We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Good Meal”
Review of Alexander's

Alexander's
Reserve with OpenTable
Alexander's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 470 Restaurants in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Campbell/Salem
Transit: Adjacent to City Bus Station and Smart Bus from VA Tech, Blacksburg & New River Valley
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Another Good Meal”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

As always we looked forward to another meal at Alexander's. Tonight I had the Tuna special and my hubby the mixed grill of shrimp, scallops, and chicken. Bridget again outdid herself with the sauces that went with each entree. And the service was as usual extra special. Looking forward to our next visit!! Would highly recommend if you are in the Roanoke area!! Congrats to earning National Recognition with Open Table Bridget!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerrie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    30
    7
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flemington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We chose Alexander's because of the wonderful reviews they received, and found that they were all deserved.
In addition to letting me move my booking to 7:30 from 7:00, at the last minute because of a late arrival in Roanoke, they very kindly allowed me to have their "Shrimp bbq for two" appetizer in a half portion, since my husband wanted something different.

The service was excellent and the atmosphere was charming, with interesting art on the walls.

Overall, a reason to come to Roanoke.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank margandbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great entrees, starters lacking, pitiful wine list”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We had lobster bisque which was watery, salad which was just lettuce (something else like nuts, seeds, onions, olives, anything would have been nice). I was ready to give up on the place, but the entrees we're wonderful! I had salmon and Tom had the seafood trio (scallops, shrimp and crab) and both were excellent. The wine list was pitiful, so we did not have wine. I would recommend the restaurant, but skip the appetizers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank awesome1jh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, NCUSA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful place for an anniversary”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Not cheap but well worth the cost. We had a nice table, excellent waitress and the food was great. My wife had a nice glass on wine.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Newspaperman53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Still great!”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Alexander's continues to maintain a high standard for its food and service. I have been there often and it never disappoints. Each customer is treated royally and made to feel special. We recently went with a group of six and everyone was thrilled with their entree and appetizer. I especially enjoyed my shrimp, scallop and crab combo. The appearance of the food should also be commended. Alexander's can certainly be depended on to create a special atmosphere and we will be back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alexander's also viewed

 

Been to Alexander's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing