We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was very dark and drab”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Richmond Airport Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Princeton, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
“Room was very dark and drab”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The furnishings and décor of the room made it feel depressing. It definitely needs updating and freshening up. I would not stay again for this reason. In fact on my way back from Raleigh (thru Richmond) I chose to stay at another Hilton property and was much more comfortable. If lighting is important to you, do not stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Hedy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon S, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Hedy D - Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us. We value your feedback and are addressing the concerns that you mentioned in your review. We hope you'll give us another chance should your travels bring you back to the Richmond International Airport area.

Shannon
Shannon@doubletreerichmond.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    123
    98
    96
    52
See reviews for
118
79
49
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Let me begin this review by stating that I have very high expectations and standards for hotels, so I choose to stay in higher end hotels, like Hilton branded hotels, instead of the "Super 8" type of motels. We arrived at the Doubletree after an extended 6hr traffic jammed car ride with a very restless 4 year old. Dinner in hand, we desperately circled the overcrowded parking lot trying to find a parking space. After enduring the frustration of the jammed lot, we parked in the entrance and decided to check in and park later. Upon entering the lobby around 8pm, it was dark and music was loudly playing. After waiting almost 10 minutes to check in because of a guest problem, I inquired where we should park our car, as parking seemed to be at a premium. Another guest stepped forward to also ask about parking, as he was in a similar situation having traveled a long time with a young family. We both felt that as guests of the hotel, we were reasonable to expect a parking space. Our desk attendant seemed desperately overwhelmed and shrugged her shoulders and told us that the hotel was currently hosting 5 events and that she didn't know what to tell us. We were both astounded at first. Surely this hotel would have some kind of parking specifically reserved for paying guests. Finally, she told us to just park in the front unloading area. All the while, we are practically screaming to hear each other over the obnoxiously loud music. After I made my way with my room keys through the swarm of guests smoking outside of the main entrance, we parked our car guiltily in the unloading zone. I hated to think I would make another guest experience the parking lot disaster we endured. Hungry and tired, we made our way to the elevator. Stepping inside, I was instantly disappointed. It was hot, humid and smelled terrible. Our room, on the 5th floor, was decently cleaned and modern. The bathroom, however, was shocking. It was extremely in need of real repairs. The shower tiles had been sloppily replaced using caulking that was beginning to mold in the corners. The floor of the tub basin was dirt stained and the fixtures were old. The toilet was difficult to flush because it seemed to lack adequate water pressure. The only modern amenity we recognized was the granite sink top. The bed was comfortable and clean, and housekeeping clearly did their duties. My 4 year old loved the view of the airport. When we finally settled in to bed, we realized that we could still hear the thumping music from the lobby. It was mildly irritating, especially because we were on the 5th floor! We were told one of the events would be ending at 10pm, and a second ending at 11pm. My husband wanted to make sure that we moved our car to a parking space as soon as one became available, which he did. We were awoken the next morning because housekeeping was knocking on our door. This surprised me incredibly as we only reserved our room for one night and check out was scheduled at 12pm. It was just another inconvenience that we didn't expect. As we packed our bags and made way for the lobby, we were able to see that it was actually very beautiful and classy. Not the scene we walked into on the previous night. While we waited at the front desk, we could overhear another guest that had difficulty with reservations that she had made in advance. This hotel struck me as having too many irons in the fire without strong management. I was disappointed that this hotel boasted the Doubletree brand. Not at all what I expected for $150.00 stay. Should have stayed at the Super 8 and at least had a continental breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon S, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Jessica M - Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We truly value your input. We are addressing the issues you outlined and will take corrective actions. Thank you again and have safe travels.

Shannon
Shannon@doubletreerichmond.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandston hotels

Williamsburg, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were in one of the halls on the first night and there was a horrible smell and the room was extremely warm very uncomforable. On the second night there was a fight or major disturbance in the hallway and the security to way to long to control it. When we pay so much we expect better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon S, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Deborah P - Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review about your recent stay with us. We truly value your input and will address the issues you outlined. Your kind words regarding our staff will be passed along! Again, thanks for your feedback and have safe travels

Shannon
shannon@doubletreerichmond.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gambrills, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I love any Hilton owned hotel the staff always treat you like family and this hotel was no exception. The rooms were a little older but clean, and I like that the ac did not rattle or make a ton of noise like you get in other hotels. The bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon S, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Justin S - Thank you so much for the kind review and wonderful compliments about our team. We strive to provide superior service and we are so pleased you are happy with your stay with us. We hope to see you again should your travels bring you back to the Richmond International Airport area!

Shannon
Shannon@doubletreerichmond.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The staff at the front desk were very nice, although I hate being called "honey". The room was better than the last time I stayed here, at least the AC was working. Having said that, there was mold in the shower and along the floor in the bathroom, lamp shades were broken and the entire room looked like it was from the 90s. Smallest frig I have seen in years. This place begs for a major renovation. Having stayed in DoubleTree hotels all over the country, I'm amazed this hotel still has the franchise. Location is perfect for when I fly out of Richmond - which is why I deal with the many negatives.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon S, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Lee F - Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We truly value your input. We are addressing the issues you outlined and will take corrective actions. Thank you again and have safe travels.

Shannon
Shannon@doubletreerichmond.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Generally a nice place- best part is that you can practically walk to it from the airport. Staff were nice but a bit thin- we had one girl at the desk all night when we checked in. One negative-place has a popular bar so there's a lot of action on weekends. We has a dart tournament the weekend we checked in and there were a lot of loud drunks in the lobby. It didn't bother us in our room though.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triciammh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon S, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Triciammh - Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again should your travels bring you back to the Richmond International Airport area.

Shannon
Shannon@doubletreerichmond.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Our room on the third floor was very close to the elevator. This despite being reserved months in advance with a specific request to be on a high floor away from the elevator. A request that typically is honored by Hilton since we are Honors Members. Not this time. And we later regretted not asking to be switched to another room way away from the elevator. Because as the place got more traffic at night we listened to the noise of the loudest elevator in the Western hemisphere. By far the loudest we have ever experienced in any hotel ever. In addition, because of the location, we heard all the talking from everybody getting off the elevator. The room looked worn and not the standard we expect. Picked this hotel because the rate was good and the location. Next time we will pick another.
The van service to and from the airport was prompt and the drivers were courteous. And the restaurant was very good. With a 6:00 flight the next morning a noisy night made our stay not a good one.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel or insist on a room way away from the elevator and apparently high enough to avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandMfromflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon S, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear LandMfromflorida - Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We truly value your input. We are addressing the issues you outlined and will take corrective actions. Thank you again and have safe travels.

Shannon
Shannon@doubletreerichmond.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandston
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Richmond Airport Hotel
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Airport
1.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Airport Hotel

Property: Richmond Airport Hotel
Address: 5501 Eubank Road, Sandston, VA 23150 (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Airport)
Region: United States > Virginia > Sandston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Richmond Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Richmond Airport
Doubletree Sandston
Doubletree Hotel Sandston
Sandston Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing