We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turn of the Century Elegance, old world service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I love these great old hotels when they are properly restored, and this is no exception. Don't let the Hilton or Doubletree names put you off, the hotel was first built in the late 1800s, in the railroad era, and it was (and still is) splendid. Southern charm and hospitality compliment large and updated rooms, bathrooms and lobby areas. Access to The Blue Ridge Parkway with tons of things to do in the area make this a great place for a quiet, good nights sleep or just a relaxing day.

Room Tip: All seems good, some face the city and old rail,yards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KPboulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear KPboulder, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I appreciate the kind words and will be sharing them with our staff. I hope if you have the opportunity to visit the area in the future, that we will again be able to serve you.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,833 - 1,839 of 2,535 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

We came to Roanoke to go to the Virginia Tech vs. University of Maryland football game. We Stayed here for two nights and had a lovely king room. The location was great for having many restaurants in walking distance. My only negative comment is that the glasses were not replaced and the ice bucket wasn't emptied when our room was made up. Mild oversight that showed lack of attention to detail. The staff was great in all other interactions. The security guard recommended two fun restaurants, the front desk gave us cookies when we checked in (and two more cookies for the second night when I asked). I would stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank NewboldBroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear NewboldBroad, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced and will certainly be addressing this with our staff. This is certainly not acceptable by our standards and we will ensure that corrective measures will be put into place immediately. I do hope that if your travels bring you back to the area that you will again give us another chance to serve you.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Love the large porch with rocking chairs to people watch and sip a glass of wine on after dinner. Comfortable, quiet rooms with attractive decor. Great location with over the railroad tracks walkway to the historical downtown area to grab a bite to eat or shop.oh, and don't forget the warm complimentary chocolate chip cookies! Yum.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lrhobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear lrhobson, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. It is great to read that you enjoyed the property as well as the warm DoubleTree by Hilton chocolate chip cookie. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The Hotel Roanoke is a grand old hotel that has been brought into the 21st century. From the moment you drive up until you leave you are treated as an good friends. I had stayed here some years ago before the hotel was renovated and I was greatly impressed with the canges and improvments. Our room was extremely comfortable, clean and very plesantly decorated. The bathroom had been completly redone and was sparking clean. We had very good nights sleep in the comfortable beds.

Breakfast was very reasonbly priced and extremely good, from the made to order omelettes to the spoon-bread.

Every employee I met were extremely friendly and helpful.

Walk across the railroad tracks on the enclosed bridge to the downtown core and you will find a great selection of resturants, shops and several museums.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E_of_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear E_of_Virginia, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We appreciate the kind words, and I will be sharing your review with our staff. I hope if your travels return you to the Star City that you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Hotel Roanoke is a great spot for a long weekend - we attended a Virginia Tech football game, and then enjoyed a relaxing weekend. The hotel is gracious and very comfortable. We loved being able to walk to the shops and restaurants - and the museum is first class.

Room Tip: It's especially nice to have a room overlooking the entrance with a view of downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carenfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear carenfields, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. Go Hokies! I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding area. I hope you have the chance to come back and visit and will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This hotel is beautiful...I enjoy staying here each time. This trip I requested the allergen room. I was not happy with the softness of the bed. It was too soft!! This did not affect my decision to stay here again. I just will not request an allergen room again. As always the staff and cleaniness of the hotel was expected. I would visit this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Anitra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Anitra W, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. Thank you for your returned patronage. I do you hope you will again give us a chance the next time you visit the Roanoke Valley.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Hotel Roanoke and Conference Center showcases the very best of a southern Virginia town, and southern Virginia hospitality. You can spend more somewhere, but you won't have a better experience. My wife and I go out of out way to visit here whenever possible.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Carl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Carl F, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We appreciate your returned patronage and kind words. Thank you for all of your support! We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
1.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#7 of 40 in Roanoke
762 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton

Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave NE, Roanoke, VA 24016-2025 (Formerly Doubletree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range: £93 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing