We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scottsville Oasis”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scottsville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chester Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Scottsville B&B and Inns
Columbia Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Scottsville Oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Chester is a first class inn made most welcoming by owners Jean and Craig (and an adorable kitten). Jean prepares a delicious breakfast - she must have been a chef in some earlier life - and offers excellent dining suggestions at nearby Charlottesville (Hamilton's was wonderful). A quiet, clean room, beautifully appointed with a comfortable bed, fireplace, lovely grounds and patio- this is what B&B's are supposed to be! Individual dining tables for guests was a nice touch too. Stayed only one night but planning to return soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eukrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

A stately, centuries old oak tree signaled the specialness of this B&B before we even entered the front door. We were lucky enough to stay for four nights - and could easily have stayed for four more. Each morning we were greeted by the smell of fresh coffee and birdsong in the former arboretum surrounding the Chester. The meals prepared for us were spectacular - a treat for the palate and for the eyes. Gourmet food, locally grown is the inspiration. Each day held new things to discover in the Chester (be sure to check out the two-panel pine doors) and in the surrounding area. While there, a bride and her mother were planning a summer wedding and reception and we can't imagine a more perfect location than this. Whether you are interested in the natural landscape or shopping in Charlottesville, beer brewing or wine tasting, developing a historical appreciation of our ancestors or just relaxing with a good book; the Chester Bed and Breakfast is the spot to be! We look forward to many happy returns.

Room Tip: All five bedrooms have private bath. Any would be an excellent choice. Stand alone cottage also ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

What a wonderful place! From the moment I entered Chester I was impressed. The inn dating to 1847 is beautifully furnished and decorated. Much of the floor is original as is some of the woodwork. Each room has a four poster bed and a working fireplace. The grounds are very pretty with a variety of trees, a lily pond, and porches for sitting and looking over the flora and fauna for that matter. Dinner at Chester is elegant and delicious--a four course meal of soup, salad, entree, and dessert accompanied by excellent wines. The fresh fruit, homemade bread and egg dish for breakfast were also very tasty. Jean and Craig are really great hosts. They truly make you feel welcome and comfortable in their home. We found that Chester was very conveniently located for winery tours, Civil War history, and the presidential homes of three presidents. Jean and Craig were helpful to us in planning excursions as well. We had a most enjoyable time at Chester. The inn is beautiful and the innkeepers are delightful--a class act all the way around.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
225 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

The owners are very nice and made us feel at home right away despite the fact that we had arrived just after a kayak trip in the hot sun and were smelly and muddy. This is a lovely place with beautiful furnishings tastefully arranged. The bed was exceptionally comfortable.We had dinner at the place on Saturday night and enjoyed the pumpkin-ginger soup, walnut salad, and especially the marinated and grilled pork loin with baby asparagus. Owner Craig went beyond the call of duty to grill in 100 degree weather. Our dinner was accompanied by a generous application of excellent wines and the chocolate dessert was dense, creamy, and not too sweet. The grounds were very pretty and had the weather been more reasonable we would have strolled or sat outside in the yard that evening.
The breakfast provided the next morning continued the high standard with fresh fruit and bread and an egg, cream and cheese strata was light with layers of flavor. It was with regret that we had to leave and return to ordinary life. We hope to return soon to this special place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lasrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon by the Sea, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We've stayed at some B&Bs where we felt like we had to socialize with everyone at the breakfast table, and as we're usually trying to escape for a few days, we just want some peace and quiet! The owners Jean and Craig have it just right. Our room was gorgeous and so comfortable. Breakfast was delicious--and the dining room has individual tables for breakfast instead of one big one, which was so nice. Craig helped us plan out a tour of some local wineries. When we got back, we spent the late afternoon on the porch by this beautiful pond. Jean and Craig took such good care of us without being overbearing, and although the inn was full, we always felt like we had our own space. So relaxing, so beautiful. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We arrived on a Saturday afternoon after doing our own wine tour. We were a bit disappointed because we had booked a room on the upper floor with a balcony, but were told that the toilet was malfunctioning and were given a room right off the main reception area. It was a beautiful room, but I would say the bed was very, very hard and my back hurt a bit the next day. Service was fantastic and another couple staying there had booked a dinner there, which Mary had prepared. She had some "leftover" creme brulee', so we had a wonderful treat that evening out on the back patio as a bad storm raged on.

Scottsville is VERY small and hardly has anything to offer, but you HAVE to go eat at Amici's Italian Bistro on the main drag in town. A Sicilian family opened it less than a year ago and it was packed. After having the most delicious pizza there (with handmade crust and real ricotta cheese), I now see why! They were amazing. I would write a review for them, but they aren't yet on TA.

The owners of the B & B were out of town, so they had their friend, who is a bit odd, watching over the inn. I was worried about that at first, but no need. She's a fabulous cook and we had a breakfast casserole, French Press coffee brought to each table and homemade banana bread. Yum! Our room was $185 plus tax, but considering the area, it's the going rate and we would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: They have rooms on the upper floor with balconies (which we booked but didn't get)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floridaflightgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwyn, PA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful weekend at the Chester while in town to visit our son at UVA. This is such a wonderful bed & breakfast with welcoming hosts, beautiful rooms and a delicious breakfast. We will be returning for graduation weekend with the rest of thr family and are looking forward to planning a special dinner with family and friends

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nlbergie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsville
15.0 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
14.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#20 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
15.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#14 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#19 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
20.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesv...
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
0.3 mi away
High Meadows Inn
High Meadows Inn
#1 of 2 in Scottsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Bed & Breakfast

Property: Chester Bed & Breakfast
Address: 243 James River Rd, Scottsville, VA 24590-3822
Region: United States > Virginia > Scottsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Scottsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chester is a gracious bed and breakfast with elegant charm located just 16 miles south of Charlottesville. Guests will enjoy lovely rooms, private baths, wood burning fireplaces, spacious porches and landscaped arboretum grounds. Full gourmet breakfasts are included with each room; gourmet wine dinners are available for parties of 6 or more with advance request. Chester provides an intimate setting for quiet relaxation, comfort and romance. Chester hosts garden and tent weddings, reunions, and other events. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing