We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room was newly renovated!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Richmond Airport
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Room was newly renovated!”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

My room was on the 2nd floor in a queen nonsmoking. It was one of the newly renovated rooms but I don't know if all the rooms are renovated?

Anyways, I paid 33.99 without tax and for that amount. it was a good stay. It was a very basic designed room, sort of reminded me of a dorm room.

Overall, it was a good, basic and clean stay

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for one of the renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolfez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    11
    15
    8
    17
See reviews for
14
6
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2012

we were 5 people and needed a place to crash just for the night on December 27th. We would have preferred to book the Super 8 just next to it, but it had very bad reviews and hence booked two rooms here.
The rooms were decent considering the price. We faced some issues with the room lock, but help desk was quite co-operative and moved us to a different room.
The room had decent beds and the bathroom was pretty good. We wanted a warmer room and did not find the heating sufficient. There was no refrigerator and coffee machine in the room. There was a small Television, which we were too tired to try. The wifi is paid.
We just spent the night there and checked out early morning. There were no dining places nearby, so we just ordered Pizza.
A decent budget place to stay if you dont want to actually stay much in the room.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anuj G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I would advise anyone to stay away from this nasty motel. The housekeepers are very lazy and the rooms show it. I had to go to front desk to get clean sheets. My sheets reeked of beer. It was obvious they hadnt been changed. Blankets never get washed and have loads of stains. Leftover soap from a previous guests was left on top of shower. Washclothes that I had to get from front desk because there were none in room were stained. Cheryl the manager needs to start managing her staff. This motel is a filthy dump. Price is cheap and it should be cheaper with the filth. I will sleep in my car before I stay at this dump again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoj712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
196 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed here on a weekday for about $30 which is about as cheap as you can get; especially if you just want a bed and shower. The customer service when arriving and leaving was very helpful and friendly. The room was small, the TVs old, and not much is provided other than soap and towels, which is fine considering the low price. Internet access is $3 for a 24 hour period, which again is fine, considering the price of the room. My only real complaint is that there were several cigarette burns in the blankets of both beds. Not a huge deal, but it was a non-smoking room; I figure if they insist on keeping blankets that have cigarette burns in them, they only use them for smoking rooms so non-smokers don't have to look at them. That being said, I would definitely stay here again.
p.s. there is a pool which looked clean and well kept.

Room Tip: First floor, as usual is more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StonewallBrigade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowlett, Texas
Level Contributor
390 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This Motel 6 has been updated to the new Motel 6 room style. My room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and the heating system worked great, keeping the room as warm as I wanted it to be. The hotel is located along a strip with a number of inexpensive hotels, a couple of mid-tier hotels, and a few fast food and family style restaurants, and is adjacent to the Richmond International Airport and has convenient access to I-64. I did not feel unsafe in this neighborhood, although its appearance might suggest to some a little caution after dark. Having said that, I've stayed at this motel many times before and have not, myself, encountered any problems.

Extensive shopping options (big box stores, Target, banks, and such) and a 24-hour CVS pharmacy are less than 7 minutes away.

The room was an excellent value mid week ($33.99/night, less 10% seniors discount) - rates are higher on weekends. Internet access costs extra - $2.99/day for good, strong wireless service. Considering the room rate, the extra charge for internet was fair. Charging for internet service is standard Motel 6 policy.

The staff person I dealt with at check-in was efficient and pleasant.

Two things worth noting regarding this visit:

- I arrived just before 6:00pm to check in, and the office was already closed, and registration had to take place through the night window. I don't recall this being the case on past visits, but at most Motel 6's I've stayed at, the lobby is open later than this. This could suggest that my earlier caution about the neighborhood might have something to do with this. I don't know, but I thought the fact that the lobby closed so early was a bit odd.

- I stayed for 2 days and the first night slept fairly late. I vacated the room around 10:45am and came back later in the day to find out that my room had not been serviced. The bed was still unmade, and the towels had not been replaced. Since check-out time was 12:00pm, it was reasonable to assume that as long as the housekeeping staff could access the room before that time, that the room would be serviced - but this time, it was not. I don't know if this was just a one-time oversight, or if the motel keeps to a different schedule with regard to servicing. This did not inconvenience me, but I mention it here for the sake of completeness.

Overall, this hotel provides clean, comfortable, Motel 6-style lodging at a good price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank step12dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

One of my favorite cartoon lines was an opera parody in which the main cartoon character was "killed" -- then, at the end, he looks up into the camera and asks, "What do you expect from an opera -- a HAPPY ending?" When I stay at a Motel 6 because of its bargain basement price, I generally have the same attitude. They're able to keep their prices low by offering little more than a bed with a TV, so I can't complain when that's all I get. However, I did have one thing to note about this place.

Stayed here one night while traveling elsewhere. We didn't need to be close to the airport, but I've invariably found airport motels to offer a lot of amenities at good prices. So we just drove there to see what we would find. We've generally been satisfied with this chain and we knew their price, so we decided to stay.

Grand total room price for two persons was $43. It featured air conditioning, TV with 22 channels, phone, and shower. it was clean and well-maintained. One could hear jets landing during the night, but (again) what do you expect? Parking is free, and there are several restaurants nearby, specializing in fast and cheap food. Staff was efficient and professional.

One thing that, over the years, we have found we almost MUST have during a stay is internet access. We are aware that Motel 6 charges generally $3 per 24-hour day for wi-fi, but we invariably find that the final cost of staying at a M6 is still less than staying at places that build the wi-fi cost into the room rate and then offer "free" wi-fi. So we were happy when their sign (photo below) clearly stated "WI-FI HERE". We were thus disappointed when we instead got a form letter at check-in stating "our Wi-Fi Services will be down for approximately 1-2 days". The letter was signed but un-dated, and we received it on May 15. If this letter is still being distributed a week after this, feel free to quote this review on when it was first seen.

If you just need a place to hand your head for a night or two, or you need to be close to the Richmond Airport, this motel is on par with others in its chain.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RabePaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westland, MI
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

This a decent motel for a couple of nights. The property is currently being refurbished. It sits directly across from Richmond Airport and there are many different fast food joints within 1 -2 miles of the motel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nubear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandston
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Airport
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Richmond Airport
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport
0.7 mi away
Richmond Airport Hotel
Richmond Airport Hotel
#7 of 15 in Sandston
470 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Richmond Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Richmond Airport

Property: Motel 6 Richmond Airport
Address: 5704 Williamsburg Road (US Route 60), Sandston, VA 23150
Region: United States > Virginia > Sandston
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Richmond Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Richmond Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Sandston
Motel Six Sandston
Sandston Motel Six
Sandston Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing