We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the money”
Review of Super 8 Salem VA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Salem VA
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Reviewed 2 December 2010

If you are looking for a nice room at a good price, this is a good place to stay. The front desk was a little slow, but the staff was friendly. The hallway had some sort of odor, not sure what it was. The rooms were small, but clean no doubt, and pretty comfortable. The shower didn't get as hot as I would have liked, but it was clean as well. This hotel was about $25.00 cheaper than the other national chain hotels, and if you don't need anything fancy, I would reccomend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3SecondsRef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2010

This was my first instance of staying at a Super 8 which was clean, extremely polite and friendly front desk staff.
Great place for a great price...

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank db30009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

You get what you pay for and we're happy to pay less for no frills. Room was adequate, bed was comfortable, and continental breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doughboysigep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

the guy was nice at the desk and my room was very clean. the reason i'm writing this review however, is because i left an important bag in my room and i was already late for class so i couldn't get back to get it myself. the friendly staff had my bag mailed within a day. they were professional enough to follow up and follow through so i joined tripadvisor just so i could give them a good review. thanks again!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolellove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

I stayed at a Hyatt in Philadelphia the night before. everything fine, but impersonal service. At your motel, room not much different than the Hyatt, but the fine gentleman at the front desk was pleasant and very helpful.. he called around for me to get a last minute meal just before midnight. he did it with enthusiasm and a smile. Very nice after a hectic day on the road.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busy201066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

we were looking for a place to get out of the rain because we have mostly been camping. i ended up itching all night. the guys didn't seem to be bothered. in the morning i was able to find three bedbugs easily on the bed. i took them to the desk clerk and he didn;t seem surprised. they gave us $15 back on the cost of the room. i am still taking antihistamines trying to deal with the many bites several days later. stay away!!
location was good but lots of other options in the area. no guest laundry faciilities. the advertised free breakfast was pathetic.
the check in clerk was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yukonmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

We rented two rooms. My complaint is about one room and the service. There were bugs in the room (roaches and stink-bugs), with roaches in the toilet and shower. The stink-bugs were (alive and dead) in the room generally. The room was not clean (ashes in the ashtray, hair on the linens). We would have changed rooms, but arrived late and my daughter stayed in the room and did not want to complain. When we told them at the desk, they immediately said they would have to check and see. We had to leave (my son's graduation) and when we came back, they told us there was no problem with the room but would have someone call. No one did. I called, and they denied any problems with the room but said a manager would call. He never did. Too late, I read another review and their experience was very much the same, so it was not just us.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IQTester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 14 in Salem
171 reviews
4.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#5 of 14 in Salem
252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Salem VA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Salem VA

Address: 300 Wildwood Rd, Salem, VA 24153-2320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: £43 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Salem VA 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Salem VA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Salem
Super 8 Salem
Salem Super Eight
Salem Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing