We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't beat the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Richmond Airport Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Gambrills, United States
1 review
“You can't beat the price”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I love any Hilton owned hotel the staff always treat you like family and this hotel was no exception. The rooms were a little older but clean, and I like that the ac did not rattle or make a ton of noise like you get in other hotels. The bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon S, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Justin S - Thank you so much for the kind review and wonderful compliments about our team. We strive to provide superior service and we are so pleased you are happy with your stay with us. We hope to see you again should your travels bring you back to the Richmond International Airport area!

Shannon
Shannon@doubletreerichmond.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    123
    97
    95
    50
See reviews for
117
79
49
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The staff at the front desk were very nice, although I hate being called "honey". The room was better than the last time I stayed here, at least the AC was working. Having said that, there was mold in the shower and along the floor in the bathroom, lamp shades were broken and the entire room looked like it was from the 90s. Smallest frig I have seen in years. This place begs for a major renovation. Having stayed in DoubleTree hotels all over the country, I'm amazed this hotel still has the franchise. Location is perfect for when I fly out of Richmond - which is why I deal with the many negatives.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon S, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Lee F - Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We truly value your input. We are addressing the issues you outlined and will take corrective actions. Thank you again and have safe travels.

Shannon
Shannon@doubletreerichmond.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Generally a nice place- best part is that you can practically walk to it from the airport. Staff were nice but a bit thin- we had one girl at the desk all night when we checked in. One negative-place has a popular bar so there's a lot of action on weekends. We has a dart tournament the weekend we checked in and there were a lot of loud drunks in the lobby. It didn't bother us in our room though.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triciammh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon S, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Triciammh - Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again should your travels bring you back to the Richmond International Airport area.

Shannon
Shannon@doubletreerichmond.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Our room on the third floor was very close to the elevator. This despite being reserved months in advance with a specific request to be on a high floor away from the elevator. A request that typically is honored by Hilton since we are Honors Members. Not this time. And we later regretted not asking to be switched to another room way away from the elevator. Because as the place got more traffic at night we listened to the noise of the loudest elevator in the Western hemisphere. By far the loudest we have ever experienced in any hotel ever. In addition, because of the location, we heard all the talking from everybody getting off the elevator. The room looked worn and not the standard we expect. Picked this hotel because the rate was good and the location. Next time we will pick another.
The van service to and from the airport was prompt and the drivers were courteous. And the restaurant was very good. With a 6:00 flight the next morning a noisy night made our stay not a good one.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel or insist on a room way away from the elevator and apparently high enough to avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandMfromflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon S, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear LandMfromflorida - Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We truly value your input. We are addressing the issues you outlined and will take corrective actions. Thank you again and have safe travels.

Shannon
Shannon@doubletreerichmond.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greer, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Clean and friendly staff. On Airport property and centrally located for Richmond, Williamsburg, and other attractions. Very good restaurant. Close to shopping and other restaurants. Close to major highways as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Russell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon S, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Russell K - Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are so pleased you had an excellent experience in our restaurant. I'll be sure to pass along your compliments! We hope to see you again when you are in the Richmond International Airport area!

Shannon
Shannon@doubletreerichmond.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The staff were welcoming and helpful. There was no problem getting a shuttle to the airport before 5:00 am. Nice variety of pillows to choose from on the bed, and the bed was very comfortable. Furnishings all in good shape. The one negative was the carpet is overdue for a steam cleaning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon S, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear David F - Thanks so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our complimentary shuttle service. I'll be sure to pass along your compliments to our staff! We hope to see you again should your travels bring you back to the Richmond International Airport area!

Shannon
Shannon@doubletreerichmond.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were happy to find a suite for a weekend stay at DoubleTree at a reasonable rate and we were only in the room for sleeping/showering, so the room suited our needs fine. But we experienced some hiccups:

- Check-in, my check card was swiped and I was assured nothing would be charged. I was not informed of the funds hold placed on my card, nor that it would include incidentals (it was my first time not traveling with a credit card). Seemed the front desk did not properly explain the hold, at all, or the reimbursement, etc.

- Upon Checking-In, I was then informed that Friday nights equals live music at this hotel and that all suites face the courtyard of the hotel and music can be heard in the rooms until 11PM. I was assured not to worry because it was "fun music" and it ends promptly at 11. I had a big concern over this because we were traveling with a pre-schooler who needs sleep. I was upset someone did not tell us this when we booked our Friday through Sunday stay but at this point, it was too late for me to go to another hotel due to our weekend schedule while in Richmond. The music was VERY loud in our room (3rd floor). Also, live music equals a lot of people - so the hotel was teeming with activity when we arrived after 10PM with a sleeping child, who woke up as soon as we entered the hotel.

- Upon reaching our floor at 3PM, there were dishes all up and down the hallway. The next morning, piles of dirty sheets were bunched up in the hallway (majorly disgusting)

Hotel furnishings were very outdated. Rooms were dimly lit. Fridge barely cold.

- Positives: AC worked great in our suite. Water pressure was also very nice and plenty of hot water. Staff was extremely friendly.

All in all: We had an enjoyable weekend in Richmond. We were not miserable with our hotel (and it did provide the separate sleeping quarters we needed for our child) but it wasn't as nice as say other hotels in the area for similar fee. This hotel has some positive things going for it - just needs to step-up the ambiance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon S, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear J L - Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us. We value your feedback and are addressing the concerns that you mentioned in your review. We are glad to hear you had a good weekend here in Richmond and hope to see you again should your travels bring you back to the Richmond International Airport area!

Shannon
Shannon@doubletreerichmond.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandston
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Richmond Airport Hotel
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Airport
1.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Richmond Airport
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Airport Hotel

Property: Richmond Airport Hotel
Address: 5501 Eubank Road, Sandston, VA 23150 (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Airport)
Region: United States > Virginia > Sandston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Richmond Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Richmond Airport
Doubletree Sandston
Doubletree Hotel Sandston
Sandston Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing