We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back for a Second Visit-there will be a third..”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of High Meadows Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
High Meadows Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Scottsville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
MD
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Back for a Second Visit-there will be a third..”
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Just back from High Meadows. We stayed in the cottage this time and the king sized bed was so comfy we wanted to sleep in , and we are early risers, but we knew a delicious breakfast was being prepared for us so up we got and the breakfast was as delicious as we thought it would be. Nancy was as helpful as on our last visit. Tips and Guidelines: Enjoy yourself-it's all good.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Palannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    25
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
10
86
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

My husband and I stayed here for a stopover on our way to the Outer Banks and all I can say is we'll definitely be back if we're down that way again. As we arrived, Cynthia was busy clearing away the tables from their herb festival but swiftly greeted us and took us inside to show us around. The beautiful sitting room nestles between the dining rooms and the front house and is home to a piano, sofas, books and a kettle plus variety of teas, sparkling water and juices which you can help yourself to from the fridge. She also pointed out the complimentary biscotti, delicious homemade carrot cake and huge cookies which guest can nibble on at any time during the day. The themed bedrooms are absolutely stunning and have gorgeous toiletries (the only small downside of the room we stayed in - Robin's Nest - was that the extractor fan outside the kitchen made a shrill noise throughout the night and deprived us of sleep somewhat). Before dinner, we took our tea into the garden gazebo and relaxed amongst the peonies & irises - it wasn't long before we were sharing it with one of the very friendly resident cats and an inquisitive gecko. Dinner was delicious (3 course meal with bottle of wine for $55/£38pp) and was made entirely of local produce either from their garden or from local suppliers. We met another lovely guest couple who had just that day got married in the very same garden gazebo, so we shared their celebration over a glass of wine or two. Breakfast the following morning was again another delicious affair with pancakes, bacon, homemade jam, orange juice and fresh fruit salad. Cynthia talked guests through the history of the house which was really interesting and shortly after we packed our bags and headed off.

Scottsville is a very small town so don't expect any nightlife - just enjoy the relaxation and take a bottle of wine with you for a late nightcap on the veranda.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Janey007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful weekend at High Meadows Inn. Nancy and her daughter Cynthia are the ultimate innkeepers. Cynthia cooked the most incredibly delicious breakfasts we'd ever enjoyed, and the setting of the inn was perfect: peacocks, small farm animals, vineyard, pond, gazebo, and tasteful furnishings. We stayed in the "Robins Nest" room with an antique 4-poster bed and beautiful view of the vineyard. The linens were top notch, and we look forward to heading there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2010

Mike and I finally got to stay at High Meadows. The roads were impassable in December and in lieu of a refund our hosts told us we could come back any time within the year. We chose April and stayed in the cottage room. Spring at H M is a wonderful time to visit. The gardens were overflowing with daffodils, the roosters were in full throttle, the bunnies were bunnying,and the peacocks were displaying madly.
Breakfast on the patio was a visual and gastronomical delight.
We loved meeting Nancy and watching her work on the gardens. It's usually me working on my gardens so seeing Nancy and her results was quite a treat.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2010

My wife and I get away less often than we used to and we try to make the most of every trip. Our weekend at High Meadows was simply terrific and left us feeling we couldn't have picked a better place. Our room had a wonderful historic feel to it, and at the same time had first-rate modern amenities, European sheets that put to shame what my wife and I use at home, and the place was spotless. They didn't just throw our meals together - one of the innkeepers, Cindy Bruce, is a gourmet chef and it showed in everything we were served at breakfast each morning and at a candlelight dinner we had one night. At breakfast one day we even had an omelet made from eggs that were gathered just an hour earlier from chickens kept on the property. Talk about fresh! The grounds were surprisingly large, with picture-perfect vineyards, a charming small lake with ducks, winding paths through a wooded area, and some very pretty gardens. It also meant a lot to us that the innkeepers were very warm and thoughtful but they weren't at all intrusive; at times we felt like we practically had the place to ourselves. But when we wanted information about wine tours or restaurants, we didn't have to pull it out of them - they were extremely forthcoming with loads of advice, and everything they recommended turned out just the way we hoped. All in all, we felt it was an ideal B&B experience, and we plan on going back again next year.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyleWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, VA
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2010

My husband booked this trip and it was a wonderful and relaxing experience. Nancy was a perfect hostess--There when you needed but otherwise invisible and not intrusive. We stayed 2 nights and the breakfasts were wonderful each morning. One morning, we had a blueberry tart with strawberries that was just terrific. It is a bit far from Charlottesville which makes for a late night if you venture into town for dinner. However there are few closer options. I would recommend dinner on site at least one night. We did not plan for this but will definitely do so the next time.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stressedesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2009

My husband and I are occasional B&B travelers, this visit is one of the best. Actually, our initial trip was postponed because of a family emergency, and even though we were not within the cancellation period, Nancy worked with us to find a weekend we could rebook, and gave us full credit for our inital reservation (even though I think they were only able to re-book one of the rooms). That level of personal, friendly service continued on arrival. We got a full tour of the house, Nancy and Cindy had good recommendations for dinner and activities, and the whole stay was just a great get-away. We ended up having dinner at the Inn the first night (which I recommend, kind of nice to stay put after the drive down), which was fresh, simple and delicious!! The rooms were lovely and the beds were COMFORTABLE, could have stayed in bed all day. A great experience, we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srb712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsville
14.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#19 of 35 in Charlottesville
238 reviews
14.8 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
337 reviews
13.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Mont...
#24 of 35 in Charlottesville
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
17.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
819 reviews
19.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Crossroads Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Meadows Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Meadows Inn

Property: High Meadows Inn
Address: 55 High Meadows Lane, Scottsville, VA 24590
Region: United States > Virginia > Scottsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Scottsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — High Meadows Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Meadows Inn has been described as whimsical, luxurious, fun, charming...what can that mean for your visit? Well, your experience here will be all about YOU. Whatever you are looking for, we'll help you find it! Great food and comfy beds are just where it starts - we're a bed and breakfast after all. We're happy to help you plan an itinerary that will make the best use of your precious getaway time - and we've got several already designed for foodies, wine lovers (or newbies!), or shoppers. Want the insider info on local happenings? Give us a shout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your High Meadows Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Meadows Vineyard Hotel Scottsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing