We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to see them back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Interesting to watch Holiday Inn reinvent themselves. This hotel is a shining example of what they can do. The rooms were spacious, the property is attractive and above all, the staff was friendly and helpful. Would repeat my stay here with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1213pdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BadalPTL, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for all of your kind words. We've made a few changes the past few months to improve the experience for all of our guests. Our staff hopes to see you again soon on your next trip to Richmond, VA!

Badal Patel
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

Our stay was mostly pleasant. The room was clean and comfortable, but the phone volume had been turned down, so our wake up call wasn't heard. Water in the shower was quite hot in an enjoyable way- we didn't run out. The parts of the hotel and room showed some disrepair. The toilet seat was very loose, the rings around door handles were broken, but could be put back in place. Breakfast was more limited than average HIEX there was no pancake maker and the usual items were replaced ok with the one person trying her best to keep up with demand. The one lady at the desk was very good and helpful. The old lady hotel needs some remodeling, but was good for just one night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tex47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BadalPTL, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback on your stay here at the Holiday Inn Express- Richmond Airport. We will be working on improving on the items mentioned above, and we look forward to seeing you on your next travel dates.

Badal Patel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This was one of the best hotels I've stayed in period. The service, the room, the cleanliness were all top notch. It is located close to the airport, and they shuttled us back and forth...even when we arrived very late at night. Then they welcomed us with a great smile and service. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R-L J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BadalPTL, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for all of your kind words!! We appreciate you staying with us during your visit to Richmond, VA, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Have a great weekend ahead

Badal Patel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel is very new and a notch above hotels at the same price level. I was pleasantly surprised by the size and comfort of the room (fridge, microwave) and the pleasant little indoor pool. I was here for just one night on business and would absolutely stay here again if I were in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BadalPTL, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

We appreciate you choosing to stay the Holiday Inn Express- Richmond Airport on your recent business trip! We've got several amenities at our hotel, and we are glad you were about to enjoy all of them. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip!

Badal Patel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

First let me say that this hotel is clean, the rooms are comfortable and the pool was clear and a pleasant temperature. But there were serious staffing issues at both the front desk and the breakfast area during the sold out weekend when we stayed. Our experience was bad enough that we will not stay here again.

Breakfast was complete chaos, with the single employee managing the breakfast area completely unable to keep up with the crowds. It was two different women - one Saturday and one Sunday. They did their best but the crowds were too much. They would stock one thing and it would run out minutes later. I waited at the front of the line for a full half hour at one point and no food came out (she was restocking coffee, hot water, condiments, plates, silverware, etc. during that time). There were huge piles of trash overflowing the bins. We were down there for hours and I wasn't able to feed my family, which was extremely frustrating because we had specifically booked a hotel with breakfast included. We ended up eating cheese and crackers we had brought with us. The worst part was that after our terrible experience at breakfast on Saturday, I asked at the front desk whether the hotel was sold out again that night and suggested they add at least one more employee to the breakfast area. She just shrugged and said she wasn't sure about staffing (but confirmed they were sold out again). Breakfast on Sunday was even worse but at least I knew not to count on being able to feed my family.

Another minor annoyance was that housekeeping didn't have any fresh towels on Saturday when they made up the rooms. I had already put my kids in the bath after a trip to the pool when I realized. They brought them about 45 mins later, but it was still frustrating, because they had removed the used towels but not replaced them with anything. I ended up drying my kids off with washcloths and hand towels.

The final straw was when I went to the front desk to check out at 11 (checkout time) and found a sign saying they were attending to something and would be right back. Two of us waited almost 10 minutes before someone came back to the desk.

I suspect that the management deliberately understaffs the hotel in order to save money. This weekend had been sold out for weeks, if not months. They should have had 2 (or more) people staffing the breakfast area and 2 at the front desk for the weekend. They also should have had more food on hand as they ran out of most everything during breakfast on Sunday. We will not be staying here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank KMBkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BadalPTL, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

KMBkelly,

FirstI would like to thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay here in Sandston, VA. I do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during you stay on this busy weekend. We will do our best to staff our hotel appropriately in the future to provide the best experience possible for our guests.

Badal Patel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

The location is excellent for the airport. Safe location within an area of several hotels. Literally minutes from the airport and good highway access. Room was clean and bed comfortable. A better than average HI Express version. Breakfast is the normal for this brand hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Floridagator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BadalPTL, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write our hotel a review. We would like to thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express- Richmond Airport during your stay here, and we look forward to seeing you again during your next visit!

Badal Patel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Clean room, refrigerator microwave in the room. Comfortable bed, plenty of towels. The usual breakfast but they do make some of the items available before the official opening time, which is nice for those with early flights. Friendly check in staff. Room was quiet and airplane noise not bad, although we arrived pretty late when the airport was quiet. Windows do not open.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wguterbock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BadalPTL, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write our hotel such a wonderful review! We're glad you were able to have a quick breakfast early in the morning before your flight. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Richmond, VA :)

Badal Patel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandston
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Richmond Airport Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Richmond Airport
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport

Address: 491 International Center Dr, Sandston, VA 23150-1336 (Formerly Wingate Inn - Richmond - Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Sandston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Price Range: £94 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Richmond, VA near Richmond International Airport Come and relax with us at our prime Richmond, Virginia hotel near the Richmond International Airport. Our Richmond hotel is just one mile from the airport and offers easy access to major Richmond attractions and businesses alike. Your family will love staying at our comfortable Richmond hotel. Our hotel near the Richmond International Airport is located on Audubon Drive and offers convenient access to many Richmond attractions. The Edgar Allen Poe Museum, the Virginia State Capitol and the Science Museum of Virginia are within close proximity of our accommodations in Richmond, Virginia. Other nearby sights include the American Civil War Center and the Virginia Holocaust Museum. Business travelers can appreciate our convenient accommodations near the Richmond Airport. Our Richmond, VA hotel offers close proximity to area businesses such as Hewlett-Packard, Southern Graphics, Smurfit-Stone and Qimonda. In addition, we provide meeting space for up to 45 people, as well as business services with an available computer, fax machine, copier, printer and free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access. While staying in Richmond, you can enjoy our amenities, which include a heated, indoor swimming pool, fitness center and a complimentary hot breakfast bar. Book your reservations now to take advantage of our great Richmond VA hotel rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport Hotel Sandston
Holiday Inn Express Sandston
Sandston Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sandston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing