We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blues music on a Wednesday night”
Review of Blue 5

Blue 5
Ranked #26 of 474 Restaurants in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
western New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Blues music on a Wednesday night”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I visited with 5 other friends for food and music. We liked both. I only wish that I had asked for a place to sit farther from the music as it was impossible to carry on a conversation - but I was so happy to have had a chance to go to a restaurant in the middle of the week that had something to offer.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank valleylight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    84
    29
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Frequent visitors for dinner/drinks, review for event venue”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had a small destination wedding on a beach, and had a large reception back home at Blue 5 a week later. We had originally booked the Red Room downstairs, which is a speak-easy style, with cocktail tables and a dark decor of red and black. It's adorable, and perfect for a good party, but the new White Room on the 2nd floor happened to have a cancellation days before our event, and Blue 5 offered for us to move up there instead. We took one look at the room and jumped at the chance :) The White Room is large and open, with gorgeous hardwood floors and huge windows on two sides, overlooking the Roanoke municipal building and Kirk Ave. It has a large bar with 4 beer taps and beautiful highlight lighting throughout the room. We had a rustic beach theme to our decor, with shells, burlap, and white candles, and it worked perfectly on the white table cloths. As the sun went down, the ambiance was fantastic. It was a nice day so we had the windows open, and was such a nice atmosphere. The staff was fantastic - our guests had nothing to say but nice things, and one of the bartenders checked on me (the bride) every 30 mins or so, to see if I needed a drink or just some water. Without her, I might have passed out from dehydration, I was so busy and kept forgetting to drink :) The food was fantastic (we highly recommend the meatballs and the jambalaya dip!) and the timing of refills was perfect. Most of all, Angela was so helpful in both the planning and execution of our event. She met up with us about 2 weeks out and finalized all the details, from the music (we just used their Pandora option), to the setup of the room, to what food and drink we would serve, and even a quote of the price that was right in our range, and the night came in at that price by the end. We could not have been happier with our event at Blue 5, and so many of our friends and family commented on how beautiful the room is and how nice the evening was, we would definitely recommend Blue 5!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Great food and music!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Excellent food and we were able to listen to live music during our dinner. What a delight.
The chicken and biscuit soup and salmon were delicious.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Make a reservation”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Food was fantastic! I had the ribeye with duck and fig sauce. Just make a reservation because we did not and had to eat in the bar area.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always a good choice!”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

One of my favorite places to eat in Roanoke. The food is delicious with generous portions. The draft beer menu has enough choices to satisfy any beer lover.

Great music scene most nights.

Friendly and attentive wait staff.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue 5 also viewed

 

Been to Blue 5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing