We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, if a Little Pricey for the Area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Watchung, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, if a Little Pricey for the Area”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The nicest hotel in town and walking distance to Market Square, which has many nice restaurants and bars. Room was somewhat oddly laid out but was decorated nicely. The lobby is nicely appointed. It is kind of spread out and the entrance to get to the self-parking is a little hard to find.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJJimbob13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear NJJimbob13, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I hope if your travels return you to the Roanoke Valley, you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,577
    607
    172
    72
    29
See reviews for
503
793
87
807
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The hotel is in great condition and kept very nice and tidy. The staff is extremely accommodating. One manager picked up a stranded colleague in a severe snow storm with his own vehicle. It was beyond generous.

The hotel itself has two great restaurants, and an easy proximity to downtown eating. One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stantheman616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Stantheman616, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We appreciate the kind words and it's wonderful to read how our team stepped up despite ideal conditions. I hope if your travels return you to the Roanoke Valley, you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I have to admit, I was expecting more. Historic hotel, great location, nicely renovated. But it fails in most of the aspects of service.

PROS:
Nicely renovated
Clean
Free internet access
Free shuttle
Executive floor for Hilton Honors elite
Executive floor rooms come with bathrobes
Hilton Honors lounge
Excellent in room lighting
Large rooms
Good sized baths with makeup mirrors
Excellent water pressure
HD televisions with average television channel selection
Beautiful lobby area
On site restaurants/pub
On site convenience/sundry store

CONS
Average to below average customer service
No one who works here really seems committed to providing great customer service
Food far below what it should be (eat elsewhere)
Scratchy, cheap linens
Beds fairly worn
Pillows - cheap and uncomfortable
Long waits at front desk for service
Long waits for front desk to answer phone inquiries

I'm not really sure what's missing here, other than a complete lack of 'passion' to provide a great hospitality experience on the part of the staff.

I would not stay here again, based upon the lack of customer service. Mind you, I didn't have a 'bad' experience...it was just really 'blah'. No one here just seems to care very much.

Sad.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMommy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear TravelMommy1, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced as we strive daily to present the absolute best in product, service and experience. I am shocked to read about your experience in service and will be meeting with our staff to not only to discuss your review, but also to ensure that this doesn't happen again. I appreciate you sharing your experience with us and do hope we have another opportunity to serve you and show you the experience you deserve.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed in this hotel for three nights on business. Several people from my company were there, and we used the conference services as well as time in the pub on top of our rooms. All were excellent experiences.

The rooms are updated without being generic and nondescript. It's obvious that the rooms are in an old building, but the important things, like bathroom fixtures, television, internet service, all were modern. Our conference room was good, but the main complaint is that the breakfast is served in a common area and doesn't feature much protein - just lots of carbs and caffeine. Friends of mine and I had a couple drinks in the pub and that was good - excellent service.

The only thing that kept me from rating this hotel a 5/5 was that the housekeeping I received wasn't as good as it could have been. My phone had a rather thick layer of dust on it, and the second day my dirty towels were removed but not replaced. Also, the supplies I had used from the coffee machine were not replaced. A bar from the drapes came off, and I left it on the floor in front of the window. It wasn't fixed. The room was vacuumed, bed was made, bathroom was cleaned, but things weren't replaced as they should have been, and these attention to details kept it from being an excellent experience.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank cy1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear cy1229, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced during your stay, this is not up to our standards and will be addressed and corrected immediately. We strive daily to present the absolute best in product, service and experience and unfortunately were not at our best during your stay. I do hope if your travels return you to the Roanoke Valley, you will again choose us for your stay. I am sharing your review with our staff and appreciate you sharing your experience.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Our Feb 2014 stay at The Hotel Roanoke was quite enjoyable - rooms, bar service, room service, dinner dining, lobby relaxation in front of a warm fire, --- everything, really except the Sunday brunch/breakfast The morning food options were okay, but hot offerings were only luke-warm. Location is A-1 for enjoying Roanoke's many downtown offerings -- super famers' market, good dining, worthy museums for the whole family and all tastes, lots of coffee spots for gathering with frineds or just relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank jarrettva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear jarrettva, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced during your breakfast, I have shared your review with our staff to ensure this matter is addressed and corrected immediately. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we will be able to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilhowie, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The hotel is absolutely gorgeous! The rooms were clean. They offer a gym, outdoor pool, and hot tub! The service was excellent and the bartender in the restaurant made excellent drinks and was very friendly to us the whole time we was at the bar! It is easily accessible to downtown and is so beautifully restored.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Joy D, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We are honored to have served you for such a special occasion and hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is awesome on character and style and I have stayed here three times in the last 30 days. However, I haven't been impressed with the treatment received by one person at the front reception staff and that has somewhat spoiled my experience two of the three visits. The people are the difference in being an average hotel and great hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Caraline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Caraline T, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We appreciate your patronage and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience experienced at the front desk. We are investigating this situation closely and would like to learn more. One person should not ruin an experience and we are much better than this. I am sharing your review with our staff and hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you and make it right.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
1.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#6 of 40 in Roanoke
740 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#9 of 40 in Roanoke
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave NE, Roanoke, VA 24016-2025 (Formerly Doubletree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing