We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel with Spacious Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Sugar Land Texas
Level Contributor
264 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with Spacious Rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed there recently on a family trip. The rooms were very large and the beds were very good. We had breakfast at the Hotel and the buffet was outstanding with freshly prepared eggs to order. There is a walkway and escalator which makes getting downtown very convenient. This is a historic hotel that has recently been upgraded. Of course, the finishing touch is a Hokie Bird statue on the grounds. For we VT alums, that was the final selling point.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank slhokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Dear slhokie, thank you for choosing The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center and for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed breakfast in The Regency Room. We take great pride in our partnership with Virginia Tech and celebrate it every way we can! Come back and visit soon. Safe Travels, Gary Walton, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,496
    594
    160
    72
    29
See reviews for
479
759
80
777
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

Front desk personnel were most helpful and friendly.
Hotel room fairly priced for quality received. Clean, well furnished hotel room with flat screen tv and all the amenities expected at quality property.
Pine Room Pub a must for end of day.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Castleroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Dear Castleroom, thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your kind words and glad you made a trip the the Pine Room Pub. We take great pride in our historic hotel and hope you can come back again soon! Sincerely, Gary Walton, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheeling
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

Took a number of calls to get coffee pods in room. Everything is extra, $15 a day fridge, $7 a day parking, $9 a day internet. In room Ethernet was broken. Lobby wifi is slow. Swimming pool is smaller than a apartment swimming pool. You are better off going downtown for meals. The hotel food is overpriced and nothing special. Don't expect to be wowed by the $33 aged steak, I've had better. It's more on par with a good cut you get at your local butcher. The AC is annoyingly loud and hard to use. The shower changes temperature. The artwork of white rich people and the black slave is tacky. The pub is friendly. The hotel has a nice location downtown. In all the hotel thinks it's better than it is. Also the TV controls are horrid. There is no channel guide and you have to go through menus just to see the channel list.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jameskav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 31 May 2011
Dear Jameskav,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay. I am very disappointed to learn that we did not meet your...nor our expectations. We are committed to continuous improvement within our operation and we will use your comments to refocus our training and work to eliminate the shortfalls encountered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

Traveling for a living can be hard but it is always a pleasure to stay here. The hotel is amazing! Clean, wonderful staff, great location and wonderful amenities!! It is always a pleasure to stay here and the front desk staff is especially great! They even know me by name now! This place makes me feel at home even 600 miles away.. Thanks to all of them for yet again a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piloyguy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

A beautiful building, impressively renovated, and very clean, but the room had so many faults I'm not sure where to start. It was noisy - the air conditioner turning on sounded like a 747 taking off at close range. It got noisier with a drunk man shouting outside our door at 3am. We would have called security, but the phone didn't work. The shower was nothing more than a trickle of water - about the same volume as the water dripping out of the air conditioning vent. The TV remote needed new batteries, but we couldn't call to get any because, oh yes, the phone didn't work. Way too expensive for what felt more like a cheap motel experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 2 May 2011
Dear popadin,

I would like to sincerely apologize for the problems you experienced on your stay with us. We strive to provide the highest levels and standards of customer service and assure you precautionary measures are being implemented. Your experience is completely unacceptable and the issues presented are being addressed with our staff and team. We hope if you find yourself back in the Roanoke Valley, you will consider a stay with us to so we can demonstrate the true level of hospitality and service we offer. Unfortunately we were not at our best during your stay and on behalf of The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, we are truly sorry.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, ma
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

This is the fourth time I've stayed at Hotel Roanoke, and this will most likely be my last. The Hotel has really fallen on hard times. The only redeeming quality about it right now is that it's a quick walk to Downtown (which is not saying much).

I was irritated by a few things... parking used to be free. Parking is now $7 a day! There is no alternative to park here. It's either in the lot or you have to valet it. I don't think it's entirely fair to charge a captive audience! Internet was $9.95 a day and incredibly slow! I've had better internet for free in hotels along a highway.

This may seem stupid to some, but I think this is a bit indicative of the quality of the hotel right now. The toiletries were mismatched. Some were Neutrogena, some C&E, and some were a brand that looked like they were bought in a pinch at Costco because they ran out. The Hotel Roanoke should be all about class and quality, and when I see small details like this I cringe.

I asked for a refrigerator which took over an hour to come to my room. It was wheeled in on a giant block of wood that was completely tattered. The whole time I was there I was just waiting for it to topple over.

There was a coffee maker in the room, but there were no cups. How can you forget cups for two days in a row?

The boiler was broken and I was not made aware of this at check-in. When my husband went to turn on the shower, there was no water pressure and cold water only. I called the front desk to complain, and it was only then that I was made aware of what happened.

I travel all over the world and stay at the world's finest. HR used to have standards, but they have completely fallen. I will not be staying there again. What a disappointment!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maebyfunke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 11 April 2011
Dear maebyfunke,
Thank you for your review of the hotel and please accept my personal apology for the inconvenience experienced during the stay. This is by no means how we conduct our business and customer service. We are extremely disappointed to read your review and have shared it with our staff. Your experience is unacceptable and we do hope we have another opportunity in the future to demonstrate our first class level of service. Again, please accept my apology for our Hotel not delivering on our promise to our customers. Sincerely, Gary Walton, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

If your request and/or question does not fall within the normal script of HR employees, forget it. They do NOT go out of their way to provide even a basic level of customer service. Want to complain to the manager? Go ahead; you'll get the same response.

They are charging a premium price for a location that can best be described as "transitional." Skip the attitude and get a better value and friendlier employees at the Sheraton.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank obxbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 31 March 2011
Dear obxbridge, we appreciate you sharing your experience with us as it is extremely important to know how each visit is perceived. I am a bit disappointed as we strive daily to present an exceptional experience at our hotel and know we are much better than experienced. Your experience is beyond unacceptable and we would like to learn as much as possible about from your stay. This is by no means how The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center conducts business and customer service. Sincerely, Gary Walton, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
1.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 40 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#9 of 40 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave NE, Roanoke, VA 24016-2025 (Formerly Doubletree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing