We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bates Motel Anyone? If you haven't heard of it Google it, but I won't be back.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of James River Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Scottsville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
James River Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Scottsville
Smithfield, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bates Motel Anyone? If you haven't heard of it Google it, but I won't be back.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Well, where to begin. The customer service was deplorable. I have never been yelled at before by anyone in customer service and this was obviously an exception. Our party was mislead to believe that the facility was safe. Clearly with just a small turn lock on the door (that anyone could kick in) is not safe. If I wanted to go camping in a tent, I would not have rented a room. The lack of security, caused our group to pack up and leave and not stay the night.

I really could go on and on about what a bad experience this was for my party, but I think that you get the hint.

This is not a bed and breakfast

Room Tip: I am not sure there is a best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    0
    0
    0
    4
See reviews for
4
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We went for a fun weekend and we didn't even stay the night. There was no security around the building anyone could have just walked into the place at night and the doors and locks to the room were so sad that I could have kicked them in easily. It isn't a bed and breakfast considering that they don't make breakfast and tell you you have to make you're own coffee. There were no lights on around the building and for a place that was supposed to be so packed that we had to have a parking lot view, it was really empty when we came back late at night. Also there is no cell phone serivce from any provider within a 5 mile radius of this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KSHampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scottsville hotels

Yorktown Va
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

First, he made you pay in advance which should've have been the first indication. Then he said, "We don't serve breakfast. There is some bagels you can toast. anyone drink coffee?" One member in our party raised her hand and he stated, "Well, then you gonna have to make your own coffee." The TV was from the 70s..no cable. He also said the hot tub was set for 98 degrees which doesn't meet health codes! No deadbolts on doors...just a cheap lock. dogs running around with no collars ...no flea collars...shots? Not good to have kids around.

He also said the hotel was full up and only two rooms available was facing parking lot. However, when we returned late at night we found no one else was checked in. The lights outside was burnt out and the door was unlocked and the hotel was devoid of people. Talk about creepy! This was not a restful hotel! We packed up and left even though we paid for the weekend!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JWYorktown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We were visiting Monticello, so chose to stay here rather than in Charlottesville as a unique get away. It was a bit of a drive -- south from Charlottesville, past Scottsville -- maybe 20 miles total. Nice, scenic drive.

It has a Bed and Breakfast type of feel since it's owned and run by an individual rather than a corporation. The owner is very nice and friendly. It has a public area with big screen TV, lots of DVDs to choose from, as well as a breakfast bar/eating area. There is also seating on the deck and a hot tub. There is a workout room with kicking and punching bags and mats. I can't recall if there are any treadmills or eliptical trainers. Rooms on one side look out onto the river valley, which is quite nice. There is a wooden stairway that leads down to the river. There is river tubing and canoe rental near by.

The room (at least ours) was kind of small. Two double beds, desk, dresser and fridge didn't leave much room for suitcases, but the benefit of the views outweighed that. The room had a smaller, older style TV.

We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ResearchGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

We were looking for the perfect secluded getaway and hit the jackpot! The location and view are one-of-a-kind, perched on a cliff over the James River. We couldn't tear our eyes away from the stunning vistas, JRI's most prominent feature. However, the facilities are great, the rooms are large and comfortable, the great room and rec rooms are huge, the multi-tiered decks over-look the water... I could go on and on. But the jewel is Walt, the owner. He provides an unpretentious, laid -back atmosphere that makes you feel at home from the first step. He's a charmer and out to make your stay the best you've had anywhere. It worked! After one stay we decided to make it a tradition. (Note, this is not a B&B. Walt provides a great continental breakfast, but don't come expecting eggs and champagne every morning.)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 00Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

Staff was excellent, rooms were very comfortable, beautiful view, love the decks, plenty for our needs- Food was great. Plan on making this a yearly visit, if not more.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angel459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsville
17.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Mont...
#24 of 35 in Charlottesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
18.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#14 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
17.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#19 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
21.6 mi away
Village Inn Motel
Village Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Lovingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
14.5 mi away
Maysville Manor Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James River Inn

Property: James River Inn
Address: 3057 White Rock Rd, Scottsville, VA
Region: United States > Virginia > Scottsville
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Scottsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 141
Also Known As:
James River Hotel Scottsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing