We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific from Start to finish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, United States
1 review
“Terrific from Start to finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

I travel a lot for business and staying at this Hampton Inn in Sandston/Richmond Airport was like staying at a 3.5 star hotel, absolutely terrific and the beds were extremely comfortable. Location very convenient to highway and there's a great Mexican restaurant across the street.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Janina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonya H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! It always makes my day to hear that a guest enjoyed their stay so much. We love having you here, and I hope you come back to see us the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    127
    31
    8
    4
See reviews for
110
75
37
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
233 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We were just looking for a place to spend a night with an indoor pool (for my nephew) between Norfolk and Winchester. Doing a search on expedia we got a rate of $77/night with a "mobile special." Never heard of that before, but I was searching for a place on my phone, and it came up. Went to the Hampton site (because I'd rather book through them) and there wasn't a special rate (that I saw) and the going rate was over $100. Was a little worried as it seemed like too good of a deal, but booked it, and had no issues what so ever!

Check in was fast. The entire hotel was decorated quite nice. Not sure if new or remodeled, but we really loved the decor of the building.

Made our way to our room, and it was just as nice as the lobby area. Everything clean, 2 queen beds, flat screen TV, mini fridge/microwave, work desk, and plenty of outlets. Sitting on the beds at first they seemed a little hard, but once we laid down later they weren't as bad as we first thought. They weren't as soft as I like, but the bedding was very comfortable.

The indoor pool was quite nice. Not too large, but have seen smaller. Usually hotel pools aren't all that big anyway (unless you're at a resort). We were the only ones in there, so we had free reign. We enjoyed our time in the pool, and there was plenty of seating and towels. There was also a restroom there which was nice that you didn't have to go to your room.

Breakfast was good. Cheese omelets with sausage (which was rather tasty) and waffles were hot selections. Also had some mini cinnamon rolls, some muffins, as well as different toast/bagels. Cereal, fruit, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, juice were some other selections. It was enough to get your day started right, that's for sure. And just like everything else, the eating area was decorated nicely, it was clean, and comfortable.

Location was right by the airport, although didn't hear much noise. Noticed it a little in the AM, but not at all in the evening or through the night. Didn't seem like there was much going on right there, but we didn't look hard. Stopped at a restaurant (Roma's Italian) a few miles away on the way in, which we enjoyed.

We were just there to relax in the evening and swim, and we got exactly what we wanted. The hotel was nicer than we thought it would be, so that was a huge plus. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pens4821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonya H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
I was so delighted to read your wonderful review! I'm so happy to see you so thoroughly enjoyed everything about your stay. It is undoubtedly thanks to guests like you that we are #2 in Sandston. Please come back to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Stone Virginia, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Quality of service and location made this a great place to stay. Service was prompt and patient at a time when travel was long, late and stressful. Staff responded to all needs quickly and room was very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonya H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! I was so happy to see such a great response. Please come back to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

The hotel looked great, either newly renovated or fairly new. The room looked nice, but the duvet on the bed was so lumpy and heavy that I couldn't move once I got under it. I stayed two night in two different rooms -- same problem with duvet. Also, I had a problem with the televisions -- no instructions on how to get it to work. Had to call front desk to send someone up.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Katherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonya H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback about the duvets. I am so sorry that you found them to be uncomfortable. Hopefully you will be happy to hear that the Hampton will be making some changes in 2015 including new duvets. The Hampton hopes to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Great experience, super staff especially Barbara of the breakfast staff. We mistakenly left items in the room after checkout, but the staff held them until we could return. Thanks for the great service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Baker W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonya H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
I am always so delighted when guests compliment our staff! Everyone here tries so hard to make every guest feel as welcome and comfortable as they would at home. We wouldn't be where we are without guests like you, and we all truly hope you come back to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

My entire experience at this hotel weas great. from the comfort of the room to complimentary internet and to shuttle service available to local stores and resturants. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonya H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! I'm so glad to see you loved every aspect of your stay. It is thanks to guests like you that we are in the top 15% of Hampton Inns, and we hope you come back to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We have always been pleased with Hampton Inn. On this particular trip the front desk went out of its way to accommodate us for a very early morning flight. The convenience to the airport was our main reason for booking it but the service was great. I would recommend this for anyone flying out of Richmond airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonya H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review! I'm so happy to see you were so pleased with the service provided by our staff. It is everyone's goal at this hotel to make every guest feel welcome and comfortable, and I'm glad we were successful with you! We hope to see you the next time you are staying in Richmond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandston
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Airport
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Airport
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites Richmond Airport
1.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Richmond Airport
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport

Property: Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport
Address: 421 International Center Drive, Sandston, VA 23150
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Sandston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sandston
#2 Business Hotel in Sandston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Richmond Airport hotel is less than 1 mile from the Richmond International Airport. Offering 104 spacious guest rooms with micro/refrigerator, hair dryers, iron and boards, 32 inch flat screen TV's. Also including free breakfast, free high-speed internet, free business center, free fitness facility and indoor heated pool. Just a few miles from Downtown Richmond. A city rich in history. We loving having you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport Hotel Sandston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing