We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service With Indifference” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Rodeo

El Rodeo
Ranked #60 of 466 Restaurants in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
317 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Service With Indifference”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Located off I-81 in Roanoke, El Rodeo, at face value, looks like a very nice place. The style and decor of the restaurant is very attractive and inviting. However, when you enter the restaurant, your met with a non-welcome and "follow me".
The server wasn't any friendlier, "what would you like?" The menu has lots of options, so it took awhile took make a decision. The good news is that as soon as we ordered, a plate was coming to the table. That's typically a flag that the food isn't fresh, however I couldn't say that. I ordered the Malanaise Pollo. Although the chicken was overcooked, the dish was tasty. The lettuce, tomato and avocado were very crisp.
As we left, we paid at the door, and was greeted with nothing more than "$22.93". Too bad the staff is so indifferent; the food is OK and can be a good place to eat. As a weary traveler, I wouldn't go back

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mayoplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    51
    15
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good Food, Reasonable Prices, Good Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stopped at El Rodeo for dinner during our vacation. We both had a combination plate of tacos and enchiladas, along with the rice and refried beans, that were very tasty. The food was not hot and spicy, but the spiciness was subtle enough to give the food a good flavor without burning your mouth. For the more adventurous, there was plenty of hot sauces on the side that could be added to taste. The restaurant was very clean and the wait staff was courteous and attentive. The prices were also very reasonable for the quality of the food. We would not hesitate to dine here again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZeroTTZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fajitas”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Fajitas weren't the best I've had but were tasty. I can't effectively compare with others in the area since this is the only restaurant we tried. The service was typical and the staff was cordial.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendon, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Reasonable, Clean, Friendly and Excellent Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

This was a great find that was just a short walk from our hotel (Hampton Inn Roanoke/Trussville). Very reasonably prices with very good food. Taco chips and salsa while you peruse the menu and enjoy your drinks. A nice selection of Mexican favorites as well as several steak and chicken options that aren't your standard burrito / enchilada type dinner. We were very impressed and enjoyed it very much!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bev1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great restaurant for relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

This restaurant was right next door to our Hampton Inn. We could easily walk there. It had a romantic atmosphere, great service, food was excellent and price was right. Highly recommend.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Rodeo also viewed

 

Been to El Rodeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing