We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Airport
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Our golf group stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn at the airport in Richmond. This hotel met all of our expectations and then some. The service and food are top notch. This new property is well appointed and comfortable, making for relaxing nights whether in the bar area or in the room. The costs of accommodations, food, and bar service are very reasonable and of high quality. I would definitely stay at this hotel again when in the area and highly recommend this property to anyone staying near the Richmond airport or passing through Richmond on a trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank headcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny A, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to email us your feedback. It means a lot, as it helps us improve our Service & Operations. We always share your comments with the Staff as it will motivate them to do even better & provide consistent Great Service & Clean Accommodations.

Thank you again for staying with us & Please Keep us in mind next time you are visiting the Area.

Sincerely,
Sunny Amin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

The hotel was booked with two weddings we stayed 5 days and every day we had to ask for clean towels and our room wasn't cleaned until late in the afternoon. Pool area was small. However the hotel was clean and most of the staff friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny A, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to email us your feedback. It means a lot, as it helps us improve our Service & Operations. We always share your comments with the Staff as it will motivate them to do even better & provide consistent Great Service & Clean Accommodations.

We apologize for your experience regarding the Towels. We have addressed this issue and assure you it will not happen again.

Thank you again for staying with us & Please Keep us in mind next time you are visiting the Area.

Sincerely,
Sunny Amin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were met with every courtesy and provided rooms with very good amenities. The rooms were adequate to our tastes, well-lit, and very comfortable. Shuttle service to various restaurants in the area was efficient and timely. The shuttle service to the wedding and reception was also very efficient. The drivers were helpful, courteous, and pleasant. The breakfast (buffet) was very good with excellent service – to include the wait staff and the chefs. While selection was excellent for the early riser, shortages did appear towards the end of the breakfast time; however, the shortages were not (or should not have been) unexpected, for late attendees.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny A, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to email us your feedback. It means a lot, as it helps us improve our Service & Operations. We always share your comments with the Staff as it will motivate them to do even better & provide consistent Great Service & Clean Accommodations.

Thank you again for staying with us & Please Keep us in mind next time you are visiting the Area.

Sincerely,
Sunny Amin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a good hotel that could be a great hotel. This property will be of particular interest to Hilton Hhonors members since it is a Category 2 hotel. It is not a brand new hotel but it still feels young,

My wife and I stayed in an "expanded" King room on the 5th floor. The carpeting was clean and in good condition. Tile floors on the ground level and in the elevators often had dirty footprints in them from guests going back and forth between the pool and their room. There were no smoking smells in the room. Like most hotels, the room could have had better lighting. Internet was surprisingly good and fast for a hotel - both wired and wireless varieties.

The adjustable-firmness HGI bed was very comfortable and the bedding was in good condition. Hint: To adjust the bed you need to lay on it and give it time to adjust to your body weight/shape. Just turning the dial and watching the bed won't do anything. The sheets and comforter were immaculate. I didn't call Orkin for an inspection, but didn't see any evidence of 6-legged creatures hiding in the bedding. There was also a luggage rack provided.

The bathroom was clean and in good condition. I did not see any mold or mildew. The bathroom was decent-sized. Unfortunately the sink/vanity area was not separate from the bathroom. The bathroom had a bath tub if that is important to you. The water temperature was fair, but pressure was not good even for low flow plumbing and shower heads. Sometimes it was OK (not great), but occasionally it would drop down to a trickle.

There were two women working the front desk during check-in. That is generally a good sign. The one checking us in was talking to the other clerk, mostly complaining about a scheduling issue ("If they think I am going to come in and blah blah blah..."). I find that kind of talk in front of guests to be terribly unprofessional. Check out, on the other hand, was quick, easy, and painless. And every other interaction I had with the front-desk staff was top-notch and most employees here were very helpful (except as noted below). The gentleman who worked the night shift both nights we were there was exceptional.

This hotel has a indoor pool and whirlpool. We were there during Memorial Day weekend and the pool area was packed (mostly with kids under 16), so I didn't have an opportunity to try the aqua facilities out.

Noise levels in the room were about average - I've been in quieter hotels and in noisier ones. There was some plane noise as well as could be expected from an airport hotel, but it was not bad The curtains were in fine shape and blocked out light well. The elevators were slow and very creaky, but the biggest problem is that they always were in a need of a good mop. It is probably an uphill battle for housekeeping to keep clean since there are a lot of bare, wet, feet in and out of the elevators all day.

The property is very convenient to I-64. We weren't flying in or out of the airport. Other than the on-site restaurant, there is not much else within a mile, but if you're willing to drive 2 miles or more, then there are lots of places to choose from.

The room did not have an extra blanket or pillow like you typically see in other mid-price hotels. But the front desk was accommodating when I asked. I was also disappointed that there were no UBS charging ports in the room. These are becoming quite standard for this price point (even a lot of the older Hampton Inns that I have stayed at recently have been retrofitted). I hope they fix that soon.

My biggest disappointment was the breakfast. I have had a more pleasant experience at the DMV. When my wife and I arrived, there were no servers to be found and the cook was missing, too (this was at 8:30 am). The buffet bar ($10 per person) needed to be re-stocked as several items were out. Finally two servers appeared from the back and were having a heated argument. The guests just eyed each other nervously. They disappeared back into the back again, still arguing and then the cook finally appeared. My wife tried to order an omelet and he was very brusque with her. We stayed two nights but opted to bypass the HGI breakfast on Sunday and make a beeline to Shoneys a few miles away. To be fair, this WAS a busy holiday weekend. Had I been there mid-week with the business travelers the experience may have been totally different. But still...

If management would install USB chargers and provide an extra blanket in-room then this would be a great hotel. And if they could teach the staff to mind their Ps and Qs around guests and save the employee gripes for the back-office areas the it would be an outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank keithwnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny A, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Firstly, I would like to apologize to you regarding your experience at our hotel. I am extremely embarrassed about your comments and please be rest assured that all your concerns have been addressed. We do have USB Chargers in the rooms now. We have done additional training with our staff & we do have blankets available at the front desk.

Thank you so much for taking the time to email us your feedback. It means a lot, as it helps us improve our Service & Operations. We always share your comments with the Staff as it will motivate them to do even better & provide consistent Great Service & Clean Accommodations.

Thank you again for staying with us & Please Keep us in mind next time you are visiting the Area.

Sincerely,
Sunny Amin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here for one night. Very close to the Richmond airport. Staff is very pleasant. Restaurant is very good for a hotel. We had the special fish for the day which was very good. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdieca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny A, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to email us your feedback. It means a lot, as it helps us improve our Service & Operations. We always share your comments with the Staff as it will motivate them to do even better & provide consistent Great Service & Clean Accommodations.

Thank you again for staying with us & Please Keep us in mind next time you are visiting the Area.

Sincerely,
Sunny Amin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

one of the better Hilton garden Inns...pleasant staff...breakfast served nicely..internet worked well...stayed during the week, mostly business folks there...did not use pool or fitness center so no comment on them

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank jim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny A, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to email us your Feedback. It means a lot, as it helps us improve our Service & Daily Hotel Operations. We always share your comments with the Staff as it will motivate them to do even Better & provide consistent Great Service.

Thank you again for staying with us & Please Keep us in Mind next time you are visiting the Area.

Sincerely,
Sunny Amin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The hotel was nice. The room was nice. Can't say it was a particularly good experience though as the hotel shuts the doors and bolts them around midnight. Difficult to get inside and check-in. Bought a snack and it was rancid. Expiration date was over a year old. So, it was convenient, bed was fine, got on my way in the morning but not a Hilton experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny A, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest,

I am extremely Sorry about your Experience at our Hotel. Thank you so much for taking the time to email us your Feedback. It means a lot, as it helps us improve our Operations. We have corrected all the problems you faced and assure you that this will not happen again.

We do lock our main doors at midnight for security reasons but someone is always there to assist our guest 24 hours. We are very sorry about the expired snack item. We have taken steps to correct this issue.

Thank you again for staying with us & Please Keep us in Mind next time you are visiting the Area.

Sincerely,
Sunny Amin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandston
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Airport
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Richmond Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Richmond Airport
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Richmond Airport
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Airport

Address: 441 International Center Dr, Sandston, VA 23150-1336
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Sandston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sandston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sandston
#4 Family Hotel in Sandston
Price Range: £114 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Airport Hotel Sandston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing