We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Richmond Airport Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Generally a nice place- best part is that you can practically walk to it from the airport. Staff were nice but a bit thin- we had one girl at the desk all night when we checked in. One negative-place has a popular bar so there's a lot of action on weekends. We has a dart tournament the weekend we checked in and there were a lot of loud drunks in the lobby. It didn't bother us in our room though.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triciammh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon S, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Triciammh - Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again should your travels bring you back to the Richmond International Airport area.

Shannon
Shannon@doubletreerichmond.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Our room on the third floor was very close to the elevator. This despite being reserved months in advance with a specific request to be on a high floor away from the elevator. A request that typically is honored by Hilton since we are Honors Members. Not this time. And we later regretted not asking to be switched to another room way away from the elevator. Because as the place got more traffic at night we listened to the noise of the loudest elevator in the Western hemisphere. By far the loudest we have ever experienced in any hotel ever. In addition, because of the location, we heard all the talking from everybody getting off the elevator. The room looked worn and not the standard we expect. Picked this hotel because the rate was good and the location. Next time we will pick another.
The van service to and from the airport was prompt and the drivers were courteous. And the restaurant was very good. With a 6:00 flight the next morning a noisy night made our stay not a good one.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel or insist on a room way away from the elevator and apparently high enough to avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LandMfromflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon S, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear LandMfromflorida - Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We truly value your input. We are addressing the issues you outlined and will take corrective actions. Thank you again and have safe travels.

Shannon
Shannon@doubletreerichmond.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Clean and friendly staff. On Airport property and centrally located for Richmond, Williamsburg, and other attractions. Very good restaurant. Close to shopping and other restaurants. Close to major highways as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Russell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon S, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Russell K - Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are so pleased you had an excellent experience in our restaurant. I'll be sure to pass along your compliments! We hope to see you again when you are in the Richmond International Airport area!

Shannon
Shannon@doubletreerichmond.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The staff were welcoming and helpful. There was no problem getting a shuttle to the airport before 5:00 am. Nice variety of pillows to choose from on the bed, and the bed was very comfortable. Furnishings all in good shape. The one negative was the carpet is overdue for a steam cleaning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon S, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear David F - Thanks so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our complimentary shuttle service. I'll be sure to pass along your compliments to our staff! We hope to see you again should your travels bring you back to the Richmond International Airport area!

Shannon
Shannon@doubletreerichmond.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were happy to find a suite for a weekend stay at DoubleTree at a reasonable rate and we were only in the room for sleeping/showering, so the room suited our needs fine. But we experienced some hiccups:

- Check-in, my check card was swiped and I was assured nothing would be charged. I was not informed of the funds hold placed on my card, nor that it would include incidentals (it was my first time not traveling with a credit card). Seemed the front desk did not properly explain the hold, at all, or the reimbursement, etc.

- Upon Checking-In, I was then informed that Friday nights equals live music at this hotel and that all suites face the courtyard of the hotel and music can be heard in the rooms until 11PM. I was assured not to worry because it was "fun music" and it ends promptly at 11. I had a big concern over this because we were traveling with a pre-schooler who needs sleep. I was upset someone did not tell us this when we booked our Friday through Sunday stay but at this point, it was too late for me to go to another hotel due to our weekend schedule while in Richmond. The music was VERY loud in our room (3rd floor). Also, live music equals a lot of people - so the hotel was teeming with activity when we arrived after 10PM with a sleeping child, who woke up as soon as we entered the hotel.

- Upon reaching our floor at 3PM, there were dishes all up and down the hallway. The next morning, piles of dirty sheets were bunched up in the hallway (majorly disgusting)

Hotel furnishings were very outdated. Rooms were dimly lit. Fridge barely cold.

- Positives: AC worked great in our suite. Water pressure was also very nice and plenty of hot water. Staff was extremely friendly.

All in all: We had an enjoyable weekend in Richmond. We were not miserable with our hotel (and it did provide the separate sleeping quarters we needed for our child) but it wasn't as nice as say other hotels in the area for similar fee. This hotel has some positive things going for it - just needs to step-up the ambiance.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon S, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear J L - Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us. We value your feedback and are addressing the concerns that you mentioned in your review. We are glad to hear you had a good weekend here in Richmond and hope to see you again should your travels bring you back to the Richmond International Airport area!

Shannon
Shannon@doubletreerichmond.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel because of the quality standard expected from this brand, yet it was far from what I had anticipated. Very shabby interiors, filthy carpets, in the reception, corridors and rooms. Bed was comfortable, yet room was just fair, and this brand uses antenna for television reception that kept pixelating in and out due to reception issues. One shining point the check-in staff was professional, attentive and courteous. Yet I am very surprised this property still remains a Double Tree hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon S, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Richard A - Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Your feedback is very valuable and we are addressing the issues that you outlined. Thank you again and have safe travels.

Shannon
Shannon@doubletreerichmond.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Came in Monday night for one night stay in front of very early departure out of RIC. Very old product. Room A/C did not work. Toilet what is in a constant state of "fill" so it would trip on all night long. Water pressure weak. Case goods look to be 15+ years old. Overall decor package dated. They have put some lipstick on here and there but overall could be a low-end Holiday inn if it did not have the Doubletree flag on it.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon S, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear David F - Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Your feedback is very valuable and we are addressing the issues that you outlined. Thank you again and have safe travels.

Shannon
Shannon@doubletreerichmond.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandston
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Richmond Airport Hotel
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Airport
1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Richmond Airport
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Airport Hotel

Address: 5501 Eubank Road, Sandston, VA 23150 (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Airport)
Region: United States > Virginia > Sandston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Price Range: £52 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closet hotel to the Richmond International Airport. Complimentary shuttle within a three mile radius. On site restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Richmond Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Richmond Airport
Doubletree Sandston
Doubletree Hotel Sandston
Sandston Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing