We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cowboy Ribeye!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frankie Rowland's Steakhouse

Frankie Rowland's Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Frankie Rowland's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 466 Restaurants in Roanoke
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Salem Ave.
Monticello, Kentucky
Level Contributor
166 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Cowboy Ribeye!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Downtown Roanoke. Pretty new restaurant. Nicely done inside. Good service. Now---THE STEAK-- the four of us, (two couples) ordered the bone in cowboy ribeye and we split the entree. It was awesome! As good a flavor as I have ever had in a steak. Plenty for two. We had salads, which were ok.. Vegetables served homestyle were good but not too big. The onion rings we ordered a half order and it was plenty for four of us. Did not have desert. Two glasses of wine and one other drink. The bill was $222. plus tip. So, this is not a cheap date but it is a good one for a special meal. We will all go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Corvette1871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    33
    26
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sautee Nacoochee, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Travel 370 miles for this meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

This is my second trip to this restaurant from the North Georgia mts. Last time it was recommended by our hotel - this time couldn't wait to get to Roaoke to eat! It did not disappoint- the service was flawless, my friends steak to die for and the scallop dish that I had was sooo good. Sides are probably average but was so locked in to the ambiance that I just enjoyed the whole experience. Now to find an excuse to go back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just the Ticket”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Even the best noted steak restaurants can just often be on par and not stand out. The particularly distinguishing attribute of this particular meal was that the Cowboy Ribeye was great and cooked to perfection. Exactly at the correct temperature. I thought the Apps and salad where average but on balance the steak was just the ticket.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daleville, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“No Place Better than Frankies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

No matter the occasion dinner at Frankie's can't be beat. The filet is my personal favorite, but everything I have ever had there is top notch. Make sure you try the pineapple martini. My only complaint is that although worth every penny the prices keep me from visiting here as much as I would like.

Make sure you call ahead!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great atmoshere, better steaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

the specials really are just that, special. The service? wow, attentive staff and aim to please too. This would all be lip service if the food was bad. Go there for the great steaks and seafood and then go back because they really care about a great dining experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SoCoMoFo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frankie Rowland's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Frankie Rowland's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing