#24 of 40 in Roanoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 40 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
5.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Valley View
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony House Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony House Motor Lodge

Property: Colony House Motor Lodge
Address: 3560 Franklin Rd SW, Roanoke, VA 24014-2202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Colony House Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colony House Motor Lodge is South Roanoke's guest bedroom. A quaint step back in time with modern conveniences, Colony House Motor Lodge is situated in beautiful and fashionable South Roanoke. Located 2 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway near the junction of Route 220 and I-581 on Franklin Road, we are conveniently near and accessible to the many Roanoke Valley attractions and facilities. Family owned with family pride since 1957, our dedicated and friendly staff looks forward to welcoming you.Our goal is to provide a quality experience at an affordable price. Toward this goal our amenities include a free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, exercise room, guest laundry, business center and an outdoor pool in season. Additionally each room has a coffee maker, small refrigerator, microwave, and two bathroom sinks in most. For those needing more room or a kitchen, we have two spacious suites. Weekly stays are also available, making Colony House a great option for business travelers. Adjoining large and small conferences rooms suitable for meetings or exhibitions are available separately or together at a reasonable price. To assist with catering, a prep area is adjacent to the large conference room. Each conference room has its own private bathroom. Carilion Memorial, Carilion Community, and Lewis Gale hospitals are just minutes away, and we proudly provide a discount for inpatients' families. Other nearby destinations include Mill Mountain Zoo, Virginia Museum of Transportation, The Taubman Museum of Art, Roanoke Civic Center, Center in the Square, Roanoke Farmer's Market and The Jefferson Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Colony House Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony House Motor Hotel Roanoke
Colony Hotel Roanoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing