We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Dirty Rooms/Bad Management” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites Richmond Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Homewood Suites Richmond Airport
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Certificate of Excellence
Boise,ID
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dirty Rooms/Bad Management”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed at ths hotel for two different stays during my relocation to the Richmond area. Hotel has many issues. Switched rooms multiple times as rooms were dirty. Settled for a less dirty room and then the refigerator went out. Almost no dishes, etc provided, so does not work as an "extended stay" hotel. Water leaks and bad mustly smell throughout hotel. Ant problems in room. Poor maid service and almost always had to call desk to get clean towels or trash taken out. During my first stay food quality was good, but staff turned over and now breakdfast/dinner is deplorabable. Almost never any coffee in lobby despite complaints. My kids were never able to swim as pool was nasty and smelled. Complaints to management and Hilton did not resolve anything so I switched hotels.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tejanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjamin2000, General Manager at Homewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
We are truly sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We tried to solve all issues you brought to our attention since we spoke numerous times during your three week stay and as you see through our trip advisor responses this is not the norm. We want to thank you for your business and I am sorry we were not able to make you happy during your time with us in Richmond, If you would like to discuss further please feel free to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    101
    64
    27
    9
See reviews for
127
51
16
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Free dinner Mon - Thu. If you like to work out the room is small and only 3 pieces of equipment but everything else is great. The location is great for going downtown. Only 10 minutes. asdfjklfjsdlfjsdlh werjweiowe sdfsdjkljadl fsdjkldjfsl fsdk;lfkds;

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Robert I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjamin2000, General Manager at Homewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for the great feedback and business. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience through trip advisor and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

This hotel always makes me feel at home. The customer service from the staff is awesome and everyone always makes feel welcomed. When I am in the area, this is my place of preference to stay and I will be staying at this hotel again very soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Johnella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjamin2000, General Manager at Homewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your business and great feedback on our hotel, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to see you again. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colborne, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

What a great way to begin a vacation!! After a long day of travel the hotel served up a delicious dinner after dining hours and provided clean, amply equipped rooms and comfortable beds to sleep in. The staff was most accommodating and provided quick, friendly service as well as prompt action when we had difficulty getting the WIFI working in our computers. We were pleased with the quality, service, amenities and affordability of this hotel. We will be recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjamin2000, General Manager at Homewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a tripadvisor review of our hotel we appreciate it. Thank you for your business and we were glad we were able to make your stay an enjoyable one. Thank you again for your business and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Henry, NY, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

My wife and I feel right at home when staying at Homewood Suites thanks to the facilities, staff and Manager Mr. Ben English. The hotel is located close to shopping malls, restaurants, an air museum with a blackbird (fastest plane in the world) on static display, and a country setting where you can feel safe out for a walk at night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Walter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjamin2000, General Manager at Homewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for the great tripadvisor review. We always enjoy having you and your wife staying with us when you are in RIchmond. Thank you for being such great guest and please let me know if you need anything. Thanks again and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

The staff was friendly and helpful. I had one complaint that my bathroom wasn't clean. It was handled immediately and the person apologized for it. Complimentary breakfast was ok, but having another option would make it better. My friends also stayed in the hotel that weekend and they also felt breakfast couldve been better. This hotel wasn't bad though.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rhonda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjamin2000, General Manager at Homewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a tripadvisor response and thank you for your business, we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stopped here on a snowbird run between New York and Florida. I was escorting my septuagenarian mother, who was looking for a comfortable place with a complementary breakfast. I wanted the breakfast as well, plus free wi-fi.

The rooms are meant for those looking for the comfort of home. We had a suite, with a small living room. There was a marvelous kitchen, with a full-size refrigerator/freezer, a large microwave over, and a dishwasher. There are also pots and pans. Someone staying in this area for an extended period could easily shop at the nearby convenience store and prepare simple meals in the room. The bedroom was comfortable. Despite being an airport hotel, it was easy to sleep and not noisy at all. Two large flatscreen TV's.

The wi-fi was easy to access, but my iPhone kept losing the signal and needed to be reconnected. My laptop had an easier time of it, and it was sufficiently fast.

Breakfast was OK. The dining area is lovely, again with a large screen TV. The offering was omelets, bacon, hashbrowns, and scones, with bagels, cereal, and yogurt as options. It was satisfactory but there is some room for improvement. Although a member of staff signed her name on the blackboard announcing the food options, she was absent for most of the meal. More attentive service needed, as well as perhaps a waffle station. The coffee was quite good, and apparently is kept available around the clock.

If you are a business traveler, there is a business center with PCs and copiers. I was able to work at the dining table in my room, but someone looking to use this as a base of operations while traveling for work might find this challenging (although it can be accomplished.)

Overall, someplace I would come back to.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnPatPsaltis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjamin2000, General Manager at Homewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for the great tripadvisor review of our hotel, I want to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you our way. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandston
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Airport
1.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Airport
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Richmond Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Richmond Airport

Property: Homewood Suites Richmond Airport
Address: 5996 Audubon Dr, Sandston, VA 23150-1340
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Sandston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sandston
#3 Family Hotel in Sandston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Richmond Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Homewood Suites Richmond Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Richmond Airport Hotel Sandston
Homewood Suites Sandston
Homewood Sandston
Richmond Airport Homewood Suites
Sandston Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing