We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Certificate of Excellence
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

In town for a soccer tournament and were not the only team in the hotel. That being said, no one in the group complained about running out of breakfast food or towels; nor did we have any issues with housekeeping. That rarely happens when we travel with such a big crowd.
The staff were all friendly, pleasant and willing to help with directions, shuttle runs to Target or restaurant suggestions. Make sure to try the homemade biscuits - it's a nice touch at breakfast. I would return here with my family as it is reasonable, there are options at breakfast (I'm celiac so danishes or donuts don't work!), and the hotel is clean & quiet and several parents commented on the comfortable beds. If I wanted luxury and a restaurant it would be tripple the rate. So for my family this fit our budget, our needs and exceeded our expectation. Thanks BW Richmond!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MumnSons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MICHAEL B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your stay. I am so pleased to see that you and your group were well taken care of by my staff. Knowing that we met and exceeded your expectations says a lot to how hard my staff works to managed large crowds on tournament weekends and any other busy weekend for that matter.
I trust that you will keep us in mind and I hope that we get to do it all again.

Happy Travels
Michael Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    159
    67
    27
    12
See reviews for
154
99
40
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Great Stay! Will recommend to others, good location, staff very friend, and pleasant. I will love to visit in the summer to utilize the pool and other attractions in the area. Shopping area is close, lots of food places to eat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Betty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MICHAEL B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank You for your comments. The Staff and I appreciate your wonderful words and we are please that you were happy with the service and are looking forward to our summer.
Take Care and hope to see you soon.
Michael Brown, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Nice staff, clean lobby, but 2 beds in the room was 1 too many. No room to move around room and the beds are firm. Very nice bathroom, it was the only area you could stretch without kicking anything! Left too early to try out the breakfeast, but it smelled like it would have been good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MICHAEL B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank You for your comments regarding our service and staff, however I would also like to apologize to you for the size of your room. We have some ways to work around the tightness such as, removal of the extra chair or placing the desk in another spot, etc.
In the future we will be purchasing new case goods, hopefully we will be able to recover more spacing during that project.
Thanks
Michael Brown, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powhatan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

If ypu're looking for comfortable, well-appointed accommodations, excellent service and great value, this is the place. If, on the other hand, you're looking for something very fancy and luxurious, and are willing to pay a high price, keep looking.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MICHAEL B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for leaving comments about our property and how well you were pleased with everything. Your comments were perfect, it really does describe us. Hope we have the chance to serve you again.
Happy Travels
Michael Brown, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here night before flight after visiting grandkids. Night we arrived we stayed at another hotel in area that was 20 dollars cheaper,, but not with the good things this one had.This one had an airport shuttle. Not sure what time it stops, but it starts at 4 am. They had continental breakfast starting at 4 am for those who have early flight. It also had coffee maker in room, which was nice. We walked to get a sandwich at a corner store, but Arbys , Burger King and a few other eating places are around to walk to, as well We walked at night and felt safe.Big thing for us is we sleep with box fan at home, and hotels are always too quiet. This had constant fan on AC/heat unit, which was perfect to drown out noises around.Not much noise though. Bed was very comfortable.Water was hot in morning, and had good pressure. We will stay here again when we have an early or late flights to see grandkids in future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndw1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MICHAEL B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking time out to leave comments regarding your experience here at our hotel. I am please to see that you liked everything and with the services we do offer, you felt we went above and beyond. Again, Thanks for aknowledging that. We look forward to your next visit.

Michael Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We recently checked in to the hotel early due to bad weather. That was very nice....however, after receiving notice that our flight was cancelled we checked back out after a stay of two hours and thirteen minutes. They charged us the for a full nights stay! The entire time we were there was Before their regular check-in!!! I could have seen them charging a discounted rate to pay for housekeeping to refresh the room, but charging us for a full night seems like they were taking advantage of us. Also, I am sure they re-sold the room since when we checked in the desk clerk was on the phone saying they only had 17 rooms still available. When I called back the next day the "Sales Manager" said there was nothing he could do. When I questioned how much of the room rate was for housekeeping, as he stated health dept said they had to completely redo the room, he had no idea. Not only did our trip get ruined, the hotel screwed us, too! Additionally, be aware that this hotel does not have a generator for power failure. If electricity is lost, you are on your own, and they still charge full rate. Buyer beware.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MICHAEL B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Hello Guest
My apologies go out to you for feeling that we were taken advantage of, but i assure you that is not the case with this Hotel.
This is a business and just like any business there are Policies and Procedures that must be followed.
we do not rent rooms buy the hour. Once you have rented a room, that room is yours until checkout time the next day. It is your business if you have to leave early, not the hotels business. We will not suffer a lost just because you decided for what ever reasons to check out early.
If I was to go out to the movies and decided i wanted to leave after watching 30mins of the film, I will not get a refund. Same Principle applies to this business also.
Yes you are correct WE DO NOT have a generator at this Property. It really surprises me the its a shock that we do not have a generator. Fact is, Majority of Hotels do not have generators and we are not required to have one. There are 20 plus properties in the airport area. NOT ONE has a generator that will power the facility and all 100 plus guest rooms.
NO, your room was not cleaned and resold. I will be glad to send you a copy of the report that shows what time your room was checked out the next day.
This Hotel did not ruin your trip or take advantage of you. The Sales Manager did his best to explain our policy.

sincerely
Michael Brown, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Had a incoming snow storm and had our flight changed from Norfolk to Richmond so we could get out without interrupting our vacation to Mexico.

Booked on short notice and was still able to get a very reasonable rate. The hotel is located close to a number of restaurants and a convenience store which is great if you are on foot or don't want to drive.

Room was clean, quiet and had everything we needed for an overnight stay. There was a breakfast in the morning which was more then adequate.

We took advantage of the shuttle service to the airport and it was on time as scheduled.

My only complaint was that the beds and pillows are not as comfortable as I like and it was hard to control the rooms temperature. It was either too hot or too cold and in the end we just turned it off.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MICHAEL B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time out to leave your comments. I am please that we were able to accommodate you and your family during the storm.
My apologies for the condition of the pillows and the room, since reading your comments i have gone back to see which room you stayed. The pillows were replaced and a new thick mattress pad was placed on the bed for additional comfort.
Thanks again for your time.
Happy Travels
Michael Brown, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandston
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Airport
0.6 mi away
Richmond Airport Hotel
Richmond Airport Hotel
#7 of 15 in Sandston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport
0.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Richmond Airport
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel
Address: 5300 Airport Square Ln, Sandston, VA 23150-1232
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Sandston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sandston
#2 Family Hotel in Sandston
#4 Business Hotel in Sandston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing