We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experiences”

Virginia Museum of Transportation
Ranked #2 of 68 things to do in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Antique automobiles and trucks, electric and deisel locomotives, and vintage steam, are all part of the nostalgic show at this historic freight station that doubles as a museum .
Sebring, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great experiences”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We visited the Transportation Museum in October this past year based on a friend's recommendation. What a pleasant surprise!! This Museum featured railroad rolling stock including passenger cars, many diesel engines and particularly the N&W famous steam engine. Having been a conductor on the B&O RR I was most impressed and pleased with the displays. My wife was overjoyed in that this became a hands-on learning experience featuring equipment she had only seen in passing or had previously read about. The museum has other display including antique cars, airplanes, model of a complete circus, along with folks of experience to tell the story and respond to inquiries. What a great presentation which deserves our attention.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    173
    44
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Especially nice for train lovers”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The Virginia Museum of Transportation does a wonderful job with historic preservation of train memorabilia. They have something for young and old alike. It is also a nice venue for a party.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Clean7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unusual museum”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

All modes of transportation are present here, massive trains including the streamline # 611 steam and the rugged freight stem engine # 1218. Well maintained and worth your time. combination ticket with O. Link museum also.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 370DAVIDD370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed what I saw”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We only got to see the ground floor as we were there at a family function and there were just too many people to see! But the children of the group had the best time and we particularly enjoyed the old cars

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WestleyFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Train Nut's Paradise”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Being a train nut, I have to go see all train related museums whenever I go somewhere. This museum not only encompasses a vast variety of trains, but covers bus and plane and ship sections also. They did not have any trains to ride that day as they do not do that but on special planned days, but all in all the museum is an excellent learning and fun experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank spockva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Virginia Museum of Transportation also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Museum of Transportation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing