We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Front desk Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful Front desk Staff”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were driving through Virginia and the weather was so bad that we had to get off the highway. We went to the Holiday Inn hoping to get a room. It was totally full as it was Virginia Tech graduation that weekend. The women behind the desk were WONDERFUL. They called around and went on line until they found another place for us to stay. I can't thank them enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shrink516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Shrink516,

Thank you for telling us about your experience with the front desk staff. We are so glad that we could get you on your way. Thank you for writing about this experience. We do however hope that you will be able to stay with us in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    92
    28
    11
    9
See reviews for
134
76
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ridge, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Rooms good except that they turned our room keys off after 1 night for a 2 night stay - annoying when you get back to hotel late. Messaging system flaky. Service could have been better. Nothing really wrong but nothing really outstanding either.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yetanotherroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Yetanotherroadtrip,

Thank you for your recent stay and for posting a candid review. I apologize for the inconvenience you had with your room key. We appreciate all your feedback as this is our best resource for improvement. Once again, thank you for staying and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next future visit.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We spent one night here on our way to Pennsylvania and were pleased with the accommodations. The hotel has very easy access to and from I-81. Our room was probably a bit smaller than usual for a "suites" hotel but it was clean, comfortable, and very quiet. The room AC worked very well. Staff was friendly and breakfast was the usual fare, which is to say we enjoyed it, although the coffee seemed a bit weaker than we usually experience at a Holiday Inn. There are no restaurants near the hotel and one has to drive a few miles into Salem (or Roanoke) to find a place to eat. The exercise room had 3 machines: treadmill, recumbent bicycle, and an elliptical. The TV worked in the exercise room and there were towels and alcohol wipes to sanitize the machines after exercise. All-in-all, small but very nicely done. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stopped at this location on our way to A Mini cooper get together in Nc. The check in process was a little slow because of only 1 clerk available and she was relatively new. The room was excellent very nice and clean breakfast was excellent. The only problem was more of a management scheduling issue than the help itself. The price came in less than our res. quote. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank popsnow71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Popsnow,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We are so glad that you chose us for your hotel needs. Thank you for telling us your concerns about the front desk staff. We are very sorry for the inconvenience. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. Thanks for staying with us. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had an excellent experience with the hotel staff. Very interested in providing good service. The only bad aspects of our visit was the poor sound insulation between floors and the lack of curtains that could not be fully closed to block the lights from the automobile dealership across the road. We were able to compensate by putt the bed throw over the opening in the window.Would suggest staying on the back side of hotel to avoid the lights.....still have the issue of sheers only covering the center of window. The location was very convenient to downtown Salem and I-81.

Room Tip: Back side away from highway is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank granpagolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear granpagolf,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service and location of the hotel. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class customer service. I am sorry that your stay was negatively affected due to the poor noise insulation and amount of light in your room. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and will help us improve for your next visit.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stopped at HIE Salem, Va and planned to stay one night. The bad weather made us rethink and stay a second night. Super friendly staff, very clean rooms and great breakfast. Would stay there again when passing through. Plus a gas station, mini mart and burger king all in one, within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 816usaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear 816usaf,

Thank you for telling us about your visit. We are so glad that you chose to stay a second night. We are so glad that you and your family stayed with us. We will pass your comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing good comments about their service. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stopped here after driving for several hours, and were thrilled with it! The front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating; our room was spacious, very clean, and very comfortable; the breakfast was great. What more could we ask for?!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weemurree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear weemurree,


Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We are so glad that you and your family stayed with us. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean , safe, and comfortable place to stay. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 13 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#5 of 13 in Salem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Salem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Address: 991 Russell Dr, Salem, VA 24153-3068
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Salem
#4 Business Hotel in Salem
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the heart of Blue Ridge is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, VA! We are conveniently located to I-81 at exit 141, just a short drive to following area attractions : Roanoke College, Salem Civic Center, & James Moyer Complex. With our world class service and many Salem/Roanoke businesses, restaurants and attractions within walking distance or minutes from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Roanoke Valley! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access, 37 flat panel LCD TV and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our outdoor swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Points of Interest: Companies: General Electric, Carter Machinery, & Medeco. Hospitals: Lewis Gale Hospital, & Veterans Affairs Hospital. Universities: Roanoke College, Virginia Tech, Hollins University & Radford University. Local Attractions: Taubman Museum of Art, Virginia Museum of Transportation, & Dixie Caverns. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Salem Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing