We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not enjoyed by all ages”

O. Winston Link Museum
Ranked #4 of 68 things to do in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Roanoke
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice, but not enjoyed by all ages”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

It was nice, but only takes 30 minutes to view. The out of town and younger folks found it less interesting.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarkA40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    56
    12
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“best”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Of many fun and interesting things to do, this would be towards the top of my list after all the good places to eat, drink and be merry in Roanoke. We had family, aged 11-81, and pretty much every one enjoyed the museum of O Winston Link.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this mini museum”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

It's tiny but packed with stuff. You can skim over the surface or let yourself get totally pulled back through time - the choice is yours

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank WestleyFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting photos of all things to do with the railroad”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Loved the ease with which I could get the wheelchair round. Except when we got to the inevitable shop at the end of the tour…it was quite a job to negotiate the various stands and displays.

I really enjoyed the photos and objects - well laid out I thought. Very evocative of the 19th & 20th centuries

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WestleyFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellmawr, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Railroad Photography”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The O. Winston Link Museum is located downtown Roanoke VA. It is house in the former Passenger railroad station. The photos were great. all great black and white photographs. If you are a Railroad or Photography buff This is a great stop. Also if you visit the Virginia Museum of Transportation you can buy a joint ticket for both.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kenny21NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to O. Winston Link Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing