We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed what I saw”

Virginia Museum of Transportation
Ranked #2 of 69 things to do in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Antique automobiles and trucks, electric and deisel locomotives, and vintage steam, are all part of the nostalgic show at this historic freight station that doubles as a museum .
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed what I saw”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We only got to see the ground floor as we were there at a family function and there were just too many people to see! But the children of the group had the best time and we particularly enjoyed the old cars

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WestleyFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    164
    41
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Train Nut's Paradise”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Being a train nut, I have to go see all train related museums whenever I go somewhere. This museum not only encompasses a vast variety of trains, but covers bus and plane and ship sections also. They did not have any trains to ride that day as they do not do that but on special planned days, but all in all the museum is an excellent learning and fun experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank spockva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellmawr, New Jersey
Level Contributor
137 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Planes, Trains, and Automobiles”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The Virginia Museum of Transportation is located downtown Roanoke VA. The museum is house in a 1918 vintage N&W freight station. Inside is divided into 3 sections One for Air transportation, One for model trains and other for Autos. outside you have many Railroad engines and freight cars. Also you might get lucky and catch a N&S train pass by the tracks that run along to back of the museum. Also you can buy a joint ticket to The O. Winston Link Museum to save a few dollars.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenny21NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bpmtsmith@aol.com
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A waste of time and money!”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband and I took our 8-year old grandsons to this museum thinking they would enjoy seeing the trains. Since my husband's father worked for a railroad, he was looking forward to seeing the museum. Well, seeing the parked trains was all he could do! None of the trains were open to view. There was an engine display inside that the children could touch but that was it for real trains. The museum has a toy train track but it was not impressive. There are some old cars inside but , again, you need extra good eyesight to see them. One open exhibit was a partial airplane that smelled so musty and moldy, I didn't want them to go inside. We paid $27.00 for an attraction that should not have cost $5.00!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank virginiasmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Kids had a good time”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We took a 5.5 year old and and 8 year old, both girls. They enjoyed climbing in and out of the trains and buses, and otherwise had a good time. A fun way to kill an hour or two in Roanoke.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank danielbeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Virginia Museum of Transportation also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Museum of Transportation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing